We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location. Very Nice Staff. Value for the Money”
Review of Hotel Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Park Avenue
Ranked #174 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel is located at the very center of the tourist Cochin, which is quiet and convenient. The staff were very nice, right from negotiation of the price until departure. It is a budget hotel, so you should not expect 5 star luxury but for the price we paid it was clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GadiZooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were transfered to Hotel Park Avenue after arriving in Kochi and our original hotel being overbooked. The intial room we were offered was horrible. It was smelly and dark and not nice at all. We were then shown another room which was an 'executive room' which was much better but still had some dubious looking stains on the walls. The bathroom was also not very good as it didn't have glass in the window so there were always lots of bugs and other creatures in there. The hotel was quite noisy with people banging doors and talking loudly at all hours during the day and night. Breakfast was very average.

The most disturbing thing at this hotel was the attitude of one of the managers howvever. We witnissed him on a couple of occasions being extremely rude and hostile and confrontational with other arriving guests. Particularly in trying to bully people into attending the 'magic show' new years eve party organised by the hotel. We were booked to stay here for new years eve but ended up checking out because they were forcing us to go to this party. The worst customer service I have seen in any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LankaManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Compared to other hotels in India we've been through, this is an OK hotel, with relatively few things not working properly. Location is great – right in the heart of Fort Cochin,

One warning, though: don't use their laundry service. Apparently they wash all kinds of clothes (white, black, fluffy…) together, so our black t-shirts and underwear came back all covered in greyish fluff.

Room Tip: Some rooms have mold (well developed but thinly disguised with some paint) – check your room first a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaadaaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Park Avenue was a surprisingly enjoyable stay. We had room 301 which had a small balconey looking out over a quiet street, and was quite sizeable. It was clean, comfortable, had hot water and a/c, and the staff were relentlessly friendly and helpful. There were rumours of a cafe and restaurant attached but we never saw them open. Also don't expect wifi. I'm sure I saw a room that looked suspiciously like an Internet cafe but when I went back looking for it, couldn't find it and no one knew what I was talking about. That aside Hotel Park Avenue was clean and comfortable and I slept like a log there. Great location too, just a block from the water and the Chinese fishing nets, and evening markets.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

When we decided to stay in Fort Kochi, we were afraid of only one thing. 'TARIFF'. Hotel Park Avenue was a steal, a bargain and a gift all rolled into one. it was perfect for our budget and needs. The rooms were clean thus making it an instant hit, the staff were very helpful thus making it likeable, it was bang in the heart of FORT KOCHI hence making it an absolute favorite. The attentive service and proximity are enough for anybody but when the reasonable tariff is added to the equation it becomes one intelligent decision.
We are going back to Fort Kochi, and no prizes for guessing where we are going to stay:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hasanremembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The staff are most helpful and friendly and the location cannot be beaten. The renovation has made things clean and the new fittings are good quality. It was renovated 3 months ago so older reviews refer to it previous life.

Room Tip: The premium suite has a good balcony and sitting area and the price is negotiable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We arrived in Fort Kochi early in the morning and we were allowed access to our room quickly which was great - welcome after a 15 hour train journey. The hotel has been refurbished and is [almost] finished - few finishing touches still needed e.g. a mirror and shelf in the bathroom. Room was cleaned daily and there were half a dozen places within a minute's walk for breakfast and 2 mini-markets on the opposite corner. Despite being on a crossroad corner the traffic noise ceased at around 10pm so all was well.
The staff were excellent - very friendly & helpful - especially the receptionists for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The coffee sold in reception is the best we had in India.

Room Tip: A travel kettle meant we were able to have the essential morning tea. If your room is on the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.6 mi away
OYO 8964 Malabar Plaza Hotel
OYO 8964 Malabar Plaza Hotel
#133 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rasa Hotel
Rasa Hotel
#92 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
33 reviews
3.5 mi away
OYO 5202 Hotel Pearl Malabar
OYO 5202 Hotel Pearl Malabar
#180 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#68 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#19 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Avenue

Address: Princess Street | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £11 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Park Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the corner where Princess Street and Loafer’s Corner meets is the Hotel Park Avenue. A Heritage hotel with rare blend of the modern. An ideal place for the holiday travellers in search of the modern .An ideal place for the holidaytraveller in search of a refreshing change from the mundane. A place that Instills serenity and mind-stimulating calm where you can bask in the ambience of a zero tension atmosphere and transport your soul back to the days of kings and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Avenue Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing