We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed at first sight but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elite Hotel
Ranked #105 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressed at first sight but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place isn't a bad choice in itself. Location is great, staff very friendly, comfortable and clean beds. Only thing that ruined my stay here was the disgusting smell of the bathroom in room 101. When I was showed the room, the fan was turned on at full speed so I didn't think anything of it. Once the fan went off the smell from the bathroom was very overwhelming. Checkout the other rooms. Minus the bathroom situation this place is actually very convenient.

Room Tip: Smell from the bathroom in room 101 was disgusting! Check out other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
22
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

After many years coming to Fort Cochin, I decided to stay at the long running Elite Hotel on Princess Street. My wife and I arrived early in the morning by the first ferry from Ernakulam and despite persistent pleas by commission seeking rickshaw drivers insisted on being deposited at the Elite. It had been 21 years since I last stayed on Princess Street and wanted the central location, close to what passes as action in this still sleepy town.

Our room was clean and spacious and reasonably priced, especially considering its location. Every morning the staff in the restaurant were happy to make up a pot of good (not Nescafe) coffee and a chai for my wife. The second generation owner tells me he never pays commission and is able to keep his prices down because of this.

The restaurant is OK, though meal timings are a little perplexing with many menu items not available until after 7:00pm. Especially good is the bakery with its wide assortment of cakes, cookies, and if you're early enough, hot out of the fryer jelly donuts. Their south Indian dishes are good,and the prices lower than any other place in town.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great location and budget prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Head_Teaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We ate the Elite and found the food to be disgusting, my veg curry had hairs in it and was made like a chinese curry with a thick brown gravy, my wifes fish tikka was all brown meat and bones and my daughters pasta overcooked and greasy! Also we walked through the kitchens to get to the garden dining area and all i can say is that they were filthy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I stayed at the Elite Hotel for one week, the rooms very clean, mattresses comfortable, wooden floors. Hotel staff nice and food okay. Well worth the cheap rate. Only downside no internet and a bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acceber88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I was in Fort Cochi in December 2010 and was pleased to discover this budget hotel in the middle of Princess Street, the main street of charming Fort Cochi. The Chinese fishing nets are also a stone's throw away - less than 10 minutes by foot. I was first attracted to it because of the delectable European pastries on display and later discovered that the restaurant serves good and reasonably priced local food. Due to the quality of the food, this is a good place to be adventurous and try out the local Indian cuisine. The restaurant is also a good place to make friends with other travellers who drop by to enjoy the apple tarts and tea. There is also an internet cafe nextdoor and they can help to book train tickets. On Princess Street, there are also convenience, groceries shops, some chic eateries, other more upmarket lodgings and hotels, Kashmiri craft shops, some spas, etc.

Later, I got to know the owners and managed to book a room at a bargain for a longer stay in relaxing Fort Cochi over the Christmas period. Fort Cochi is a nice place to unwind for a while when the travelling in India gets stressful. Whilst the restaurant faces the main street, the hotel is in a building behind and it is surprisingly peaceful. Depending on the location of your room, if it faces the outdoor garden restaurant as mine did, you will sometimes get the aromas of curries and masalas wafting up to your room - so if that disturbs you, request for a room on the other side of the building. The simple and clean room I had was decent with bed, cable tv, fan and simple ensuite toilet, shower and wash sink. It's nice to wake up and go downstairs to a reliably good breakfast. The restaurant staff also help out with the hotel and they can be quite nice when they get to know you, bringing you your food and drink earlier than to others. Note that as the restaurant is popular at peak meal times for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the waiting time for the food can be horrendous, if you're a city person and not used to waiting for around 1 hour for your food. But the reward is - as each dish is freshly prepared, what comes tastes really good - if you can wait. What I did was to eat before or after the peak times.

The tour desk was manned by a nice older gentleman who was able to help me organise a memorable tour to Munnar, the tea plantation in the hills. It would have been cheaper per person if I was able to find others to share the car with but it was a once in a life time experience which was worth it.

My stay here was pleasant and at a good bargain - perhaps because I was already a regular at the restaurant and had nice conversations with the owners. I would highly recommend Elite Hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msladybug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

do not ever use this company which is part of the hotel group the agency is called Elite Backwater Tours.We discussed with the agent before we booked it and explained we had been on a backwater tour but because of the size of boat coudnt go down the narrow river inlets to villages The trip was to a village to see how they lived and their habitation.It took iandhalf hrs to get there and same return,thats to the small boat and all we saw was spices and rope being made from coconut fibre.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#90 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Park Avenue
Hotel Park Avenue
#121 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#16 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Gopika Regency
Gopika Regency
#163 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#74 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#27 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel

Property: Elite Hotel
Address: 1 / 398, Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing