We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest owner ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #14 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicest owner ever!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The owner Sheba was the nicest person I met whilst in India. She was so lovely and helpful and recommended places to eat and things to do. She even lent us money when we needed change for the rickshaw and when we tried to give her a big tip when we left she refused and said we worked hard for our money and so should make sure that we enjoy it! Location wise it's about a 10 min walk into the main shop/ restaurant area. The walk is fine during the day but would get a rickshaw at night (only costs about 30 rupees). There are always rickshaws available around the main shopping/ restaurant area to take you home, if you want a rickshaw to pick you up from the home stay itself, Sheba has a preferred rickshaw driver that she will call for you. Room wise - the rooms were a little small but cosy and very clean. There was no air con but there was a fan. My boyfriend thought that the beds were a little bit firm but I thought that they were fine. The water was luke warm but with how hot the weather is was fine! The breakfast is basic but in a beautiful setting on the roof. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen___83378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
199
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B Right On
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This palce is beautiful! and teh people are so nice! teh lady who owns this place with his owner is so nice, she is definetely one of the nicest people we encountered in India and there is plenty of ncie people in this country.
Once we arrived, they gave us tea and showed us the map and all the places to see in Kochi, she treated us like her children! She is so cute!
The rooms was so cozy and lovely... and very very very clean, for India, this is truly amazing. It was decorated beautiful and they ahve a sort of jungle like in their garden. The terrace is also lovely and teh breakfast is healthy and veyr good.
I would definetely stay here again. Unfortunately, we couldnt stay longer because our room was booked and we had to go to anotehr place which wasnt so nice. if you want to stay here, you need to book in advance!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

At Green Woods Bethlehem, feeling welcome is an understatement. Sheeba and Ashley go out of their way to make you feel at home. The lush green garden and the rooftop terrace provide a nice place to relax away from the city. The rooms are nice, clean and homely, and the breakfast is really good.
It's a little out of the way, but still within walking distance of the town center and definitely worth it.
Just make sure you book ahead because this is a popular place to stay in Cochin!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is a really lovely homestay/bed&breakfast just close enough to town to make staying there easy... Ashley and Sheeba and their lovely children do everything they can to make your stay with them comfortable; they are a genuinely nice family and always happy to help. This lovely home is extremely clean, the included breakfast (included) is delicious and plentiful, and the surroundings are quietly serene and soothing. Green Woods Bethlehem is an unforgettable experience and my partner and I can't wait to go back there one day soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneIndiaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed with Sheeba and Ashley last june and had an amazing time. The rooms are just full of character and we had one of the best breakfasts we had during our stay in India. After a trip to the backwaters we decided to go back to green woods for one more night, just cause we liked it so much. We could've stayed with Sheeba an Ashley for ages, but had to move on after a couple of nights. Definitly THE best hostel in Cochin!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Not only were Sheeba and Ashley wonderful welcoming hosts, but the location is gorgeous. They've done a fantastic job with the garden, and while it's a little out of town, it's an easy (and safe) walk and the streets are well lit at night. I enjoyed the authentic south Indian breakfast - there was always plenty to eat. I'm returning again in November with my daughter and we're both looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieTourist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This place is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It was simple, but very friendly and welcoming. We found it comfortable, and really enjoyed the roof top, which was very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 9 in Vypin Island
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing