We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #16 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
trier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

set in a nice garden you find some simple but nice and clean rooms and a bigger house where the owners live. their door is always open so you always can ask for help and information about whatever you wish to do in kerala. they welcome you really warmly and give you a feeling of beeing at home :) and plus: they offer a nice included breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
197
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place is beautiful. Not only are the family warm and accommodating (even though they were going through a bereavement at the time) but the house and garden themselves are magical, topped by a refreshingly green roof terrace where some top notch breakfast was had. They arranged a superb trip to go and see elephants bathe for those who have the time (quite a journey) and were more than happy to help us plan our movements on from them. We really felt a bond with these people which is what homestays are all about! GO THERE - BOOK NOW

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpack_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived very late at night, but Ashley and Sheeba made us instantly welcome.
The breakfasts were copious:tea, coffee, boiled eggs, toast, butter, jam, fruit, home-made cake and a different pancake every day served on the beautiful roof terrace where tea was available all day; this large space was a perfect place for relaxing and chatting to other travellers. Sheeba also cooked delicious dinners on request.
Sheeba and Ashley really put themselves out to suggest visits, provide information, arrange tuk-tuks or taxis, in fact do everything to make sure their guests can make the most of their stay. They were kindness personified.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a wonderful place - excellent location, beautiful house and rooms and the nicest owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurgis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were staying for just three nights at the Green Woods, everything was perfect: the breakfast at the jungle roof terrace, the clean and comfortable room and, of course, the lovely Sheeba and family. We would come back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indienreisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I recently paid my third visit to Sheeba and Ashley and was reminded why I had loved this homestay so much on my previous visits. I have been travelling in Europe, Asia, Africa and Latin America for 25 years. I have stayed in every kind of accomodation from 5 star palace to cockroach infested sweat box and everything between. I can honestly say that Green Woods Bethlehem is the best place, of any kind, in which I have stayed, by a considerable margin. I must say that I am astonished to see negative reviews. I cannot imagine how anyone can stay there without falling in love with the place. I can only assume that these are people who (as one of them even admits) chose the wrong kind of accomodation for their own preferences. In which case their reviews are neither fair nor helpful. I would say to anyone who is considering staying there that if superficial luxuries like marble lobbies and glacial air con units are important to you, go elsewhere - possibly to a large international hotel. But if you want the GENUINE luxury of staying in a serene little oasis of greenery being cared for more tirelessly and comprehensively than you will ever be in an ordinary hotel, then please - treat yourself to a stay at Green Woods Bethlehem. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Having stayed in nine different places during just over two weeks in Kerala (some of which were 11 times the price of Green Woods) this is the only one to which I would enthusiastically return. We had a twin room with breakfast for 1000 rupees - the equivalent of £12.50 a night. Breakfast was delicious - we had pancakes filled with a misture including coconut and jaggery, banana pancakes and fresh pineapple (plus bread) on one day, and this changed the next day, to include dhal, banana fritters and more. When supplies ran low, more was freshly cooked and brought up to the roof terrace. There was a flask of tea on the roof terrace all day and this area provieds a great space to chill, read, and chat with other guests. Yes, there is noise from the birds in the trees, but that is part of the charm of the place, Ashley and Sheba were delightful. They and their team told us, unprompted, about activities going on in the town we would otherwise have missed, and with no possible link to commission - a motivation we saw again and again elsewhere. This ensured, for example, that we saw the elephant festival at the temple and the dancing that went with it. These people care about what they offer, and their welcome is genuine. The bathroom we had (room 4) was plenty big enough and there were mosquito nets at all the windows so there was no risk of the mossies getting in that way! The walk from the main part of Fort Cochin is not far, and there are shops very close by. I recommend this place enthusiastically.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem to be better than those on the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AChir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
14.7 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing