We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #14 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
“Very comfortable stay, great hosts”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was a great place to stay if you want to go to Fort Cochin. The homestay was very homey, relaxing, and welcoming. It was tempting to just stay there all day. The hosts were very helpful and totally spoiled us by taking care of the logistics of booking our backwaters trip and transportation to our next destination (Thekkady). Also, it's quite close to the main part of town, just a 15 minute walk. If you can get a room here, definitely do so.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
199
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We started our trip in India with Fort Kochi and stayed and the Green Woods-Bethlehem for 3 nights. It has been a wonderful experience and we really felt at home from the beginning. We planned on staying 2 days only but kept on trying to stay longuer, even if there was no more place.

Sheeba and Ashley carefully look after their customers and really try to make your stay in Fort Kochi the best. They are always available and keen on helping with whatever you need.

It has been the perfect home for the start of our trip in India, and we have not felt like that anywhere else.

Looking forawrd to seing them again soon in the near future.

Jo & Barth

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 1st floor in the main house, and the room was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed at Greenwoods for 2 nights and it was the most pleasant stay we have had in many months. The rooms are very clean and the terrace seating is the most amazing place during mornings and evenings. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashutosh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Green Woods. Ashley and Sheeba are good hosts, always eager to greet and chat with guests. Our room, however, left a lot to be desired. We were located on the bottom floor. When we checked in, the room was full of mosquitoes. Our bathroom was dirty. The setting for breakfast was very nice, but the food was greasy and not as good as many other breakfasts we have had in India. Overall, we may have enjoyed our stay more if we were in a different room as some of the rooms on the second floor looked nice. I think there are better places to stay in Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

There is no doubt that Ashley and Sheba are kind and affectionate hosts. On our arrival at the homestay we were welcomed with big hugs, banana pancakes and tea. Their home is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of town but it is a pleasant wander although you may wish to take a torch if you are returning home after dark. Ashley wasted no time in getting out his local map and showed us the places of interest in the town and how to make the most of our stay in Fort Cochin. He offered us his assistance in booking tickets and trips and was very eager to please.
Sheba fusses around all her guests and obviously thoroughly enjoys taking care of all her visitors. She organised us a massage for us and couldnt have been more friendly. However there were a couple of issues that slightly impaired my stay. The garden of the homestay is abundant in trees and plants but the downside to this is that all the vegetation made the whole place feel very dark and gloomy especially my room which was also a bit grubby. Ashley and Sheba keep the curtains drawn in the public area which doubles up as their sitting room so there is no natural light here either. The so called roof top cafe is simply depressing! The furniture is old and uncomfortable, the space is dirty and dark and not somwhere I would choose to spend time. My last negative comment is about the breakfast which was inedible unless you like cold chick peas and rice. I would factor in eating breakfast elsewhere if you choose to stay here. Yes..... you will receive a warm welcome by Sheba and Ashley and they will look after you wonderfully and the price is cheap but there are a few negatives to staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEE30112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 9 in Vypin Island
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing