We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Woods Bethlehem - Paradise in Kochi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #16 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Hvalsoe, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Green Woods Bethlehem - Paradise in Kochi”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place - this homestay is one of the most wondeful places, I have stayed. It is situated just between huge trees, plants and palms, everything is green. I was welcomed by Sheeba and Ashley, they are the most warm hearted persons I have met. I had such a nice cosy room with a big clean bathroom. Upstairs on the top roof, there was a big room, where the delicious breakfast was served every morning and all the other travellers could meet and talk. Sheeba knows the name of all her guests, what they like, where they are coming from, what they have been doing during the day. She is arranging everything, helping with everything. The place is so quiet and have such a relaxing atmosphere. I enjoyed just being there, because of the green and beautiful surroundings, the nice house, my cosy and clean room, where I slept so well, waking up listening to all the birds, maybe the tropic rain was dropping on all the leaves. Most of all and most important was the feeling of a second home - far away from home - created by Sheeba and Ashley, they were truely taking care of everyone from their hearts, I was moved in my heart and think, they are very, very special. The way they behaved spread a nice and warm atmosphere in the house, so everyone were nice to each other. I stayed there 8 days, met people staying there longer, people returning, because it is hard to leave a small part of Paradise......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennymaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
197
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are choosing a homestay instead of a hotel, because you like a friendly, welcoming atmosphere this is the place for you. The hosts Sheeba and Ashley are most welcoming, take really good care of you and can help you arranging all kinds of activities, tours etc.
The place is located in a quiet and lovely neighbourhood and not too far away from all the main tourist attractions of Fort Kochi. If you prefer indian restaurants over the touristy ones, the nearby Palace road is the place to go with lots of indian vegetarian restaurants.
The rooms at Green woods are beautifully furnished and provide everything you need. They were moskitoproof and perfectly clean. There is a different choice of tasty breakfast items everyday including delicious kerala pancakes (filled with coconut and sugar), eggs, chappati and fruit! I absolutely loved the rooftop terrace which is great to hang out and meet other guests.
I stayed there for a week and it was just perfect, not a single thing comes to my mind that could be criticised. My tip: If you stay longer than two nights, get a bike!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_popanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sheeba and Ash arranged for a taxi to pick me up from the airport. I arrived late at night, but was nonetheless greeted by Sheeba who walked me by hand to my room. Green Woods - Bethlehem felt like being at home. My favorite part was rocking in the hammock on the roof deck and watching a man climb palm trees to cut down the coconuts. I was so sad to leave, and would stay there any time I return. Such a lovely guesthouse, and such lovely hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schleswig - Holstein
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Now we have been our third time autum-holiday in Kerala, every time starting in Kochi, staying at Greenwoods-Bethlehem again and again.

Because?

-You can read: :-)))

G - Grandious green garden & ground
R - Rooms with much homefully athmosphäre
E - Energy - the energy of the housparents seems to be endless - for the guests to feel at home
E - eating the lovely well cooked Indian breakfast to feel very well & healthy
N - Nearly by all things, events and places you need or will see in Fort Kochi

W - Warmest smile coming direct from the hearts of Sheeba & Ashley and their wunderful staff
O - Organizing for you very intersting places and things you want with brilliant knowledge & ideas
O - Organisation of everything is going very quick and very well
D - Door is open for everyone - with warmest welcome to feel at home from Sheeba & Ashley
S - Sheeba & Ashley - the houseowners and very nice couple - nicest people -you will see!

B - Beds are really comfortable, very clean and very nice looking
E - Event by cooking in the greatest cooking-class with Sheeba
T - Taxidriver are all the best, whenever Sheeba/Ashley call them to drive at your wanted place
H - Heaven is near in this house, no matter wich Religion or not you believe
L - Lucky and relaxed traveller/guests on the roofgarden you can see every time
E - Enaugh to eat and drink at breakfast to start in a lovely day
H - Helping hands from Sheeba & Ashley and their great staff in every case
E - Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy your time ..and relax ...in Green Woods Bethlehem :-)
M - Most loved place in Kochi - we are coming again!

Thank you Sheeba & Ashley - sincerely yours Marianne & Wolfgang

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne19651965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerobokan, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Even it was in the middle of the night, we were warmly welcomed by Ashley and Sheeba. The variable breakfast every morning was delicious and plenty, served on the wonderful rooftop. The room was clean and comfortable. Mind that since there is a wonderful jungle-like garden, there are mosquitos and birds around. We had a great stay and can warmly recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth W Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our agent booked all of our accommodation and having been used to hotels, we were a bit surprised to arrive to a place popular with backpackers. Then when we found lack of AC in our room and no hot shower we wondered if we would stay. However, the hospitality was as warm and genuine as we have encountered anywhere, we had a great sleep with the windows open and the breakfast was brilliant. It is but a short walk to the attractions of old Cochin. In the end we enjoyed this place more than any other on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Sheeba and Ashley are possibly the loveliest people I have met in India! They were fabulous hosts and made us like family while we stayed in their beautiful guest house.

They cooked a wonderful and filling breakfast every morning which they served on their wonderful jungle like roof terrace. The guesthouse is truly fantastic with great rooms and a good location.

Ashley has a very cute little map of the city which he will whip out at any occasion if you want to ask a question about the town.

They have a wonderful tuk tuk man to recommend who can give a tour around Kochi, we thought he was absolutely fantastic. We kept using him for all our travels in the Kochi area and he even gave us a lift to Allepey with all our rucksacks on his tuk tuk! He really wanted us to have a fantastic day and would be so thoughtful and helpful to all our needs while never making us feel he was being pushy about a tip or anything like that. His service was truly excellent and his good humour and smiles were infectious! We missed him when we left Kochi!

Sheeba and Ashley also recommended a fantastic yoga instructor..Sajee. He is world renowned and is flown across the globe to practice yoga and teach others. Fortunately he and his wonderful family live in Kochi where we managed to catch a one on one lesson with him for a very reasonable price!!
He bent us into all sort of shapes, spent time on breathing and relaxation with us and also explained some of his yogic philosophy. He is an incredible man and a fantastic teacher. We both left feeling rather in awe of him! I think this was easily the best yoga lesson I have ever had. Sajee also has a great sense of humour and two beautiful dogs!

We stayed with Sheeba and Ashley for a few nights earlier this year, and can honestly say that they were the best hosts we had in India. Nothing was too much trouble, from cooking extra banana pancakes to organising transport to the airport, with cooking recipes thrown in to the mix! We had some fascinating conversations with them, and were really made to feel at home. The rooms are inexpensive and clean - whilst they didn't have all mod cons, they were great value for the price. I'd thoroughly recommend staying there, and if we return to Kochi we'll make a beeline Green Woods-Bethlehem!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tansy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#14 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
14.7 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing