We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Ranked #15 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Amazing homestay”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Green Woods Bethlehem for only one night, but would have loved to stay much longer since it is a wonderful place!! Sheeba welcomed us very warmly and made us feel at home right away.
The room was very nice and the breakfast on the wonderful terrace is awesome!
We would recommend highly to stay at Green Woods Bethlehem!
Thank you again!
Patricia and Anja

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    79
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
194
53
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Sheba and Ashley will make you feel like part of their lovely family, and it's worthing staying here just for that fact alone. The place itself is quaint with a relaxing roof terrace and lots places to sit and enjoy the small green garden that surrounds the house. The property is set back from the road and a short walk from town so quiet at night. No wifi but even for a wifi junkie like me it was actually nice to have a break from technology in a place like this... Kind of like stepping back in time (but in a good way!) Sheeba arranged our taxi to Munnar with their driver Anish who was also really nice and professional... Sheeba even phoned us a few days later to make sure the journey was ok! Some people are just born to look after people and Sheeba is one if them. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Ours was a comfortable stay in suburbia, a refreshing reprive from the intensity that is Indian cities. This accommodation was probably more basic and budget level than we expected (no running hot water for instance) although more than made up by fabulous hosts. The breakfast will keep you going all day. Our sleep was disturbed some nights by the animals next door - a goose, a rooster and a dog. The location is probably just a bit far from Fort Kochi - walking the 1.4 kilometeres to the fishing nets in the humidity can be so enervating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My son and I stayed 7 nights with Sheeba and Ashley, and they made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. They have good suggestions for local massage, restaurants, yoga, backwaters trips, and will arrange taxis to and from the airport as well as to nearby towns. Breakfasts are huge, and we had the best masala dosa the morning we left. The garden is really beautiful and on the roof terrace, it sounds just like the rainforest canopy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

If you do just one thing when you visit India - make sure it is booking a stay at Green Woods Bethlehem.

Sheeba and Ashley are always busy, welcoming many guests into their home, yet they still manage to make you feel like the most special person they have ever had the pleasure to meet.

Sheeba, after a cuddle, will rush around making sure everything is absolutely perfect for you - plying you with delicious treats from her kitchen and treating you like a new family member. Ashley will take the time to explain the whereabouts of absolutely everything and anything in Kochi that you are interested in knowing about.

The property itself is lovely. Set in a green wooded space, you can see and hear an array of beautiful wildlife from most windows. The roof area, where you have breakfast, is also a wonderful place to relax with a chai.

I strongly advise taking a cooking class (on the roof). Make sure you take a pen and paper - to try and capture all the different delicious recipes!

The overwhelming kindness of this wonderful little family is an experience you will treasure forever. We have already stayed here twice and hope to visit again one day...

*If you decide to stay here - book in advance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place was amazing. You will not meet nicer people than your hosts, particularly Ashley who I found to be the perfect mix of friendliness and professionalism. The room was good - quaint, rustic but comfortable. Food is good and location too. It is a good option if you want to get away from the really touristy bit of Fort Cochi but still be able to walk everywhere. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was a solo female traveling alone in Kerala and they made me feel very safe and welcome. Sheeba and Asheley are really nice people and just the sort that should be in the hospitality business. They arranged a safe driver for me to go to Munnar and from the airport as well. I left to Munnar quite early and Sheeba even packed me a breakfast to take with me. I would stay here again for sure and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Roshniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#18 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods-Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods-Bethlehem

Property: Green Woods-Bethlehem
Address: 11/236A,Kurishingal House | 11/236A, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Woods-Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods-Bethlehem Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Green Woods-Bethlehem Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing