We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Heritage Homestay
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Travelling solo and on my first visit to India, I was slightly apprehensive. I need not have worried because I couldn't have landed with a better family. Not only was I made to feel at home and part of the family, I was advised and assisted in every other aspect of my travels. I truly enjoyed the hospitality and totally fell in love with Kochi, Kerala and India. Annie's cooking was a gentle but authentic introduction to South Indian cuisine. The veranda was a glorious place to relax and gather myself. The backwater view brought peace and tranquility. I could go back tomorrow! On the adventurous side, I can say, that with a lot of help and encouragement, I truly got to know and experience the local transport. I'll hop on a bus any day. Loved the auto rickshaws and was happy with the very prompt and efficient taxi service arranged for me when required. All in all, a very non-touristy experience. Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 153ErikaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

when i and my wife thought of going to ernakulam, my wife told that resort would be nice to stay. But we didnt get any resort . Checked in trip adviser and told to my wife about the Riverside Heritage Homestay. At first she was unhappy,But we visited there she was fully happy. And the care taken by Annie & Basil uncle is feel like u r in home. And food prepared by Annie was tasty especially pron cutlet was awesome. And the even the charges reasonable .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakshman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHomestay, Owner at Riverside Heritage Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your review. The Prawns cutlet which you had during your visit was made from fresh prawns, which we caught from our backwaters using our own Chinese fishing net. When this fresh prawns got cooked with the magical hands of Annie, it became very tasty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed here along with my parents on the very first days of my visit to India. We planned for a week-long vacation in Kerala and Lakshadweep, and this was the first leg of our trip. We couldn't have done better. Basil and Annie are the perfect hosts. Their son Neel also gave us company. Staying here, we learnt a whole lot of interesting things about life on the Kerala backwaters.

Visitors would immediately notice a wide array of trees and bird-life that bless this property. We woke up in the morning to sounds of a cuckoo and the accompanying chorus of other birds. There are a couple of woodpeckers, which were sneeky. But when they thought we weren't watching, they would alight by the window-panes of our cottage to admire the reflections of their plumage. Visitors should bring a pair of binoculars. I bought a pair in the airport at Frankfurt and this proved to be a good tool at the Mylanthara house. I also saw squirrels, kingfishers and many water birds at the distance into the backwaters. The house stands right on the shore of the backwaters of the Vembanad lake and offers excellent views of the sunset. The Mylantharas also operate a chinese fishing net, which along with those of the neighbors, provides a pleasing backdrop to the sunset.

What also deserves praise is the delicious cooking of Annie. While having dinner on our first day, I mentioned how unusual it is for me to have food elsewhere from home on my first arrival day in India. Neel joked that I was sure having mom's food, but prepared by his mom. From that meal onwards, we were made to feel as part of the family. My parents have very high standards on the quality of food, and in the end, they too couldn't withhold their praise for the meals. Annie made us the tastiest Kerala specialities, and we couldn't have had a better authentic introduction to this rich cuisine.

I am definitely coming back to this place on my next visit to Kochi and I will recommend the same to my friends. If you want to escape the crowds and the traffic of the city, while still staying at an easy distance to the attractions, make this place your base. The Mylanthara hospitality will get you hooked.

Room Tip: Take the riverside cottage if available. There is a hamac underneath the mango tree to chill out. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We were visiting family in Kerala and wanted to stay in Kochi for a day or two. My cousin suggested Mylanthara House and we stayed there. Basilchettan and Annie Anty are the perfect hosts. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious and all the amenities were very nice. The breakfast was a real feast and a great way to start off the day. The tropical heat was cooled by the natural breeze coming from the lake and it just lulls you into sleep on the easy chair in the verandah. The only thing lacking was ice-cold beer!!!

I would suggest keeping a nice fridge stocked with beer and wine always so that guests can pay on what they need to use, instead of having to go out and buy it.

Would love to stay there again and spend more time during our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideHomestay, Owner at Riverside Heritage Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your suggestion. But as per the Law of the land, Homestays are not allowed to sell any hard liquor, wine or beer to the customers. The guests can bring or buy the above mentioned items from outside & consume within our Homestay. They can utilize our fridge for cooling these items. We can also make arrangements for the guest to get these items from a nearby wine shop run by the Govt. of Kerala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to stay for our first trip to Fort Kochi. Basil and his charming wife made us so welcome and comfortable in their delighfully spacious home. We had just arrived from Paris and a pick up was organised from the airport. Nothing could have been more easy for us. We stayed only two nights but will certainly return to Riverside Heritage Homestay. The two evening meals we enjoyed with the family and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We slept soundly in comfortable beds to be woken only by the birds' singing. Absolutely delightful. Basil also made a programme for us for our visit to Fort Kochi and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An0therday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I along with my family and some close relatives who are foreignors had been to the above heritage resort on January 5th and 6th 2013. It was a pleasant stay with homely atmosphere. We felt like we were staying in our traditional home. The food was very tasty and they are very friendlypeople. I wish to stay there again whenever I get a chance.
Venkitachalam J advocate from chennai

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kishen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect out of town homestay in rural area 8 km south of Fort Kochi. Quiet place at backwater. Fishing with chinese net and trip with semi houseboat pn the spot. High quality room, good service and great food! Certainly will come back when in Kochi. Extra bonus was Biennale in Kochi until 13 march 2013.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
8.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
431 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#66 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
60 reviews
5.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
653 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Heritage Homestay

Address: Mylanthra House | Palluruthy | Perumpadappu | Konam, Kochi (Cochin) 682006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 464 Speciality Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £29 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mylanthra House "RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY" is approved and licensed as "GOLD GRADE" by Tourism department, Government of Kerala. RIVERSIDE HERITAGE HOMESTAY is located at Perumpadappu area in Cochin at the bank of Vembanad Lake backwaters. This Gold-graded homestay is an 80-year-old, well-maintained bungalow built of bricks, wooden ceilings and clay tile roofing. The flooring is also done with old clay tiles. The property covers an area of 1.25 Acres, which is full of trees like coconut, mango, chikku, guava, jack fruit etc. It also have a traditional pond, which is presently used for growing fish. The Guests will be thrilled when they feed these fishes. The homestay also have a Chinese fishing net in their beautiful backwaters, which the guests can operate themselves. Imagine catching fish and cooking them for dinner! Sitting beside this chinese fishing net & watching Sunset will be wonderful experience. Take a walk in the countryside or ride a bicycle thorough the village. The nearby islands in the backwaters have shrimp farms and paddy fields surrounded by evergreen mangroves. We can arrange Mechanized country boats (Semi House Boat) for backwater boating & visiting shrimp farms & paddy fields in the nearby islands The bird life here will simply command attention. The cool breeze from the Vembanad Lake backwaters behind the homestay along with the sweet sound of the various specious of birds visiting our property will not only enthrall you but also will be an experience of a lifetime. We also have a newly built Traditional Kerala style RIVER FACING COTTAGE. This cottage is constructed just behind our Heritage Home in the year 2011 in the traditional Kerala style. It can also be called as a miniature of our Heritage home, with modern amenities. The bed rooms have modern style bathroom attached. The host can also arrange for Ayurvedic Body Message, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling & Physical Fitness in an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Our Homestay) which is having experienced and qualified doctors and therapists. The homestay is very close to Kumbalanghi, Kerala's first model tourism village. You can visit Fort Cochin, Dutch Cemetery, Princess street, Kerala Kathakali centre, Folk dance, Indian Classical music, Indian Classical Dances & Marshal arts (Kalaripayat), St. Francis Church (Vasco Da Gama Church), Santa Cruz Basilica, Dutch Palace, Asia's oldest Synagogue (Jewish Synagogue), Spice Market, Jew Street & Jew Town, Dharmanath Jain temple at Mattancherry, Willingdon island, Hill palace, Ernakulam marine drive & Boating in Marine Drive, Vallarpadam Basilica, Mangalavanam Bird Sanctuary, Parikshith Thampuran Museum, Veega Land water theme Park, Cherai beach & Palliport (Pallipuram) Fort, Sri Sankara Math, Kodanad elephant training center from here. FACILITIES Complimentary Traditional Kerala style Breakfast for all our guests. Veg & non-Veg food available on request. Guest can operate our Chinese fishing net. Watch the Sunset & enjoy the cool breeze, sitting beside our Backwaters. Hot & Cold water available 24 Hrs. Free Wi-Fi internet usage. All rooms are Mosquito proof, very spacious with modern amenities and bath attached. Lovely garden & Lawn to soothe you. Sight-Seeing Tips. Car Parking Facility. We also Arrange upon our Guests request. 1. 24 Hours Air port, Railway Station Pick-Up & Drop. 2. Taxi or Auto rickshaw for sight seeing. 3. Houseboat tours (Day Cruise as well as Day and Night stay) at Alleppey backwaters. 4. Tickets for Kathakali Play & The Make-up, Martial Arts (Kalaripayat), Indian Classical music & Indian Classical Dances in a famous Kathakali centre in Cochin. 5. Ayurvedic Body Massage, Ayurvedic treatments, Panchakarma, Yoga, Meditation, Counselling Physical Fitness by Qualified Doctors at an Ayurvedic Care Center in Cochin (4 Kms From Homestay) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing