We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Gama Heritage Residency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gama Heritage Residency
Ranked #121 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Dorset
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Gama in early February after walking out of another pre booked lodging which was really bad.
The staff at the Gama were helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple but adequate. The accommodation is quiet and the gardens well kept. We could hear the call to prayer from the mosque, but we love this sound so it didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: I only saw one room because the hotel was almost fully booked. Lots of French and Belgian tourists s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helliecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    22
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have read mixed reviews about this hotel.
This is our sixth time in India & our second time in Fort Cochi.
I thought the hotel ticked almost all the right boxes for me & from talking to some of the other guests at the time it seems that a number of top travel companys use this hotel as part of a tour of Kerala & Fort cochi.
The rooms are light, all rooms have a small fridge.
There is a ceiling fan air con, tv, sep toilet & shower.
THEY ALSO SERVE THE BEST BREAKFAST IN kERALA.
Fresh made pineapple juice, cheese omelette etc.
On our second of three night stay we had a big problem with barking dogs on the sreet late at night, which they let us change rooms to one on the other side so we had a good night sleep, stricty speaking the dogs had nothing to do with them, that to me is worth a big plus in their favour.
A favour you would not get in all hotels & especially in India.
Cons.
The hotel is near a Mosque & you can hear their oft prayers from loud speakers at all time of the day & night but they only last 1 or 2 mins.
Generally the place works.
So it gets a YES from me.

Room Tip: We were originally in room 201 when the dogs were barking. We moved to room 106 which was much bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is well situated and easy to find again should you stray off the beaten track! The place looks grand from the outside but once through the doors it is very plain with everything about it basic, though clean and efficient. A good base from which to explore Kochi

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the reception - the corridors are VERY long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithsramblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The hotel is a little away from the centre, but still on walking distance. The room was ok with a big bathroom, but the whole atmosphere reminded me of the boarding school I stayed when I was young. No warm atmosphere, although the staff was friendly and helpfull. Although I stayed 4 days in Kochi, I decided to move to an other hotel after 1 night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a good small hotel. Picked up late at the airport so was pleased to get to the rooms. Clean and spacious double with shower room. Tv was a good additional and the breakfast was really nice too

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egypt1amm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

When i was visited with my groups of friends , we stayed in GAMA HElRITAGE and it was really wonderfull stay.
Staffs are really nice and helpful for the new guest. they pick us from Fort cochin when we lost our way. India breakfast in the resturant was really yummiiii :)................

This is the better place u can have in fort cochin..

Room Tip: Just near to the Bishop house and easy to reach all places by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudheesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a touring group. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful so no problems here. The downside was that the general look of the hotel and corridors was one of stark basic lack of style. The breakfasts were very average without much to tempt the European palate.
The big saving grace was the location. An easy and pleasant walk to the centre of Kochi it was situated next to the Bishops House which made it simple to find again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#47 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#119 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#100 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#72 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gama Heritage Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gama Heritage Residency

Property: Gama Heritage Residency
Address: Gama Heritage Residency Bishop Joseph Kureethara Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Gama Heritage Residency 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last of the heritage trilogy is the Gama Heritage. The name itself is synonymous with its Portuguese connection that is related to Vasco De Gama. The resort takes us to a bygone era, which witnessed a huge change in the historical as well as the cultural scenario of Kerala. The architecture of Kerala also saw a significant transformation with the foreign connections coming in. This is evident from the structural designs of Bishops house of Kochi Diocese and the Indo-Portuguese museum as well and its located inside the bishop house, Fort Cochin. The location is very quiet and calm atmosphere and walkable distance to the beach (2 min), Chinese fishing net(4min). Friendly people, homely atmosphere, 24-hr service with better facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gama Heritage Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gama Heritage Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Gama Heritage Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing