We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry kya?”

Upstairs Italian Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 957 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hungry kya?”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Looking for some yummy non-Indian food, then this is the place. Located close to the Santa Cruz Basilica, this is a cozy restaurant with free wifi. We had the pizza with roasted vegetables and an omelette. Lip-smacking! There is no issue with the food. However, regular water is not available here. We have to go for mineral water, which is priced on the higher side like the rest of the menu. Also as some other reviewer pointed out, Indians are given secondary preference and there is no defined smoking zone. These left a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H-squareV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    92
    46
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Myself, my girlfriend, friend and her son went out for dinner here. We had a craving for some pizza and this fit the bill. We were all pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Especially the desserts. Some of the pizza prices are a little high by Indian standards (3-6 euro) as they aren't huge. Still not to pricey as i assume most of the cheese is imported . The cheese is fresh as were all the other toppings. The pesto was especially good. Anyway, go for it. Sometimes I think trip advisor hampers a decent dining experience because of bad reviews. We're completely guilty of this too. Good food, staff and location. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived but ended more busy which lended to a nice atmosphere. Good music. Overall a great night. We only had pizza and lasagne. Pizza was great, lasagne was grand, desserts were lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oisinob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My friends and I were looking for decent pizza and ended up finding excellent flavour, fine ingredients and great atmosphere.....enjoyed it too much!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielaGarcia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious italian food in India”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

After eating Indian food for over a month we craved some pizza and found this italian close to where we were staying. Looking at the tripadvisor review score we weren't sure what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised! A lovely atmosphere with relaxing bluesy background music and really really good pizza! Thin crust and really fresh toppings. The bruschetta was perfect and the home-made desserts were to die for! We managed three between us, the brownie was a particular favorite. Lovely staff too. Great option if you're looking for a western food fix!

Helpful?
Thank Mtsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What an absolutely fantastic place! I went here everyday i was in Kochi and was never disappointed, the pizza, the pasta the drinks, it as all fantastic it doesn't matter what you order it will be good! The owner of the place really goes out of his way to ensure your meals is enjoyable. fantastic!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG_Trophy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Upstairs Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing