We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the great experience!”
Review of Adams Wood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adams Wood House
Ranked #232 of 477 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have been traveling around the world for 10 months now and were thoroughly impressed with our accommodations at Adam's Wood House. We had the third floor room which was very comfortable and large and clean. The owner is very friendly and will inform well you eat breakfast in their family's kitchen each morning, he will point you in the right direction for massages and suggest great local restaurants. We also enjoyed our cooking demo that he arranged for us in his kitchen with a local chef. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bikeguru123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

thank you very much for review.

we depend on our guest reviews to grow
and it helps us to reach other guest who looks for a stay with us.

always thankful to our guest who write their experiences in trip advisor.

looks forward to host you again before fliying out of cochin.


rgds,

firoz khan
cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

dear mr Firoz,
after spending a month holiday in Kerala, we could compare other homestays to yours.
we don't expect Sheraton quality but a simple breakfast would be good , instead we got
some noodles with sugar (we were not on a hunger strike ?)
after all we paid 2500 , breakfast included.
we visited other homestays , 1500-2000 , full breakfast , fruit,omelet,toast,jam etc , plus
true hospitality.
no complaints about the room although we had to ask for towels and toilet paper.

Regards Mr Firoz and good luck.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florent842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

mr. florent

thank you for taking time in writing reivew in t.a
we really appreciate it and noted it.

just to inform you. breakfast which we gave u on arrival date is not noodles its a keralan breakfast called idiyappam it is made of rice and coconut. it was served with coconut milk and sugar.

and other days we served different breakfast. u did not comment about those.

we always offer indian breakfast to our guest so they can taste indian foods while they are in india.

we offer offer toast, scrampled eggs, jam. butter and fruit for those who request english breakfast.

other than idiyappam we serve different breakfast everyday.

everyday we keep fresh towels and toiletries while cleaning room.
how can u expect us to come and ask everyitme sir your toilet paper is finished ?

hope i replied to all your comments.
in future we will keep in mind to ask guest whether they need indian or english breakfast.
also they require more toilet rolls.

rgds,

firoz khan

everyday your breakfast plate was empty so we thought you are really enjoying it.
if you need english breakfast you could have asked us. we are always happy to serve it.

for us indian breakfast takes time to prepare and english breakfast is more easye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Please ignore other reviews..the owner was arrogant. The bottom sheet dirty, no fan or air con, no information as to where to go for breakfast. When I asked for fruit a banana was plonked on my plate. The other guest at the table kept telling "this place is awful". Next morning I got tuk tuk and found beautiful homestay at same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

hello ms. sheila

wish you a happy 85 th birthday.

i feel LOL after reading your creative review at this age.
im not upset with you because i have a grandma of same age

i know its very hard to make SOME grandmas happy. but NOT ALL

surprised to hear that you did not see the sealing fan above the bed and 1.5 ton aircon in your room.

this clearly shows your review is not true.

anyway you agreed that other guest at breakfast table said that our place was awful.
thank you for that.

our place is suitable only for those who love to stay in family run homestays n not suiotable for those who looks for a hotel luxory and f & b service of a restaurant.

good to hear that you found better place at good price.
hope they really made you happy.

thank you for taking time to review us
it helps us to imporve our service to other guest.


have a good day

best rgds,

firoz and family
adams wood house
cochin, kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in one of the rooftop/non-AC rooms. The attached bathroom had a western toilet and a hand-held shower (not a bucket). It was all very clean, but the room was FULL of mosquitoes at night (thatch walls only and lots of holes). There was a mosquito net, but it was a little bit too small for the bed and came undone part-way through the night.
The wifi was excellent and the included breakfast was tasty, though a bit small.
The homestay is a little bit difficult to find, but the area was leafy and quiet with a veg restaurant nearby. The owner, Firoz, was very helpful with onward travel advice and information.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

thank u for ur review.
noted your comments.

i would like to highlight about our property to others.
we have 5 clean and comfortable rooms for tourist.
3 with a/c and 2 non a/c
all rooms are different in size and rates

the room which u booked is the base category room for 2 adults.
which is made of bamboo and bamboo mats. similar to huts seen in goa.

its a room for budget travellers who love to stay in eco friendly rooms.
sorry to hear that u did not enjoyed it.

in cochin u can expect mosquitoes.
so we always request our guest to keep the doors and windows closed duirng morning and evening.

we also keep repellent in rooms.

regarding bed and mosquito net. our bed is king size and the net is also king size net.
i persoanlly tuck the net under the bed. so no chance of having mosquito bites.

i am attaching the picture of the room which u stayed. it will help others to know how it looks.

when you pay less we are giving double room with free wifi and complimentary breakfast.

will see how the other guest feels about this rooms.
if we are getting more complaints then definately we will remove the bamboo room and make
it with walls and aircon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in the guesthouse for four nights from the 27th till the 31st of January 2014. The place was comfortable and well located in a quite street. The host was very hospitable and did the best he could to inform us about all kinds of practicalities, to book a tour on the backwaters, and to inform us about everything worth seeing in Cochin. He was particularly helpful to have the shoes of my wife, which we'd forgotten at our departure, sent by the next train and by taxi to the place where we stayed next. Incredible how he managed to have this organized. So we can recommend fully the Adams Wood House to anyone who looks for a comfortable place in Cochin with a very helpful host.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

thank you mr. danny.

i was my pleasure to host you and your partner.
and i hope its my duty to hand over the things which our guest forget.

good that you were just 5 hrs journey from cochin.

and thanks again for giving us 5 star rating.

rgds fm cochin

firoz and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A wonderful place to relax ... the top room is very recommendable ... Mr. Firoz is always there when you need him, he is very eager to take on organizational.
Would come again immediately. Breakfast is also very good.

Room Tip: The upper room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank novodomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

thank you sir.
really loved your review.

happy to hear you enjoyed our indian breakfast every morning.

rgds,

firoz khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Mr . Firoz, is very helpful! The rooms are clean and good! very nice indien breakfast from his wife every morning!

Its a good middleclass guesthouse...not luxurios. You can reach every good places of cochin very fast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamshomestaycochin, Owner at Adams Wood House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

thank you
thats what we want to hear from our guest.

its a guest house for those who looks for a stay with indian family and not luxory of a hotel.
happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast prepared by my wife.

thanks again for rating us very good.

rgds fm cochin

firoz and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 35 in Ernakulam
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sonnetta Residency
Sonnetta Residency
#22 of 477 in Kochi (Cochin)
274 reviews
1.3 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#13 of 477 in Kochi (Cochin)
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#3 of 477 in Kochi (Cochin)
534 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
97 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Wood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Wood House

Address: Andy Achari Road, near Saga | Paravana Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 477 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £9 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adams Wood House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adams wood house is a small family run homestay located in a quiet residentail area between fort cochin and mattancherry. We are away from tourist crowd. 1 Km to jewish town and 2 kms to fort kochi beach. Easily reachable to tourist attractions by foot.At adams wood house we offer 3 a/c and 2 non a/c rooms for our guest.All our rooms have private entrance, ensuite bath and individual key to guest rooms. Assure total privacy of a hotel and homely atmosphere at our homestay in cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adams Wood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Wood House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing