We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect budget stay at Cherai Backwaters.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kadalkkara Lake Resort
Ranked #188 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is well-situated on the side of Cherai backwaters and is also very close to the Cherai beach.The accommodation, while basic, is all you really need.The rooms were very clean and had a balcony opening to the backwaters.The view from the room was amazing.The manager Mr.Gopalakrishnan was very kind and allowed me to make last minute changes in my travel dates. In short, its a perfect budget stay at Cherai Backwaters.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
5  Thank praveen_veliyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal K, Manager at Kadalkkara Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Mr. Praveen,
Greetings from Kadalkkara,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation,
Your reviews are the driving force for us to bring our best again and again.
We value our guest and make it a continued practice for each and every individual visiting our place.

Thank you and visit again ...

Regards,

Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

Good place on the backwaters. 100meters away from Cherai Beach. The room is ok (we had a tree in our room...very exciting for the kids!). No WIFI access. Rooms are cleaned every second day. Staff is very friendly. Very quiet place.
The hotel restaurant is a MUST (even if you don't stay here you should definitely have a diner here...excellent food at a more than reasonnable price).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Family027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal K, Manager at Kadalkkara Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Kadalkkara,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation,
Your reviews are the driving force for us to bring our best again and again.
We value our guest and make it a continued practice for each and every individual visiting our place.

Thank you and visit again ...

Regards,

Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I was planning a family trip from U.K to kerala and a 2 night stay in cherai beach.My friend requested this resort and we arrived there and the resort people had arranged their car to pick us.we came there and we were given a cottage which stood on a tree.
The interior was good and the room was well maintained.we stayed there for 2 days and we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank koolpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal K, Manager at Kadalkkara Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Kadalkkara,

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation,
Your reviews are the driving force for us to bring our best again and again.
We value our guest and make it a continued practice for each and every individual visiting our place.

Thank you and visit again ...

Regards,

Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We were excited to stay here because of the images provided on the website and when arriving here, as the location near the beach, over the backwaters, and within tropical grounds, was fantastic. This accomodation was inexpensive and ideally located so I didn't expect a lot of space, or, in fact, any more than the basics. However, once we got inside it was a different matter; the curtains, towels and bedding were stained, the floor had clearly not been cleaned in months and the bathroom was shocking. The tiles were covered in grime and stains and the back of the door was pink and slimy. There was no glass, just a concrete grid, in place of a bathroom window which was covered by a tea towel, which I could just live with, but the diagonal roof and horizontal wall meant that there was a gap large enough for a small adult to break in. Lights bulbs hung on bare wires (in the bathroom!) and we had to gaffer tape our plugs into the sockets to make them work. The rattan roof was rotting, the vent was covered by a taped-on bin liner, and simple necessities, such as a hook for a mosquito net, were broken. The A/C worked, but the two pieces of cloth left for bedding were completely insufficient and we spent the night trying to keep warm with towels or sweltering without the A/C. When I tried to use the shower the bracket fell straight off the wall; the wall plugs had completely disintegrated and although we immediately brought this to the attention of the owner, there was no attempt to fix it. Technically you can't pre-book this place unless through an agent, which saved us a lot of hassle in the end as we were able to leave. I've stayed in some very basic accomodation in my time, but this was something else; for the first time in my life, after just one night, I packed up and found somewhere else to go for the rest of my time in Cherai. Then when we left, the owner tried charging us more than the agreed price! He was lucky we paid him anything at all! Don't agree to stay here withour checking out your room first.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jostock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal K, Manager at Kadalkkara Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Jo,
Greetings from Kadalkkara,

We regret for your experience and deeply apologize for the same and would like to aware you that Management has been changed and on that renovation works has been done to ensure that our guest receive best in class facilities during their respective stays.
I sincerely request to pay your visit again and get in touch with me in person.
The better service is guaranteed assurance from us today.
As we are ensuring each of our guest receive the best in class service and hospitality in the area.

Thank you for review and understanding ...

Regards,

Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Kadalkkara Lake resort is situated at Cherai Beach which is a lovely beach. The Beach Huts are on the Back water and have Beautiful Views over the water. The beach is about a 2 min walk away.

The Rooms are well maintained with Balconys - they are basic but clean - we had a tree growing thru our Bathroom which was really cool.

The resort resturant made the best food in India - the manager Johnston got will get you fresh fish, prawns all fantastic.

So if you are wanting to chill out then this is a really great place to chill.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beijarflorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopal K, Manager at Kadalkkara Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Kadalkkara,

We thank you for kind words and appreciation which helps us to serve you better each time and every time and ensuring each guest of our receives a worldclass Kerala hospitality to cherish and bind this with everlasting memories to come for ages.

Please visit again ...

Regards,

Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gopika Regency
Gopika Regency
#171 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
10 reviews
12.5 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 33 in Ernakulam
444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherai Onetree Retreat
Cherai Onetree Retreat
#8 of 8 in Cherai Beach
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadalkkara Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadalkkara Lake Resort

Address: Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin) 683514, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kadalkkara Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadalkkara Lake Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing