We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY DIFFERENT FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Ranked #50 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY DIFFERENT FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

A lovely hotel in a historic house...Its a cozy place with around 8 rooms I think and each different...Staff were very friendly and looked after us very well....Simple delicious food...Highly recommended if you looking for something different than the normal hotel experience...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

we stayed here over new years eve and wanted a relaxed, chilled out place. This is a small property with just 8-10 rooms; each room is different and has its own character. The property is an old house (apparently the oldest house in India) built in 1508 and renovated beautifully keeping the old character and giving it the new luxury fittings and comforts. The service is outstanding. The entire staff go out of their way to please you and bend over backwards to fulfill your every wish. The resident manager - Smita is very charming and talks to all the guests quite a bit and makes them feel at home. The breakfast is great. They have a small pool as well. Its a bit pricey during high season; but worth every rupee. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We were outbooked here from the Malabar House after they had overbooked us. We arrived at 5am to be greeted warmly by staff who had been up half the night for us! The charming Director and her staff couldn't do enought for us. Dinner was a selection of different local dishes including some lovely red snapper and was delicious. The rooms (7, I think) are beautifully furnished in appropriate style for the hstory of the house and there is a small pool and comfortable poolside and garden area.
Location is excellent for the fishing nets and shops in Fort Cochin.
This hotel doesn't market itself aggressively so you have to be in the know. Make sure you are! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midsummersteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

My wife and I spent the new years at Le Colonial, we had a wonderful time. Smita, who is the Manager of the property was very gracious and hospitable, so were the staff. They looked after us very well and accommodated all our requests. Do definitely recommend this beautiful property!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehariram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Of our trip to South India, this was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The director made you feel you were staying a her private home, and you felt home away from home. There is nothing else to add : anyone going to Cochin and not staying there has wasted his trip! This hotel just made me regret that we couldn't stay at another hotel of the same group: L'Orient in Pondichery as it was full.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I stayed at Le Colonial from the 20th of December 2008 to the 2nd of January 2009. The hotel is an amazing 500 year old colonial house, and has been beautifully restored. The service was exquisite, and the rooms gorgeously decorated with local arts and crafts. The hotel was recommended by friends who had stayed there previously, and the hotel and service lived up to my expectations. The climate was amazing (between 30 and 36 degrees celsius during the day during the whole of our stay). Watch out for mosquitos! I highly recommend this for any culture seeking person. The hotel is not for people searching for standard hotel chain as it does not have amenities like wi-fi or business center. It has about 10 rooms.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and friendly service
  • Disliked — the mosquitos
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adriano1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#51 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Le Colonial

Property: Neemrana's Le Colonial
Address: 1 - 315 Church Road | Vasco de Gama Square, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's Le Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colonial, by the Chinese fishing nets of Fort Cochin, is probably Asia's oldest colonial house, dating back to 1506. Located in the very heart of Fort Cochin, right next to Saint Francis Church, this legendary house is said to have housed the Saint as also Vasco de Gama. After 150 years as the Portuguese Governor's residence, it was one of the very few houses not to have been destroyed when the Dutch took Fort Cochin. It then housed the Dutch Governors for a century and a half, until Jan van Spall sold it to the British in 1795. In turn, they passed it on to the J. Thomas, the renowned tea trader. These five captive centuries of history have been lovingly restored and the hotel is a true living museum. Treasures of art from the colonial past have revived that era, turning Le Colonial into a "Club" and meeting point for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Le Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Le Colonial Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing