We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights. We came to Kochi to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangalore and this was the perfect place for that. A very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms and great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopal_arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and were able to rejuvenate too. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always heartening when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your compliments about the maintenance and the service have been conveyed to the housekeeping and the service teams.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Viceroy room for two nights as a little getaway whilst in India for work. The room was the nicest and biggest room of any hotel I have ever stayed in. It had beautiful floor boards, interesting furniture and art work and a fantastic covered balcony with ceiling fans - perfect for a coffee and book in the afternoon. The bathroom was massive as well, with two basins, a bath and a double shower. When we stayed we were lucky enough to be the only guests, which meant that we could wander around the house and have a good look at all the cool things they had.
The staff were also fantastic. Nothing was too much to ask for and they always seemed happy to help. When we came down for breakfast or dinner we had a table set up to go every time (the food was always good as well) and their service was impeccable.
If we ever return to Fort Cochin in the future we'll definitely be staying at Le Colonial again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyTown28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the Viceroy room.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the entire team at Le Colonial. We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were able to check in early and the front desk was very helpful with giving suggestions for places to eat and attractions to visit. The hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The room was clean, cool and quite large. The bathroom was clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to read about your experience and have conveyed your compliments to the entire team in Kochi.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Le Colonial as the final stop on our 16 night tour of Southern India and unanimously decided that it was our favourite hotel of the trip. The decor reflected the bungalow's history yet offered 5 star comfort. The sevice was exemplary, nothing was too much trouble and we were served the best food of our stay in India. I would certainly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Kochi.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own charm but the larger rooms like 'Viceroy' are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read about your experience. Eventually it is simplicity, which is the ultimate style.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Viceroy room.

Your compliments about the warm service have been conveyed to the Manager and her team. We have also conveyed your generous compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A small but great hotel full of charm & elegance which is most tastefully decorated.
The perfect & friendly service is at the same level.
The cuisine is excellent & unpretentious.
Yes, this hotel is highly recommendable to refined travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOLTZ1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read about your experience and have conveyed your compliments to the entire team at Le Colonial.

It is only the initiated traveller that is able to appreciate true authenticity ! We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Le Colonial is a charming property, enhanced by tasteful and appropriate interior designing and decor, keeping the original Portugese flavor intact while giving all the comforts of 5 star living. No ugly AC ducts here! The service is exemplary - personalized like a home stay, yet distant enough to make you feel comfortably independent. Food was fantastic, especially the Kerala 'home' cuisine as requested by us. Smita and the team - take a bow!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the property.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your feedback is a huge motivator for the entire Neemrana team.

We have conveyed your compliments about the service and the food to the Manager and her team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A small, historic, boutique hotel well located in Cochin. The service is very personal and the staff willing to accommodate all requests. When we asked about the hours for dinner we were told it could be served any time we showed up! We had a very early morning flight that required us to leave the hotel at 5 AM. They had a light breakfast available for us before we departed. We stayed in the Jan Van Spall room and our daughter and her husband were in the Major Petrie. Both rooms were huge, well furnished, and very comfortable. The only negative about the hotel is that dining is outside on the patio. At least when we were there, in late February, the mosquitoes were a problem. Despite the candles they use to keep away the bugs several of us got a number of bites. Other than that, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Jan Van Spall room.

Your gracious compliments about the warm and personalised service have been conveyed to the Manager and her team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back at our 28 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#51 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Le Colonial

Property: Neemrana's Le Colonial
Address: 1 - 315 Church Road | Vasco de Gama Square, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's Le Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colonial, by the Chinese fishing nets of Fort Cochin, is probably Asia's oldest colonial house, dating back to 1506. Located in the very heart of Fort Cochin, right next to Saint Francis Church, this legendary house is said to have housed the Saint as also Vasco de Gama. After 150 years as the Portuguese Governor's residence, it was one of the very few houses not to have been destroyed when the Dutch took Fort Cochin. It then housed the Dutch Governors for a century and a half, until Jan van Spall sold it to the British in 1795. In turn, they passed it on to the J. Thomas, the renowned tea trader. These five captive centuries of history have been lovingly restored and the hotel is a true living museum. Treasures of art from the colonial past have revived that era, turning Le Colonial into a "Club" and meeting point for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Le Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Le Colonial Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing