We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Kerala....by far !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The non-hotel Hotel describes Le Colonial perfectly. This Colonial Mansion is wonderful, we stayed in the room Major Petrie, with its huge Four Poster bed, Polished wooded Floors and a fantastic bathroom, both the bathroom and bedroom have shuttered windows overlooking the Church next door...so romantic.
The staff are very kind and nothing is to much for them. The chef is an artist, and will adapt his food to your taste or dietary needs.
I felt so welcome and at home here, my partner is French and one member of staff made a lot of effort to communicate in his language, although we both speak English. In fact I have posted this young man a French Grammar book to encourage his efforts !
This is my first stay in a Neemrana Hotel, but it certainly will not be this last. Elegance, charm and a real desire to make their guests feel welcome and at home describes their philosophy.
This was my first stop during a three week holiday travelling around Kerala, and although I stayed in 6 other hotels or resorts during my visit (all 4 or 5 star) Le Colonial was by far the best.
Finally their internet site is really easy to use, and if you book direct you can choose your room.

Room Tip: The room Major Petrie is really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mitchfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Major Petrie room.

Your gracious compliments about the cuisine and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team. We have also conveyed your appreciation to our website team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Oh Le Colonial! Our home from home in lovely Fort Kochi. If you are looking for 5 star glossy hotel luxury then you will be disappointed but if you like to leave your door open and wonder round in your bare feet, or curl up on a sofa in the gorgeous living room, then this is the place...understated colonial style, large beds and bathrooms...but none of that would matter without Smitha and her team. Smitha is a natural host, and we really enjoyed our time spent with her. Her team are absolutely professional while still being friendy and casual, and I haven't even mentioned the food. Each meal (especially breakfast) was a whole host of tasty surprises. But don't tell anyone as this place needs to stay secret so we can always get a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and her team.
We have also conveyed your compliments about the food to the Chef.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A luxury to flee from effervescent Indian city life, inside the white walls, surrounded by jungle sounds of tree birds, to relax on a verandah or in the dipping pool. A superb collection of furniture and illustrations to immerse in and experience the people from Kochi's historical past. (Visit the church across the road to see the memorials). The management are very welcoming and allow the visitor to feel at home and enjoy the privacy of a genuine colonial house.
The food is excellent. Breakfast - good coffee, fruit and omelettes - which I think are essential at the start of an Indian day. I personally love their Kerala cuisine and the chef seems more delighted if guests would like the delicious European menu.
I have been lucky enough to stay in three different rooms, all with bathrooms to luxuriate in. Jan van Spall is huge with a lovely verandah and a choice of double beds! They are all conducive to diary writing!
Highly recommended and to return to.

Room Tip: vasco de gama for 2 friends sharing, Tipu Sultan intimate luxury but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabbitlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Cochin.

It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Jan Van Spall, Vasco Da Gama and Tipu Sultan rooms.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the experiencing of reliving the scent of history in Cochin and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights. We came to Kochi to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangalore and this was the perfect place for that. A very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. Clean and comfortable rooms and great service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gopal_arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and were able to rejuvenate too. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always heartening when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your compliments about the maintenance and the service have been conveyed to the housekeeping and the service teams.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Viceroy room for two nights as a little getaway whilst in India for work. The room was the nicest and biggest room of any hotel I have ever stayed in. It had beautiful floor boards, interesting furniture and art work and a fantastic covered balcony with ceiling fans - perfect for a coffee and book in the afternoon. The bathroom was massive as well, with two basins, a bath and a double shower. When we stayed we were lucky enough to be the only guests, which meant that we could wander around the house and have a good look at all the cool things they had.
The staff were also fantastic. Nothing was too much to ask for and they always seemed happy to help. When we came down for breakfast or dinner we had a table set up to go every time (the food was always good as well) and their service was impeccable.
If we ever return to Fort Cochin in the future we'll definitely be staying at Le Colonial again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyTown28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the Viceroy room.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the entire team at Le Colonial. We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were able to check in early and the front desk was very helpful with giving suggestions for places to eat and attractions to visit. The hotel was very comfortable and quiet. The room was clean, cool and quite large. The bathroom was clean. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to read about your experience and have conveyed your compliments to the entire team in Kochi.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at Le Colonial as the final stop on our 16 night tour of Southern India and unanimously decided that it was our favourite hotel of the trip. The decor reflected the bungalow's history yet offered 5 star comfort. The sevice was exemplary, nothing was too much trouble and we were served the best food of our stay in India. I would certainly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Kochi.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own charm but the larger rooms like 'Viceroy' are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read about your experience. Eventually it is simplicity, which is the ultimate style.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Viceroy room.

Your compliments about the warm service have been conveyed to the Manager and her team. We have also conveyed your generous compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#44 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#24 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
695 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#100 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Eighth Bastion Hotel
#6 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Le Colonial

Address: 1 - 315 Church Road | Vasco de Gama Square, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £184 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's Le Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colonial, by the Chinese fishing nets of Fort Cochin, is probably Asia's oldest colonial house, dating back to 1506. Located in the very heart of Fort Cochin, right next to Saint Francis Church, this legendary house is said to have housed the Saint as also Vasco de Gama. After 150 years as the Portuguese Governor's residence, it was one of the very few houses not to have been destroyed when the Dutch took Fort Cochin. It then housed the Dutch Governors for a century and a half, until Jan van Spall sold it to the British in 1795. In turn, they passed it on to the J. Thomas, the renowned tea trader. These five captive centuries of history have been lovingly restored and the hotel is a true living museum. Treasures of art from the colonial past have revived that era, turning Le Colonial into a "Club" and meeting point for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neemrana's Le Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Le Colonial Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing