We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ten Hotel Experiences. Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Ranked #40 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I travel a lot for work and for fun...so I get to visit a lot of properties. Le Colonial is simply fantastic. Some properties are great...some offer wonderful experiences...Le Colonial affords both. I've never felt quite 'at home' as we did here. We asked for a cooking lesson and spent two hours learning with their kitchen crew. If you're coming to Ft. Cochin, stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PursuiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback about Le Colonial is a huge motivator for the Manager and the team. We have conveyed your compliments about the cooking session to the Chef.

It is only the initiated traveller that is able to appreciate true authenticity !

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place was truly a home away from home!!

We (my wife and I) have never felt so comfortable in a hotel as we did here. They classify it as a non-hotel and we now understand why. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then this is probably not the place for you but if you are looking to be completely relaxed, comfortable and feel like you are at home, then we would definitely recommend this place.

Smita, Vipin, Sumesh, Chef and the rest of the team were amazing (an understatement)!! They really made us feel completely at home and nothing was impossible. They catered to our every need. We felt sad when we had to leave!!

Strongly recommend Le Colonial!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jheeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your kind words about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your positive feedback is a huge motivator for the entire team that strives hard to deliver personalised and quality service.

Do venture out to any of the 28 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

An absolute gem of a place. Historical and beautiful, with spacious rooms and perfect decor. Rooms open up to gracious large verandahs. The grounds are minimal, but there is a lovely pool, which is great as it was very hot.
We cannot say enough about the staff. Super friendly, and lovely with the children. The food was superb and service perfect.
This is a lovely place to stay, and I highly recommend it for all travellers.

Room Tip: As it is a small exclusive boutique hotel all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the property and were able to relax and rejuvenate in the pool.

Your appreciation about the thoughtful service and the food has been conveyed to the service team as well as the Chef.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel after our other plans fell through and we were so lucky to arrive at such a lovely place, great food but above all, such friendly staff. The GM and her staff headed by the efficient Vipin, were great to be around. We were looked after in every way and they all really understood how to make their guests feel at home. The day after we left a tree fell down in their garden which we saw on our return to the city. I hope that they have managed to get back on track for the busy Christmas season. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie_r_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana received your positive feedback about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your appreciation about the warm service has been conveyed to the Manager and the entire team at the property.

Everything is back to normal at Le Colonial. We thank you for your concern and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The only downside was that we didn't stay longer. We left wishing we could have stayed longer because not only is this a delightful place to stay but the welcome and the thoughtful care we were shown by Smitta and her team made us feel that we really could have made more of our trip to Cochin. As other reviewers have said, the photos do not do La Colonial justice. The service is first class and the food wonderful. Added to all the delights of the La Colonial you are walking distance from the chinese fishing nets, the Kathekali Dance Theatre and St Francis Church. What more could you wish for - what more can we say other than we will seriously consider Neemrana for future trips to India.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with huge balcony overlooking the garden called Aide de Camp I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zephrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read about your experience. Your generous compliments about the service and the cuisine have been conveyed to the Manager, the Chef, and the service team. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

The 29 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your patronage to Le Colonial and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent three nights at Le Colonial. I liked very much the place. The building and the decoration are most charming and of an excellent taste. The garden is tiny but very well organized. The room was large and very well equiped, with a superb and comfortable veranda. The hotel can not be better located. You both feel protected and immediately available to the exciting life of Kochi which begins at the edge of the hotel. I think there is no better place than Le Colonial to visit Kochi. The service was attentive and discreet. The food was the best I had in Kochi. Le Colonial will rate among the best boutique hotels I have ever visited.
Daniel (France)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielWXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the property. It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay.

Your appreciation about the warm service has been conveyed to the Manager and her team. We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

We thank you for your patronage to Le Colonial and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent three lovely nights at Le Colonial. The decor is wonderful, with polished wood floors and antique furniture. The photos do not do it justice.

The staff were delightful: extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. We enjoyed the breakfasts on the patio, and the pool was a welcome break from the Kerala heat.

We visited in September, and found the off-season rates to be incredibly good value.

We would heartily recommend Le Colonial, and would definitely stay there if we were visiting Kochi again.

Charlie and Jana

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_and_Jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#48 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#68 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Le Colonial

Address: 1 - 315 Church Road | Vasco de Gama Square, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £199 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's Le Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colonial, by the Chinese fishing nets of Fort Cochin, is probably Asia's oldest colonial house, dating back to 1506. Located in the very heart of Fort Cochin, right next to Saint Francis Church, this legendary house is said to have housed the Saint as also Vasco de Gama. After 150 years as the Portuguese Governor's residence, it was one of the very few houses not to have been destroyed when the Dutch took Fort Cochin. It then housed the Dutch Governors for a century and a half, until Jan van Spall sold it to the British in 1795. In turn, they passed it on to the J. Thomas, the renowned tea trader. These five captive centuries of history have been lovingly restored and the hotel is a true living museum. Treasures of art from the colonial past have revived that era, turning Le Colonial into a "Club" and meeting point for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana's Le Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Le Colonial Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing