We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Splendour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the Fort area in a wonderful colonial building. The size of the property makes it feel like a home rather than a hotel and as this is the end of their season we were the only guests. I can't thank the staff and wonderful manageress enough for everything they did to make this a wonderful start to our Keralan holiday. Having stayed previously in the Malabar House many years ago, I much preferred the atmosphere of the Le Colonial, as it is not like a hotel.

We had the Jan Van Spall room and as I was travelling with my mother this was perfect. The room is huge with two antique but very comfortable double beds. The decor has a wonderful mix of antiques and a lovely large bathroom. The small terrace with a lovely view across the swimming pool was sadly not really put to good use by us, but would be nice to use if the weather was cooler. It was 41 degrees the day we arrived. The air conditioning in the room was very efficient. They also offered us the choice of dinner outside or the air conditioned dining room and we used both during our stay.

We thoroughly enjoyed afternoon tea on the terrace and soft drinks around the pool. The pool is not huge and there are deck chairs for sitting in, which was fine for us.

The dinners we had were both excellent. We left the choice up to the chef and were provided with a range of curries and they also accommodated my mother's love of prawns by doing another separate additional dish of grilled prawns. Desserts were fabulous and the chocolate mousse was better than any I have eaten anywhere. The dining room was comfortable and has some wonderful old photos including a splendid Cartier-Bresson photo of Nehru.

The position of the hotel next to St Francis cathedral puts you in an excellent position for wandering around Cochin and for sight seeing. We were very sad to leave when are two night stay was over.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front including Jan Van Spall are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about Le Colonial.

It is heartening to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Jan Van Spall room.

As you are aware, at Neemrana, we make an effort to maintain a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities, and it is always encouraging when our guests can sense and appreciate the effort. It is therefore, all the more delightful to read about your experience as this is exactly what we strive to achieve.

Your kind compliments about the warm and personalised service by the staff and about the cuisine have been conveyed to the team and are a source of great motivation.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is the type of hotel that I personally adore. A place that has character, personality and that offers all the comforts of home. Le Colonial it is!! Great location, very attentive staff, specially, the two young men that work around the hotel, serving meals, drinks, and attending to all your needs. A hotel with delicious food, comfortable rooms and a lovely pool. What else can anyone ask for!

The hotel is decorated with colonial style furniture and interesting memorabilia.

We stayed at "Major Petrie" Room, excellent in every way, with a wonderful four poster bed, sitting area, armoire for your clothes, a desk and lots of colonial pictures. The bathroom was large and lovely, with both a separate shower and bathtub, double sink area, with lots of counter space and quality toiletries.
The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facilities, not a great deal, as they had very refreshing lassis, which we ordered, while enjoying the very inviting swimming pool.
We had dinner both evenings at the hotel. The first was seafood and the second Indian. Both very good! Breafkast was also excellent and plenty, with coffee/tea, fruit, yogurt, eggs cooked to order and/or dosas.
The location of Le Colonial is perfect...close to the Chinese fishing nets and to shops, cafes and churches. We spent two, very enjoyable days/nights, at this beautiful boutique hotel. Highly recommended.

Do not miss the opportunity to attend a Kathakali performance...unique and different. Make sure that you attend the make-up sesssion prior to the show.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Major Petrie room. Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and your feedback is a huge motivator for the entire team.

While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemranaa
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Arrived at the Le Colonial and was greeted with cold drinks and wet towels. We where given a room on the ground floor facing the main road. the room was very clean and we where so tired we decided to get our heads down for a long needed rest. We found this practically impossible, there was a constant sound of horns blasting from the main road. As much as we tried this seemed to be a major problem. We asked the staff if they could move us to a room with a lot less noise and they where very helpful and moved us upstairs to a room at the front of the building. Throughout our 3 night stay, the staff where very attentive and could not do enough for us, there is lots of old army memorabilia and pictures for you to spend a good few hours mulling over, The wife booked herself a few Massages and this was done in our room, very comfortable stay and constant supply of clean towels and breakfast was lovely. We spent our days visiting the old port and the chinese fishing nets still used today, also the Dutch Palace, Synagogues, St Francis Church, Santa Cruz Basilica and the Greenex Theater for a fantastic Culture Show and famous dance forms of Kerala. We also went on a Cookery Course with Nimmy and Paul booked in advance as she is well known in Kerala for her cooking skills. The 3 nights spent in Cochin was lovely and more then enough time to get round the area to visit all the places mentioned. The hotel was found to be very comfortable, staff where lovely and rooms where clean and tidy, breakfast was also lovely and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs at the front of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trackerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Le Colonial.

Your appreciation about the warm welcome and personalised hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast experience and were able to discover the nearby attractions as well.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was the first stop on our trip and we arrived exhausted and slept most of the day. Check in, performed on one of the sofas, was swift, with hot towels and a cooling drink.
The initial room we were checked into was quite noisy. Tipu sultan. It backed onto the road and the constant beeping of horns, a past time for all drivers here, disturbed us. This in fairness may have been because it was during the day. We asked to be moved and were put into another room immediately facing the front of the property, it was the only room available as they were quite full. it was much smaller, with a compact shower room and no tub but had a balcony and we found it met our needs. The noise turned out to be minimal here.
The attention to detail regarding guest comfort it very good. A lovely individual boxed set of good quality toiletries, including shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc. Towels are of good quality. Plug adapters at all points. Be prepared to drink beer and wine only from the bar. The latter is expensive but that is the same everywhere. Breakfast was great should you wish to try traditional Indian, they will oblige. They ran out of English breakfast tea but had a large selection of other teas.
The hotel itself is an old colonial Portuguese property, rescued by the owners who have a string of individual properties scattered over India.
We ate here every night, apart from one, which was prearranged, otherwise we would have ate in. The food is excellent and they cater for all palates. The chef is happy to let you watch, while he prepares your traditional Indian dinner, should you choose to see how it is executed and cooked. The snacks offered on the menu through the day are cooked to order and excellent, we ate tempura prawns, chilli and sesame prawns and the cheese packoras which were outstanding.
I had a traditional massage on two of the days, arranged by the team. This was performed on the balcony of our room on a sturdy bed by a mature and very experienced lady.
The staff take personal responsibility of ensuring your stay is all it can be and will anticipate your needs. The manager Smita, is charming, intuitive and extremely knowledgable, she is without a doubt an asset to the le colonial. Tap into her, she is a wealth of knowledge. Her grasp and understanding of English is perfect, as is her cultural awareness of European travellers needs.
The waiters, Sumesh and Vipin command of English is very good, picking up some French while I was there. Nothing is too much trouble.
Their concept is offering a home from home and they certainly achieve their mission statement. I would guess the ethos is ... If I was staying, what would I like it to be and how would I liked to be looked after.
In summary this hotel is recommended if you want a personable home from home stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to kick-start your holiday with Neemrana at the Le Colonial.

Your appreciation about the smooth check-in experience has been conveyed to the team.

It is great to know that you enjoyed the guest amenities provided as well as the massage arranged by the hotel.

The Chef is delighted to know that you relished his preparations, including the seafood.

We thank you for your generous compliments on our customer services. It gives us the confidence that we are moving in the right direction. Your comments will not only motivate the team, but will also drive the entire team to achieve better standards.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked for two nights at Le Colonial,it was such a great place I booked two more nights to end my holiday in style and comfort .The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, understated but chic. There is a nice pool in the grounds perfect for cooling off .Le Colonial is a small Hotel which has a true 'boutique' feel and it is like home from home. The staff are extremely attentive but also discreet. If you stay, eating there is a must. The chef cooks great food to your liking ,delicious ! Hoping to go back again !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SW11comment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the team. The Chef is delighted to receive your compliments about the cuisine.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

You definitley get the feeling that you are in an historic house as soon as you walk inside Le Colonial. The stories about the place abound, along with old photographs and documents on the walls, and though it's all been updated to modern standards, the place has "good bones" as our architect friends would say, and they kept as much of the original wood, detailing and fixtures as possible.

We stayed in the Viceroy room on the second floor - which is huge and has a large verandah - and our kids stayed in Tipi Sultan on the ground floor (very nice, but not on part with ours).

The manager - Smita - is a lovely woman, and there are 2 young guys (I don't know their names unfortunately) who are the front staff you interact with the most. All of them are incredibly friendly and professional and will do anything to help you out. We had so much laundry that we needed to get it to an actual laundramat. They called a guy to come pick it up from us and had it back in 24 hours - very clean and well pressed. We wanted to go see a kathakali show and they bought tickets for us so we could just show up without having to worry about it in advance. They arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport who we liked so much we had him take us to Allepey and back.

Our reservation included breakfast and one "major" meal (lunch or dinner). The dinner was excellent. You basically let them know if you wanted Indian or Western - we went with Indian both nights - and they brought out numerous dishes, begining with a delicious soup (first night broccoli, second, pumpkin) and continuing with a lot of options served family style. Calamari, prawns, chicken, eggplant, dal, rice, papadam....So good. Breakfast was also very good. A plate a fruit for each person, eggs any way, toast, muffins, fresh-squeezed juice and homemade muffins. One day we sort of forgot about eating lunch until it was late afternoon - around 3:00. The staff told us we could try a cafe for some simple food but that most of the restaurants would be closed. Our kids had homework to do and we debated what to do and they quickly said "or we could just bring you some sandwiches and some fried pakora?" Perfect. They whipped that up for us and refused to charge us for them saying "those are just snacks."

Oh - and the location is hard to beat. Right next door to St. Francis and no more than a block from the Chinese fishing nets. TA has the wrong location on the map. Plug in St Francis if you want to see where it actually is.

We loved our time at Le Colonial and would certainly return or recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Viceroy is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeeTheWorld109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay in the Viceroy room and were satisfied with the the arrangements made by the hotel team.

Your appreciation about the warm and courteous hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and her team.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef and his team. The Chef is delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed his preparations, including the seafood and the breakfast experience.

Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here recently at the start of our Kerelan tour and it was delighful.As soon as we walked in we felt at home,everyone was so friendly and genuinely warm.The room was very large as was the bathroom which had the biggest shower I've ever seen,all decorated in colonial style.Lovely garden, a welcoming oasis after sightseeing.Completely understand why they call it a non hotel,it feels like home.We only had breakfast and some snacks which were good and after reading other reviews, wish we'd eaten there.The staff were lovely,on the morning of my Birthday they had laid the table with flowers and presented me with a cake,we were leaving that morning.I was very sad to leave and would like to revisit in the future.There are several good looking hotels in Fort Cochi but I could never imagine staying anywhere else and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsYnysmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Le Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Le Colonial heritage hotel in Fort Cochin.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay at the property and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience too.

Your appreciative words about the service have been conveyed to the Manager and the team. It is rewarding to learn that you had a memorable birthday.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#44 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#24 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#100 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Le Colonial

Address: 1 - 315 Church Road | Vasco de Gama Square, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £184 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's Le Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Colonial, by the Chinese fishing nets of Fort Cochin, is probably Asia's oldest colonial house, dating back to 1506. Located in the very heart of Fort Cochin, right next to Saint Francis Church, this legendary house is said to have housed the Saint as also Vasco de Gama. After 150 years as the Portuguese Governor's residence, it was one of the very few houses not to have been destroyed when the Dutch took Fort Cochin. It then housed the Dutch Governors for a century and a half, until Jan van Spall sold it to the British in 1795. In turn, they passed it on to the J. Thomas, the renowned tea trader. These five captive centuries of history have been lovingly restored and the hotel is a true living museum. Treasures of art from the colonial past have revived that era, turning Le Colonial into a "Club" and meeting point for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neemrana's Le Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Le Colonial Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing