We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to our India trip”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden
Ranked #4 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful start to our India trip”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is definitely worth the slightly higher price than other hotels in the area. We stayed here for our first three nights in India, and it was lovely to relax and have the time to acclimatise in such beautiful surroundings. We were picked up from the airport, and so no worries with finding it, although it is so secluded that I can see how it might be hard! The rooms were beautiful - we had the family room with a four poster and an alcove bed with a beautiful mural.
It's an easy walk into old Fort Cochin, although there are some lovely restaurants nearby that were recommended.
All the staff were amazingly helpful, and made us feel thoroughly welcome throughout our whole stay.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateC205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    45
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
135
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We splashed out a little staying here as it was the last stop on our trip but we could have no complaints because we had a wonderful stay. The place has been beautifully designed you can see the Scandinavian influence in the architecture from the delightful Norwegian hostess. The whole place has a cool, designy feel about it. Also the breakfast was excellent and the coffee superb.
Cracking local restaurants to choose from as well, and all rooms are equipped with fridges where you can cool the beers (There is no bar). I liked the towels they provided too. Bathrooms were sensational.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms with the day beds/designs on walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the secret garden hotel. We were supposed to stay for two nights but as our son got chicken pox we had yo extend our stay to six nights. The staff were so helpful in recommending good restaurants and organised a car for a day trip to anthripally falls. We felt so lucky to be staying at the hotel while our son recovered from his illness. The family suite was so spacious and it was great to have a veranda that overlooked the pool. The hotel is around a 10 minute walk from the centre but we liked the fact it was tucked away and felt all the more relaxed by because it was such a quiet location. I highly recommend this place for the beautifully appointed rooms, wonderful staff and quiet location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LondonPookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place is an absolute gem. We stayed there on our final night in Kerala before flying home and it was perfect. As other reviewers have said, it is hard to find (our poor tuk tuk driver had to stop and ask for directions about 10 times) but apart from that I could not find fault. Our room was gorgeous with a huge four poster bed, well air conditioned and with an excellent bathroom (read clean, hot water, very modern). There is also a pool which is small but clean and very refreshing. The staff were amazing and they bent over backwards to help us, even letting us have a shower before we left for the airport at midnight. It's not too far from the main old town and if that's too far a walk in the heat then there are a couple of places to eat nearby. Oh, and I nearly forgot the breakfast. They have a machine where you can make your own waffles - need I say more??

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We liked staying here. First thing to note is that they hotel is a 10min walk from the centre of Fort Cochin and it took our taxi driver a while to find it down a maze of small streets. Once we arrived we were made very welcome. The staff were great, and our room was large, clean and comfortable. They serve a good breakfast of home made bread and jam. There is a small swimming pool to cool off in. We spent a few days here, and really quite enjoyed walking through the streets of Cochin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a fantastic place , it is even better that I anticipated. A great place for a solo traveler, very safe area and near to good restaurants, shops ( Anohki and Fab India ) and interesting buildings and sights to see ( though a lot of Fort Cochin sights are very touristy...) Easy to walk out in the evening and enjoy the balmy weather. The rooms are fabulous, straight out of "Interiors" magazine( you can tell the joint owner is a trained Architect), wonderful furniture and interesting textiles and pictures. The staff were all lovely ( and I have to say the best looking...) Thora and Faizal are also very interesting and helpful. Make sure you see their book , which shows how they bought and built the hotel, using all local labour and traditional techniques. Its magic !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEAMSHIP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We love Secret Garden - third time here. It is in a quiet back street away from the business of Fort Cochin. Breakfasts European style - home-made bread and jam, fruit and yogurt, waffles and very good coffee. Staff will bring you tea/coffee at any time of day. Faizal (joint owner) can organize anything - just ask.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Property: Secret Garden
Address: 11 / 745, Bishop Garden Lane-2 | Pattalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Secret Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An indulgent heritage guesthouse in Fort Cochin that offers finer accommodations than any home stay or hotel within a mid range budget; maybe better than what you can find even in the luxury bracket! SECRET GARDEN A SMALL TRANQUIL HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing