We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #65 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to Allepay.

Great little place and the rooms were perfect. The bathrooms were pretty cool too!

Breakfast in the morning was great too and the staff could not do more for you.

If you are in Kochin, would recommend that you stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    137
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
87
211
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and i stayed at the Tea Bungalow for only one night , and were very impressed with the atmosphere within the walls of the hotel. The church"s temple outside our window made the experience even better . The staff were very friendly and diligently eager to serve us.On our late arrival back from dinner we were still served a delicious desert to our room which was followed in the morning by a custom made breakfast by the poolside .I would not hesitate in recommending The Tea Bungalow to any one wanting to experience a special part of Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: we were moved to a higher floor which immediately made our stay more enjoyablee
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymkalyani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Me and my wife had the occasion to stay at Tea Bungalow on Jan 21st. We were recommended this place by a friend of mine who was very appreciative of the services offered, The rooms were colonial style and everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The food was good; the staff helpful and very attentive. We had an enjoyable time there and would gladly recommend it to anyone, especially to those interested in staying in an old style colonial bungalow

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Param65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place is a little oasis in busy/noisy Fort Kochi...we arrived late at night from a long flight and the 90 min. ride from the airport only to drive through the entrance and be met by an intimately lit, warm inviting hotel.Whilst in the taxi, Francis, the manager, had called our driver to see if we needed any dinner. The kitchen was closed, but they would accommodate our needs - that personifies Francis and his caring for and of his guests. The service and help from the rest of his staff such as Anthony and Anil was as thorough. The rooms were quiet, clean, well appointed and ample.The bathrooms had all the amenities necessary. The outdoor pool, patio area while small, is a very pleasant place to have dinner and spend some time in.Our breakfasts were enjoyable with an diversified menu and copious quantities on wonderful masala tea. Dinner was pleasant but average. Should we be in Fort Kochi again, we would not hesitate to stay again at the Tea Bungalow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingcanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genova
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights. The structure is very nice and clean. I had there a dinner too, sea food based. The food is not very typical but the taste is very good because it matches the European habits.
The position is perfect. During my stay I had some problem with the air conditioning and the Wi-Fi, but the personnel worked promptly to solve the inconvenience.
The most interesting thing of the hotel is the personnel very kind and available to help you.

Room Tip: Cochin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariangiolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Highly recommend the Tea Bungalow! Clean rooms, big modern bathrooms, immaculately manicured private grounds, and great food. An oasis in the heart of the bustling Fort Kochi. The most wonderful part of my Tea Bungalow experience was the people and the great service. The team aimed to please - helping arrange excursions and doing everything they could to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Thanks to Francis, Jackson and the rest of the team! If you visit Fort Kochi - you must stay at the Tea Bungalow!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip to India.
The hotel was converted about 3 or 4 years ago and has retailed large bedrooms and bathrooms, and many large communal areas in the main house. Really nice bathroom off the bedroom (we stayed upstairs in the ‘Galle’ room). The pool area is nice and the pool is clear and clean. We ate in the hotel 2 of the 3 nights, and the food was good. Breakfast is made to order.
The manager was attentive and checked with all residents at points during the stay if everything was ok and if not sorted any issues out there and then. I would recommend this hotel if staying in Fort Cochin. Our air conditioning stopped working a couple of times, but he did arrange for it to be repaired straight away.
Only comment about what could be improved is that outside courtyard area at the rear of the property. As in most of Fort Cochin, there are a lot of crows, and from a hygene point of view, there were a lot around in the outside tables area. Perhaps a net (like the outside café of the Brunton Boatyard) may help. The loungers/ covers for the loungers had a lot of ‘bird dirt’ on so could do with properly cleaning or replacing more often.

Room Tip: In the main building, upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#76 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
XL Homestay
XL Homestay
#50 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing