We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy, colonial home-away-from-home.”
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #62 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A classy, colonial home-away-from-home.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent two nights at The Tea Bungalow, using it as a base from which to explore the many delights of Fort Kochi. The property is unique in that it's small and intimate enough to feel like a (very large) home yet large and spread out enough to still afford you plenty or privacy.

The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Wooden flooring, high ceilings, four poster beds- the whole colonial shebang, so to speak. The bathrooms are pretty huge and very inviting.

What really made our stay though was the service. The manager, Mr. K.P Francis exudes old world gentility and warmth and always went out of his way to offer us helpful tips, suggestions or just a friendly conversation. His team were all uniformly polite and helpful and really made us feel at home.

The Tea Bungalow is not located on the main tourist strip by the beach however, but it's a short 7-8 minute walk away so this is hardly a deal breaker.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay. Highly recommended, especially for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor of the main building. We got Galle (all the rooms are named after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnThangaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    137
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
87
211
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

They are very flexible and accommodating with requests . I wanted to check out late and they didn't charge as it was lean season . The staff are friendly smiling and that is how it should be in a small boutique property. The front desk speaks good English and communicates well. And property is cosy and well maintained and clean bathrooms !
Definitely would recommend eating there as well .

Room Tip: Book rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abilash1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved this place as soon as I called them to make a booking for a weekend getaway with my husband, they are a very accommodating and allowed for an early check in and gave us the best room for regular rates.
Highly recommend the Mango pancakes here.
The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is well stocked with big mirrors, toilet papers and a hair dryer.
Only downside is that one has to wait atleast 7 minutes with the shower on to get hot water but having said that, once that happens it is pure bliss!
its a bit on the pricey side but definitely worth it.
Loved it

Room Tip: I suggest the premium room for privacy and a balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at Tea Bungalow. There were a few changes since the first, which to my surprise, made for an even better experience.

The reception is now located at the front entrance. This means you are greeted by warm, welcoming staff each time you arrive.

I stayed in am the Galleo room both times and found it to be a spacious, comfortable room.

Since it was off season, it was a quiet stay. I enjoyed visiting with staff and the manager, Mr. Francis. He gave me many suggestions as to cutting costs for future holidays. I found his advice most helpful.

Breakfast was delightful and more than adequate.

One change I noticed and missed from last year was fresh flowers in the rooms (and petals on the bed nightly). While it wasn't a big change, I did miss this extra touch. It added to the ambiance.

My only suggestion is to improve the wifi. It cuts out a lot and had a weak signal in my room.

Other than that, I enjoyed my stay. I found the staff to be attentive and helpful. They even secured my excess baggage while I left for a few days to go to Thekkady. Going the extra mile to help a guest is really where one gains loyal guests. This stood out as a bonus that made up for the little things I've mentioned.

Tip straight from Mr. Francis - always book directly with the hotel. That's where the best rates can be had.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was the last hotel on our trip and it was very pleasant. The rooms are very large as the bathrooms and very well presented. Meals were a little expensive, but not breathtakingly so. The main problem being as we were there in the low season many of the dishes on the menu were not available but my wife and I managed to find enough we liked. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor above the reception area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friday_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 with my fiancée and we had the most relaxing experience. The staff was so hospitable and welcoming we felt right at home from the beginning. The food was so fresh and delicious, we ate every meal we could there! We had the best room there the Cochin room with the view (balcony) of the pool and outdoor seating of the restaurant.

This hotel is perfectly situated if you enjoy investigating the sites and sounds! Many attractions (Dutch Palace, Chinese Fishing nets, the beach etc) are near by and are a safe walking or Tok-tok (taxi) distance away. It was the only place in India that we felt completely comfortable walking around (without being bothered or run over by cars!). There are lots of things to see! We also took advantage of the Ayruveda massage place close by to the hotel. I don't remember the name of it, but the hotel had recommended it and it was a great recommendation!

This place is perfect for couples, family, alone... basically anyone. All your needs are met. Weloved our room! It was so beautiful and upscale. We had WiFi, a flat screen TV, AC and just the decor of the room was perfect.

We learned that some expat engineers working on projects in Cochin had organized with their work to stay at the Tea Bungalow instead of the more commonly used hotels (impersonal, large). We can tell you those Italian expats had it right!

Room Tip: The Cochin room is the best room, it private (no neighbours) and has a beautiful balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCanadianGirl_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

An tastefully decorated hotel in a historic building just outside the town centre. Rooms are spacious and generally of a high standard, each with its own nautical theme (we stayed in the 'Mauritius' room). Touches to be expected from an expensive hotel were evident: Bathrobes and slippers, adequate bathroom supplies (including shaving kit, dental kit and hairdryer), etc. In addition, the hotel has a nice swimming pool.

However, at normal rates, I would deem the hotel overpriced. (As we visited out of peak season, we were able to negotiate an off-season rate at quite a significant discount).

For an expensive, 4* hotel, service levels were not quite up to scratch e.g. only one waiter covering the breakfast shift and delays or errors with certain requests. This may, however, be due to fewer staff being employed in quieter periods. (Here it must be noted that staff were at all times friendly, courteous and willing to assist.) In addition, the WiFi was patchy and temperamental, we at times had difficulty getting hot water in our shower and breakfast, while adequate, was not what I would expect from a hotel pitched at this level. The hotel could also do with an overall 'spruce up' and small details (marks on towels, a stain/patch of damp on our bedroom wall) detract from the overall experience.

All in all we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. However, I would have felt very disappointed if I had paid full room rates. During peak season (at full rates), I would suggest comparing a number of different hotels in the same price range before making a decision.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AllyVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
XL Homestay
XL Homestay
#49 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing