We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They went above and beyond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
1 review
“They went above and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Comfortable place with a huge bathroom and wonderful "monsoon" shower head that is very relaxing. I spent just one night there on my last night in Cochi but would highly recommend this place to even the most discerning traveler. The manager even went with me to the airport in the taxi to ensure i arrived safely. That is Indian hospitality!

Susan in San Diego, CA USA

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiantraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    135
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
87
207
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Warm welcome, excellent service, and large stylish rooms ( we stayed in "Goa", which had a huge bathroom with great shower). The lighting in the room was excellent for general use and reading, and even had nightlights. The food was very good and the pool refreshing. The location is very central. This new hotel deserves to succeed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

My wife,friend and myself stayed three nights in the Tea Bungalow. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are of a high standard and the staff could not have been more helpful. The streets of cochin are quite complex and the Tea Bungalow is not yet widely known so do take the address of the hotel to show rickshaw drivers.
We hada marvellous holiday in Kerala and staying at the Tea Bungalow was one of the highlights.
Sir Alistair Graham. UK

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

Clean and attentative service. Bed a little bit hard for my liking. Rooms well maintained. Not a great deal of vegi food on the daily menus but staff will make you something ad-hoc. Would recommend for a couple of days - no more as the location is quite central and with that you have to expect some noise and the usual pollutants.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derryaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed at the Tea Bungalow in the middle of our 3 week holiday in India. We booked it as our special treat and it was all that the reviews had said. Great position in a quiet area. Our room was very spacious with a huge bathroom. It has been beautifully fitted out with a great deal of care and attention to detail. Our 11 and 13 year old thought it was heaven. We enjoyed the pool area - small but really lovely and tranquil. The breakfast was great - catered to everyone in our family - you can't ask for more than that. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Vipin and Seema who we seemed to have the most to do with - they were great. The service was an excellent standard. If we ever get the opportunity to go back to Fort Cochin we will definitely being staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in this little palace and all reviews are right, this is a gem! We stayed in the room called Goa which is spacious and has a very big bathroom with and very nice shower. When you stay in this room you have to like some background music because one of the speakers of the hotel's stereo is beside the open room of the bathroom so you hear music when you are there and people on the terrace. When you close the door the music is almost gone. Restaurant is good and service excellent.
If you leave your room you immediately enter the restaurant which can give some noise at night but we experienced no loud noise. Location is perfect, quiet surroundings and very close to all things to see and the ferry to the "new" part of the city. This hotel was the last one of our 2,5 week trip through Kerala and we found it one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I found the tea bungalow last minute on Trip Advisor and the rave reviews were spot on. The rooms very very stylishly done - still in keeping with the building, but modern and had everything one could need. court yard and pool area, although small was very tranquil and pool was very refreshing.
great location, great staff and great price - would highly recommend

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank WildOl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#66 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#7 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing