We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
263
150
27
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
150
27
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fort cochin boutique hotel huge bathroom pool area is small hotel colonial building old colonial no alcohol first floor we loved our stay lovely room chinese fishing nets main building rooms are spacious hot water pleasant stay india
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2017

The staff at Tea Bungalow are very efficient, kind, friendly and helpful. They cannot do enough for their guests. The hotel is small, built in 1912 and recently renovated, with the large rooms which were the norm when the house was originally built. Because of their high ceilings, the rooms can feel a little stark and some more bright colours and better lighting would make a big difference. But, don’t let that deter you from staying there. It has a charmingly designed swimming pool and the food is good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Knockmany212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I recently stayed at the Tea Bungalow for two nights. It's a small, pleasant medium class hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, within easy walking distance of Kochi's harbour front. Our room wasn't huge but was secluded and had everything you needed. The hotel's small garden area, with pool, is an oasis of calm in this busy town. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly - we didn't eat there in the evenings. I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are all in "bungalows" in the grounds.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philoxenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is cute. The rooms are well decorated and airy. Location is fairly close to all key tourist attractions. The pool side restaurant makes a lovely place to relax.

The à la carte food isn’t great and breakfast is rather basic. Also there is no WiFi in the room. If you’re lucky enough you could get some poor signal in the reception area - far from ideal when you need to plan your itinerary for the next coming days.

Do not pay full price as it wouldn’t be worth it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aurélie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We chose the Tea Bungalow as it looked like a charming colonial style hotel full of character and we were not disappointed. The staff were delightful, helpful, friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. The hotel is about 15 mins walk or a tuk-tuk to the Chinese Nets, St Francis Church, restaurants and cafes. A tuk-tuk ride away from Mattancherry, Jew Street and synagogue. It was quiet and set in lovely gardens. Breakfast was in the courtyard by the pool and delicious. We ate at Tea Bungalow on the first night as my friend was arriving later in the evening. Meal was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel arranged pick-ups from the airport to the hotel - all very smooth. I loved this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ros N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We chose the Tea Bungalow as it looked like a lovely historical building and because of its location in Fort Cochin. It met our needs on both fronts.

We booked directly through the hotel - which necessitated an international funds transfer of the deposit, but that was not difficult to arrange, as we had done this on prevfious occasions.

Thye hotel staff arranged a transfer from Allepey to Fort Kochin and this went smoothly.

On arrival at the hotel, the reception person was friendly and efficient. Our room (Heritage Premium Room for the 3 nights ) was on the first floor (please be aware there is no elevator) overlooking the pool (no disturbance) and verdant garden. The room itself was clean and beautifully appointed with timber furniture in keeping with the heritage of the hotel.

The included breakfast - toast, fruit and eggs was delicious.

The location was great - walking distance to Fort Kochi beach promenade, (the must see) Chinese fishing nets, St. Francis Church, Santa Cruz Basilica and many good restaurants and cafes.

Definitely a highlight of our stay in India.

Room Tip: We had the Heritage Premium Room (we think Cochin Room) with our own private balcony / anteroom - recommend this if available
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AussiesLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews