We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm after busy Kochi”
Review of Heritage Methanam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Methanam
Ranked #116 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm after busy Kochi”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

After a night in a small, noisy sweat box in a cheap hotel in Fort Kochi I found Hotel Heritage Methanam on Hotels.com. I immediately changed hotels for thje better!
Hotel Methanam is about 16 kilometres out of Fort Kochi; 150 -200 rupees in a rickshaw.
It was perfect - big room with high ceiling and heritage surrounds. A great bed tops off the comfort. There is a small pool in which you can cool off whilst looking at old Chinese fishing nets in the waters near the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the hotel restaurant provides tasty dishes - especially local fish curries. It provided me with a comfortable, friendly and cool last 2 nights in South India.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at the Heritage Methanam for three nights recently. The small hotel was immaculately clean ,had amazingly attentive staff and was very quiet. Although about 10 kms from Kochi it was very easy to get into town if one wished ( a tuk-tuk cost 100 rupees each way).The hotel stay was at the end of our busy Indian tour and was ideal for relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glmurraylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Heritage Methanam is not in Kochi but a nearby village Kumbhalangi! This was something not informed to us and somehow I was informed that this was in Fort Cochin area. Well though the stay started on this note, I was pleasantly surprised to experience the home like stay! We were the only occupants in the hotel and the hotel staff gave us all the attention! The food was excellent and the location was beautiful. The favourite part was sitting in the lawns for the meal overlooking the waters, Chinese nets and the coconut trees!

The place is well maintained and the village is nice. I would recommend the hotel to have facilities like drop facility to city and airport as the village is atleast 10 kms away.

I would certainly visit the place when I am looking for some quiet time away from the bustling city life.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Distance from city and other spots!
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Satya_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I visted Methanam first of this month ,for a leisure trip i was ther with my family,,it just astound me.Really the atmosphere around the hotel was good to appease every one.The architecectural beauty of this hotel is awsome .The hotel and its surroundings shows the incredible beauty of kerala .It was my first kerala visit and its really a memorable event for me and to my family,Also the staffs are well consious about there hospitality ,and to keep every where hygiene,my daughter also like this place,in simple words more than a hotel it provides a homely atmosphere,really a wonderful experience for us,actully this hotel had a traditional beauty of its own rather than a artificialy made one,this hotel had a back water view and we are able to see the chinnese net and common people using it,,They also provide us delicious foods regarding to our tastes.calm and cool surrounding and the evening breeze refresh us defanitly if i hav one more chance to visit kerala i wil prefer this hotel,,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleberdcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
3.1 mi away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#67 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Presidency Hotel
Presidency Hotel
#160 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
19.1 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
464 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Methanam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Methanam

Property: Heritage Methanam
Address: Kumbalangi,Perumpadappu Road, | Kumbalanghi, Kochi (Cochin) 682007, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#23 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Methanam 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Methanam is located at the back waters of Cochin. Travel back about a 100 years in time to a traditional mansion by the back waters of Cochin “Heritage Methanam” romantically linked with a network of exciting waterways. Exquisite interiors, well furnished rooms complete with new settings make Heritage Methanam one of the best heritage hotels in the state. The resort adds the best architecture award winner of 2009 to its account. This hotel is ideally located in the midst of complete tranquility and peace. 06 deluxe rooms and 01 master rooms are splendid in its interior settings and magnificent views. The rooms have premium facilities and the bath rooms are marvelous. The other facilities include swimming pool, internet, doctor on call, travel desk, Multi cuisine ocean view restaurant, laundry service, travel guidance, traditional art form performances on request etc. Distance from airport:-Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is directly accessible to the Cochin International Airport. It is located at a distance of 35 kilometers from the hotel's location. Distance from station:-The location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is about 10 kilometers from the Ernakulam Railway station. Distance from bus stand:-Kumbalanghi Bus Stand is just about 200 mtr away from the location of Hotel. Distance from sea port:- Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is located at a distance of 5 kilometers from the Cochin Sea Port. Tourist attractions in Cochin (Kochi) are within the close proximity of Heritage Methanam Cochin. Jewish synagogue in Mattanchery, the Dutch Palace which has interesting murals and architecture, Dutch Cemetery, Bolgatty Palace,Hill Palace Museum, UN approved tourism village Kumbalanghi, Cherai beach are nearby tourist spots. The main attractions of the state are not very far from the location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi). Munnar hill station (03 hrs by road), Athirampilly waterfalls (02hrs by road), Alappuzha back water cruise (01 Hr by road), Thekkady wild life (04hrs by road), Kovalam beach (04 hrs by road), Kumarakom bird sanctuary ( 02 hrs by road). The location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) has helped it to gain a lot of popularity amongst the travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Methanam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Methanam Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing