We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, perfect location with pool in garden, disappointing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Tower House
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We booked the Suite room for 4 adults as their reservation agent confirmed that there were two queen-size beds and the room was large enough for 4 adults. However once we opened the door, right away we understood that it would be tight, so we asked for an additional bed to be brought in, which after some negotiation we managed to receive free of charge. So beside the small "double" beds, the room was very nice with furniture matching the historic feel of the house itself. The bathroom was large, and provided enough hot water for all of us. The garden was peaceful, and the swimming pool most welcome to refresh. However the breakfast was terrible, not at all in line with the expectations one has from the Neemrana's. The location could not be any better, right across from the square where the Chinese nests are in Fort Cochin. Staff was helpful to book backwater tours. So over all positive experience, but improvements need to be done regarding breakfast in order to match the Neemrana's name!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was real surprise. This is one of th best hotels I have ever stayed, a heritage house and takes you back 200 yr! Felt royal, nice staff and huge rooms. disappointed as there is no bar here and food is just basic. Good location. But, overall, it was a great experience and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

- Great location - very close to the sea front and the Chinese fishing nets
- Good sized room. Very effective air conditioning and fan - which is important as it does feel humid by the coast
- Most key facilities you would expect in the room, including a bath, although the safe was in reception and there was no TV or fridge. Room even came with its own geko to eat the mosquitoes.
- Only had breakfast at the hotel which was ok by local standards, but nothing special
- Staff service was average
- Swimming pool and sun deck were fine, although all the crows in the area were annoying (for context crows are everywhere in this part of Kochi)
- Although it is expensive by local standards, dinner at the neighbouring Harbour Inn was very nice.
- Overall this hotel was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaz_n_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Tower House is right next to the Chinese Fishing nets and other hotels and all the main sights in Fort Kochi are within walking distance. The location is great facing the sea and if you get one of the upstairs rooms with sea view the pleasant sea breeze is cooling and pleasant. We had the Mossel room which had a large double bed and ample space. The house has a musty smell to it as its all wooden and there is less ventilation if the windows are closed but the old feel to it is very quaint. The pool was just great!
The staff was very courteous and helpful and the breakfast was quite filling with fruits, juice, criossants, bread and eggs , we had idlis as well on the first day with coffee or tea as requested.
I would recommend this hotel as I did shop around some of the others around the same area and for low season they still had much higher rates and I found the Tower House very reasonable. It is definitely good value. They have a restaurant too but we didn't try it. The free wifi was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Nice, decent hotel. Staff was very friendly, and rooms were clean and well maintained. I stayed in the Moens room right near the street. Room had plenty of windows, a bit too many - so make sure the curtains are closed at night! I stayed here at the beginning of my Kerala trip and later at the end, and I appreciated it more the second time around for sure! Only complaint would be the mosquito infestation in the rooms at night. Yes, they may put an oil thing on, but that is not enough depending on the season. Other hotels I traveled to would smoke the mosquitoes out, and I asked them to do the same, and they made sure it was done. The breakfast they serve is okay, however they provide standard western fare, so don't go expecting a full South Indian breakfast. Overall, I was pleased with the experience!

Room Tip: Sea view room was nice, but noisy in the AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The tower house is an excellent place to explore Fort Kochi.
The hotel itself is very grand and wonderfully decorated. Very stylish.
The rooms are large and airy.
We asked for a seaview room in advance and whilst we didn't quite get that (you can't see the sea and the busy square and road is right outside your room), we did get a room with plenty of light and a luxurious feel.
The pool is fantastic and very well looked after. Perfect for lazy afternoon, although I'd worry in tourist season since there aren't many deckchairs.
The only drawback to this hotel is the food and drink.
Breakfast IS very good- proper coffee, omelettes, Dhosa, fresh fruit and juice etc. However, we had read disappointed reviews on here before we went and we decided to just go straight for it and ate on our first night. We were off-season, but there was no atmosphere at all. As written here previously, there is no alcohol. The main disappointment was the flavour and quality of the curry. My wife's Kochi fish curry was awful... flavourless (that is tricky for a curry!) and mine wasn't much better. It's such a shame and a waste, we didn't eat there again during the week we stayed, but there is a wealth of great food in the area for all budgets (the cheapest is often the best!)
The first floor lounge is so grossly underused it's such a shame- we would have loved to have had drinks there before an evening meal.
Having said all that, it was the perfect place for us in Kochi.
It offers elements of the other luxury Neemrana hotels, but for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerDanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have spent a whole week at the Tower House in May 2011 and have stayed in three different rooms. They were all lovely and I would have loved to try even more as they are all different. This place definitely doesn't feel like a hotel. It's a beautiful colonial house, with high ceilings and very spacious. It has been restored and decorated in a very elegant and tasteful style. The furniture has been carefully picked and it is not hotel style. There is small but lovely garden with a good sized pool which is a blessing when you happen to be there in the hottest month like me! The service is sometimes a bit distracted but always light, unintrusive and very sweet. Everyne was lovely and helpful. There were definitely few clients around when I was there so I'm not sure how it would be with a full house but I was very happy. Although the room were perfectly clean, there is room for improvement with cleanliness in the restaurant/breakfast area where table cloths and sets were kept for too long with stains and food debris. I do totally agree with the eco-approach to limit laundry (they will not change your sheets everyday unless you specifically ask, which I think is absolutely normal), there should be a bit more effort on the tables setting. Also, definitely room for improvement with the food which was very basic. The location is great, just on the Vasco da Gama square in front of the Chinese fishnets and you can actually walk pretty much anywhere in Fort Kochi. Alternatively, there are always plenty of autorickshaws just outside. I would definitely go back there, and having gone for drinks or just to have a look at the more expensive hotels in Fort Kochi, I think this is still the one I prefer for its style. And has made want to go try the other places of the Neemrana group.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#50 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#33 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Address: 1/320 Neemrana's Tower House Tower Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Neemrana's Tower House)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £33 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Neemrana's Tower House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house which has given it the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. This scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship and indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast, high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set, and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us. The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the residential structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate large tubs. The windows have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. Restored to be compatible with present-day needs while maintaining its structural integrity, it reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, as moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly. The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and its adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism. Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing