We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Tower House
Ranked #51 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Timeless”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Disclaimer: I love Neemrana properties!

On our last day of Kerala trip, we stayed at the Tower House and it was a wonderful experience. I liked the location - in the evening we stepped out of the hotel (or non-hotel) to see the chinese fishing nets and then roamed around Fort Kochi to discover great restaurants. Rooms were very comfortable and staff was super helpful. I'd recommend this place if you want are planning to spend some time in Fort Kochi.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arpit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to conclude your Kerala trip with Neemrana at The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    105
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
91
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I really liked this place--beautifully restored colonial manor, right but the chinese fishing nets in Fort Kochi. The public spaces are gorgeous and the rooms are each unique and lovely. I arrived late at night and got the last room available, in the front of the house that can be quite noisy. I was so tired I slept great and barely noticed the noise. However, the next morning, without my asking, the staff informed me they were moving me to a quieter room in the back, which was larger and much nicer. Very kind of them to offer.

The place has a gorgeous pool but I never got a chance to use it. The AC works great, the facilities are good if a little basic. Don't expect any TVs but the Wifi signal was fantastic. As others have noted, the breakfast was a little basic but enough for me. They will make you eggs on demand to augment the fruit, toast, and muffins offered.

I would definitely stay again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: In the back are quirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendysturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback about The Tower House has filled our hearts with gratitude, as it completes the whole cycle which our restoration of ruined properties begins !

We have conveyed your compliments about the warm hospitality to the Manager and the team.

When you stay at The Tower House you join Cochin’s fight to retain its magnificent heritage structures by making restoration a viable, self-sustainable tourism activity.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights in November. The location is fantastic - overlooking the Chinese fishing nets. The hotel is managed by a small number of staff, all of whom were lovely. The breakfast, while not much, was adequate and tasty. And the rooms were wonderful! Large and spacious with wonderful views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angrigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your kind words about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay at the property.

Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team.
Please note that the complimentary breakfast includes a choice of different cereals, milk & porridge, fresh fruit, fruit juice, eggs made to offer, a choice of Neemrana jams, toast, an Indian dish (parantha/aloo poori/poha/upma/chhola bhatoora) and tea & coffee. We would be happy to receive feedback about what you missed at the email address mentioned below.

Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a great stay in November. Kochi is kind of a quiet town and this hotel offers a great place to crash. We got three rooms for the family and each was unique in its own way. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cross between a B&B and a hotel. The location was great and we could walk to about anywhere you might want to go. The restaurant was ok and generally the places in Kochi were a little below average in terms of what you might find in a major Indian city. They've got a nice pool and generally it's a nice place to relax if you're coming from a busier Indian city. Kochi might get a little boring if you stay for longer than two days. We booked a houseboat through the hotel and had some problems. The houseboat was about double the price other folks were offering and there was some confusion with the booking dates. We wired the hotel the money for two nights on a boat and they came back and said it was only for one night. The hotel gave us the money back when we checked in, but I would recommend booking a boat through someone else and let the hotel do what they do best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam-1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the ambience of this 17th century building which has been lovingly restored to its past glory.

Since each organisation has its own rules, we too recommend booking house boats directly. Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the trouble faced.

Do venture out to any of the 29 other Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We went there as our first stop in Kerala, on our honeymoon. The staff are so nice, friendly, and willing to help. The building is gorgeous - colonial style, white columns, large spaces. The Tower House is a minute away from the Chinese fishing nets, so one can walk there to look at the view. We booked the Wayermah Suite, which is a really large room that is adjoined by a smaller room (the dressing room) and a large bathroom. The bed was four-poster and very comfortable. We ordered some food between the general mealtimes, and every effort was made to accommodate us (and delectable fried masala fish!). A really nice personal touch was the massive piece of chocolate cake and a burning candle left for us when we came back to the darkened room after dinner. We really appreciated the gesture (and the cake was delicious!).
Eating a buffet breakfast on the verandah in the morning, listening to the bustle of the little market on the other side of the wall, watching the gardener tend to the little lawn - all these little things make the Tower House special. Perhaps the only thing we missed was TV, but that's just a small niggle.
There is a beautiful little pool, for those who wish to swim, and newspapers and magazines for those who wish to read. There are quite a few restaurants/hotels in the same line, so one has a choice of dining options. We would definitely return to the Tower House.

Room Tip: The Wayermah Suite is set a little apart, is very spacious, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blightedstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.
Thank you for choosing to kick-start your honeymoon with Neemrana.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Wayermah Suite. Your appreciation about the personalised service has been conveyed to the Manager and the Chef. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and your positive feedback is a huge motivator for our entire team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The property is amazing. Some of the rooms have the sea view but the ones at the back, near the pool are better as they are quieter. The property is well maintained, very clean and as efficiently run as the other neemrana properties. The only thing it lacks is the buzz that other similar properties in fort Cochin have. I guess it must be because this place is relatively new. If one is looking for a quiet and relaxing time, then this is the place to be in. The pool is gorgeous. The market, dotted with nice eateries is a few steps away. My favourite kashi art cafe was just five minutes walk from here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana receive your positive feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are delighted to read your appreciation about the maintenance and the pool. Your compliments have been conveyed to the Manager and the housekeeping team.

Do venture out to any of the 29 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our Neemrana No. 5 and we were excited as ever to spend time at a Neemrana property again. The positives –
1. It’s probably one of the best accessible locations of Neemrana… Everything was right there – Food, activites..
2. It had that old charm Neemrana is so famous for
3. And all the other check boxes – Friendly staff, super clean rooms, all ameneties

We were however let down by
1. Views – Accessibility was compromised by the views… Chinese fishing nets has been overhyped and over commercialized…
2. Food has always been one of the differentiating factors at Neemrana. Here, breakfast comprised of – Toast, eggs to order, cereals, cut fruits and a cake. Would have loved to see some local breakfast options added there. If not, at least sausages or potatoes?

Room Tip: Don't take the fishing net facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritikat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your compliments about the hospitality and the maintenance have been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

Your suggestions have been noted and we shall be taking the requisite action at the earliest. It is our endeavour to constantly improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 29 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#50 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#72 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Property: Neemrana's Tower House
Address: 1/320 Neemrana's Tower House Tower Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Neemrana's Tower House)
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Neemrana's Tower House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house which has given it the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. This scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship and indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast, high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set, and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us. The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the residential structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate large tubs. The windows have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. Restored to be compatible with present-day needs while maintaining its structural integrity, it reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, as moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly. The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and its adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism. Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing