We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best HomeStay I've been”
Review of Tantraa Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tantraa Home Stay
Ranked #28 of 480 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We came to Kochi by land from our trip from Nepal. I have been in many guest houses and homestay all arround India. This the best place I've stayed.
In the rooftop there is a communal kitchen whenever you want to cook you can use it, We could also chill out with all the other guest, having fun, drinking and playing UNO lol Comfortable and clean rooms. The toilets are very spacius, the mattress is soft, and there is a TV with like 80 channels.
We stayed 1 month and few days becouse we are traveling in long term, so this was the perfect place to settle down comparing prices and quality. The new manager Siyad is so kind and he was always trying to indulge us. Sometimes he drop us to anyplaces that we needed to go by his rickshaw and many times cook for many people just to introduce us the traditional food from India. I hardly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Intramental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days. It was a difficult place for our autoricksaw driver to find, but eventually he found someone to help him with directions and we got there. Although we booked ahead, they seemed to have no record of our reservation. The initial room that we checked into had no working bathroom light and they ended up switching our rooms. The place was nice enough, and the bathrooms were the most spacious that I saw in all of India. There was TV in the room with plenty of channels and a decent bed. The staff were very rarely around and no one else seemed to be stayed there other than us. Since the room was only about $11USD a night, it was a pretty good deal. Overall, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrifterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I still can't put my finger on what was odd about this place. But something was. The room was more like a suite; it had a large living area with settee and easy chairs, a bedroom area and large bathroom. It was clean enough. It had reliable and constant hot water which for the money was surprising. The worst thing was the heat at night which was intolerable even though there were 3 fans. You couldn't open the windows from the inside because of the mosquito screens. Luckily we were on the gound floor so we could open them from outside. The hotel had a roof terrace which wasn't particularly inviting but it was there. The location was good, about 5 minutes walk from the centre of the action in Fort Kochi almost a little township with facilities of its own - shops, cafes etc. The area is quiet and residential. The "taste and pack" cafe (bizarre name) nearby was excellent. The food was really good and the owner was very charming and friendly. So would I recommend it? Hard to say. I wouldn't go again but you might like it. It's certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krimi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaheer B, Manager at Tantraa Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank juliette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaheer B, Manager at Tantraa Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathybruno2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaheer B, Manager at Tantraa Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank charlylafarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaheer B, Manager at Tantraa Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Rasa Hotel
Rasa Hotel
#100 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
28 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 35 in Ernakulam
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#2 of 480 in Kochi (Cochin)
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#18 of 480 in Kochi (Cochin)
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#3 of 480 in Kochi (Cochin)
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#55 of 480 in Kochi (Cochin)
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantraa Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantraa Home Stay

Address: Bishop Garden Lane No.1 | Pattalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 480 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £7 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tantraa Home Stay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantraa homestay is located In a quiet area, close to the centre of Fort Cochin, just minutes away from all public transport, including the ferry to the mainland and some of best local restaurants, shops and other amenities. We are also just five minutes from the vibrant sea front and beach. We offer spacious, clean and affordable rooms, with a/c, television, solar heated hot water and wi fi. We have a large, open and homely upstairs living space, with satellite television, comfy seating and access to a small garden and sun/dining terrace. Full dining/cooking facilities are also provided, with large fridge freezer to store food and drink. Staff are here 24 hours a day, and we are happy to help with anything that you need, at any time. We can assist with bookings for all local sightseeing tours, including the Kerala backwater boat tours, and other activities, such as: yoga, martial arts, meditation, Ayurvedic Medicine and daily dance and music events. We are local people, who have lived here for many years, therefore we can offer cultural/historical tours, or at the very least, provide you with fantastic local information. We hope to make you feel at home. Babu and Shaheer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tantraa Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantraa Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing