We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sui House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sui House Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sui House Homestay
Ranked #56 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Sui House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We arrived at the Sui House after a 2 week Ashram retreat and we got this wonderful warm welcome from our hosts ! The house is beautifully decorated and the jammy breakfast every morning was something to look forward too. We got all the important info and if we needed a driver or a direction or anything - our hosts organized it for us.
Looking forward to visit again this little jewel in the busy city ! Saludos from Mexico from Esther and Diane

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAngelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed at Sui House for one night and enjoyed it very much. We made a spontaneous reservation through email which was very uncomplicated. The welcome was warm, we were also offered a tea with lovely pastry.
The whole place is very tasteful furnised. The room and bathroom were clean. The bathroom standard was average. The room is quiet.
Breakfast was lovely with a choise of tea, coffee, fruits, toasts, jam, pancakes, eggs (fried, scrambled etc.) and a little sample of Indian breakfast. We were even offered some home-made chocolate-panforte which was very delicious. The hosts are lovely and helpful about "travelling-questions" (restaurants around, must-sees in chocin, buses).
The guesthouse is within walking-distance of "downtown" Mantancherry (5 min.) and offers good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arashi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Will always remember this place and its family. The owner works with antiques which makes the house's space very charming and full of taste with its decoration. The rooms are like a suite with a small "room" separated from the bedroom. Delicious breakfast with choice (including good french toasts). Good advices from the owners. Clean and quite place away from the town - next to jew area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Sui House is an art deco house owned by a very friendly familiy who deals with antiques. The house itself as well as the rooms are furnished accordingly: beautiful furniture and decoration with great attention for details. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The family who runs the guesthouse is very kind and helpful and they welcomed us like friends. We could chose between an indian and a continental breakfast - both was lovely!
Based in the Jewish districs, which is very lively during daytime with nice old, small houses it's a very good starting point to explore cochin.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

On our return from Alleppey we had one last night to stay in Fort Cochin for which we had not made any reservation. We were looking for a relatively quiet location, and Sui Homestay fit the bill perfectly. Kumar and Pauline have a beautiful heritage house with large rooms and lots of antique furniture. Our accommodation was one of two suites in the house both of which had access to the small but well divided garden. Our arrival at the homestay coincided with lunch and Kumar and Pauline were kind enough to share their own lunch with us. Both our hosts and their daughter Anna were very warm and never missed an occasion to sit and share their time and food with us. They are very interesting people and make for an enjoyable conversation. We were quite excited when Kumar pointed out that, right outside our bedroom window, there were two owls roosting. We managed to take many pictures. We would definitely recommend Sui Homestay to anyone traveling in Fort Kochi and looking for a quiet and elegant stay near Jew Town. Minutes from their house, you can also get an Ayurvedic massage at very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Both rooms are spacious and well furnished. We chose the one to the right on entering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dranreb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Sui House was the nicest Hotel, we staid at in South of India. We loved the interior, the nice rooms, lovely lamps and the great courtyard.
The family running the hotel is really very nice, and we also had our new year's eve at their new restaurant, which was excellent.
It is very central, only 5 min walk to the Jew Town, with all the sightseeing around the corner.
We were a group of single ladies and it was totally safe!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76Elli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have nothing but good things to say about this home stay. The rooms were large with adjoining bathrooms, the hosts were very pleasant and helpful, and the location is 5 minutes walk from Jew Town. The breakfast was large and very tasty, and included an example of traditional Indian breakfast as well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Museum Hotel
The Museum Hotel
#74 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#24 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.1 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#18 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spice Heritage
Spice Heritage
#217 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sui House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sui House Homestay

Property: Sui House Homestay
Address: 8/2010, Maulana Azad Road | Near Westside Hospital, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Sui House' is a B&B in Jew Town close to the Synagogue and Dutch Palace. This refurbished heritage house has all modern comforts like attached bath, hot and cold shower, aircondition etc. Surrounded by a beautiful garden this private residence has 2 beautifully decorated suites for guests. Attached living rooms open out to the garden. Breakfast is served near the garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sui House Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sui House Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing