We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a horrible racket!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cochin Cultural Centre

Cochin Cultural Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
Kochi Evening Excursion: Kathakali Dance Show including Dinner and Hotel...
Ranked #48 of 172 things to do in Kochi (Cochin)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is one of the pioneer centre for ethnic culture and traditions.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a horrible racket!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I went to the Kathakali dance show, we either missed something or were unlucky on the night of the show that was put on as we cannot agree with the other reviews who thought it marvelous! We went early to watch the make up being applied, this was OK but ten minutes would have been enough. Next was 20 minutes listening to the drums being played so loudly that it gave me a head ache and people were putting their fingers in their ears to try and block out the awful sound. Then we watched one of the actors rolling his eyes for 20 minutes. Then came the singing by a very 'gay' looking guy which was worse then the drums...........by this time several people had got up and left but unfortunatly we couldn't as we were stuck in the middle of a row of seats. The final 'actual' play was OK, the cotumes were colourful and fortunatly it did not last to long!
Personally you couldn't pay me enough to go again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Elaine and Garr... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kathakali dance show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Do not miss the make-up. Go one hour before the show to see the actors while preparing their make-up. The show was really good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tabbasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More than just Dance Shows at the Cochin Culture Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I visited the Cochin Cultural Centre several times. Apart from the well known Kathakali shows (which are very good for the make up show and the explanation of the various facial expressions), I found the Kalaripayattu (martial arts) show even more exciting than the traditional dance shows. The Cultural Centre is working with local families who are trying to keep this form of art going. It is a show of strength, agility and speed. I would strongly recommend this.
Apart from that the Kathakali and Kalaripayattu, there is morning relaxtion with sitar and mritham(tabla), which is very calming (with no religious nuances) and also other additional shows such as Bharatha Nattiyam (Indian Classical dancing) and other musical shows.
Bravo to the Cochin Cultural Centre.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank selamatjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“traditional dance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

we arrived early, as planned, to see the dancers put on their make-up, but I would suggest that 20 mins is early enough, it did not need the full hour, as thi swas done in complete silence on stage ( I had imagined a tour behind the the scenes). The dance was well explained and most interestimg, although not to our children's taste. a unique experience but possibly a bit too long for uninitiated visitors

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A good introduction to the Kathakali style of dance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is a great place to come to if you want an introduction to classical south indian dance. Kathakali performances usually start late in the evening and continue to the early hours of the morning (in temple courtyards). The Cochin Cultural Centre has cleverly adapted this to meet the requirements of foreign visitors. The programme starts at 5.30 when one can watch the elaborate make-up session for an hour (usually these take up to 3 hours!). This is followed by an introductory lesson (15 minutes) when each facial and hand movement is explained (welcome, anger, love, envy, joy..). The explanations are in english and at this stage, the audience who were mainly from Italy, France and Spain displayed loud, juvenile behaviour (they were all 50+). Management needs to take this into consideration : perhaps they could prepare a hand-out in several languages with each 'gesture' numbered; it could engage people. The main performance started at 7.00 and was most enjoyable. An outline of the story was provided. The acting was very good and the costumes awesome. Men only actors.
Tips: the centre is in the Fort area of Cochin; check with your hotel if they provide a complimentary show before you book (some do); seating is most uncomfortable - book nearer to the stage; very hot in January - cool clothing; allow for about 3 hours including the make-up session.
Definitely on the to do list' if you are in Kerala/South India. A beautiful art form.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank zenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cochin Cultural Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cochin Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing