We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reds Residency Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reds Residency Homestay
Ranked #39 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Wished I could have stayed longer here and in Fort Cochi. The room had a very high standard, including high end bathroom fixtures, very functional a/c, and consistent wifi. The breakfast was ample and the fare changed a bit daily, with different fruit and juices. Mary Ann provided a very complete orientation to the area when I checked-in and helped with reservations for a cultural show and an easly morning taxi for the train. The location is a couple km from the center of Fort Cochi, but it's a comfortable walk during mild parts of the day and a reasonable auto-rickshaw ride at other times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    42
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
92
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Perfect start to my stay in India. Philip and Mary Ann are great hosts and a wealth of information to help you make the most of your time in Kerala. They recommended to me great places to stay in Munnar and Marari Beach and gave me plenty of invaluable advice for travelling around Kerala by motorcycle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonespe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a good located, but quiet place with "hotel-like", clean and spacious rooms, with a friendly, welcoming and helpfull family, don't look any further! Red's Residency is definitely one of the nicest places we stayed at during our 1.5 month travelling in India.
Our host Maryann booked a Houseboat in Alleppey for us, which we can highly recommend to everyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here two nights and when I came back to Kochi after a trip away I chose to stay somewhere else.
I found Maryann and Philip rather cold and distant from the moment I arrived. As a solo traveller that really influenced me. To be fair, on the morning I was left Maryann was friendly and chatty.
The place is impeccably clean and orderly, with everything you need and a TV, which I don't need. I could choose between 2 rooms, which are a bit souless in ambience. The one I chose had an unremarkable view to the street,but not the brick wall view. It's a main road, and quite noisy. There's no garden or pleasant place to relax outside. There's a narrow balcony on the front to the street which isn't very inviting. There's no hot water in the shower, but that's endemic in Kerala, and you get used to it.
I am glad others were very happy here, because they do put a lot of work and care into it. It just didn't suit me.

Room Tip: There's a room on the top floor which might be more fun to use, with a sort of courtyard entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I don't know what to say !!!

I am really very happy and I appreciate the warm welcomings I met at Red Residency Homestay even before Chicking in.

I arrived to Kochin yesterday by Air coming from Delhi, then I took Volvo Bus from Kochin Airport towards Cochin Town, of course I don't know where shall I drop down to reach to the homestay so I gave the bus driver the telephone number of the hotel, he called then asked me not to worry, he shall tell me about the correct point. After getting down I took Autoreksha who dropped me at the hotel.

Marry met me with a very warm welcomings, she said that no need to do any formalities now to check in, we can do it tomorrow morning. As I was so hungry I asked her for help, she called Autoreksha and asked him to drop me to a near by Restaurant. It was a very nice sea food restaurant and I enjoyed Kerala style Fish soup, Fish stew and Kerala Rice.

After coming back to the hotel I handed over my reservation voucher and passport to Philip who signed me into the hotel then I sat down with Mary who listened to my program visit to Cochin then she gave me a map for Cochin and explained to me and marked up the points which I mentioned in my program.

The room itself is very clean and every thing is available, the most important thing for me is the Wi-FiI connection, Mary gave me the password even before I ask for it and now I am writing this preview.

It worth to be mentioned that mosquitos do not exist but a mosquito net prevention is available over the bed

Thanks to Philip and Mary and Aunti

I highly recommend this homestay to any one visiting Cochin

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chess_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Maryann was extremely helpful during our stay with a number of questions we had about Kerela. She was also very helpful when sorting out a specific problem we had at the time and spent time with us to help as much as she could to get it sorted.

She was also very accommodating for when we needed to come in a little late and leave quite early in the morning. The rooms were better than some hotels we have stayed in, extremely clean and nice cold showers after a day in the heat. We also paid a little extra for breakfast which was delicious. Overall a great and reliable homestay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juze03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Best stay i've ever had. Marry Ann is very accomodating when it is necessary to leave or arrive in the middle of night ! Ambience is worth the value. Totally incredible. .Marry ann will certainly make you feel at home . This is what we call HOMESTAY . Thanks a bunch <3

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azarsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#40 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jojie's Homestay
Jojie's Homestay
#21 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#23 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#26 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reds Residency Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reds Residency Homestay

Property: Reds Residency Homestay
Address: 11/372 A K J Herschel Road | Near Dronacharya Main Gate, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reds Residency Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reds Residency has 5 double rooms, all of which are spacious and have attached bathrooms. There is also a luxury suite, which includes a living room, kitchen and bathroom. In addition to a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts, and first class service throughout your stay, the following are also present: homemade Indian and Continental breakfast; a tour and activity booking desk; laundry facilities; free wi-fi internet access; a range of books and magazines. The facilities and service available are of the highest quality. Staying at Reds Residency Home stay whilst exploring the area is perfect for really getting to know people here. As well as having the all of the luxuries that you would expect to find in a star hotel, you get the added benefit of receiving the warm care and service of being within a family environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Reds Residency Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reds Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Reds Residency Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing