We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Killians Boutique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Southwest England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well run”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We'd already booked at a nearby hotel. But it turned out the manager was bossy and the tiny box room and lobby charmless. After two weeks of cycling in Kerela, we'd hoped for better. We walked a few blocks to Killians which by luck had a vacancy even though it was Boxing Day. The large room was lovely with a four-poster bed, an attractive seating area and a fantastic shower room. The location right next to the Chinese Fishing Nets and boat jetty was ideal; my husband really enjoyed the pool. And all this for £9 more than the other place. We checked out at 6 am and the desk clerk presented me with two packed breakfasts, which sustained us on the long drive to the airport. Can't say enough good things!

Room Tip: Room 201 was large and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    84
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
44
111
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had stayed at Fort Beach Service Apartment during my stay at Fort Kochi which is right next to The Killians Boutique Hotel. I did come to The Killians with my friends for dinner . The owner of Fort Beach Service Apartment Mr. Sandeep Johnson was the one who introduced us to The Killians and the food served to us was simply delicious. The price was reasonable as well.

Good customer service too. Everyone working at The Killians was very polite even though we had come in during closing hours.

Keep up the good work The Killians !

Room Tip: Me and my friends did not stay at The Killians. We stayed at The Fort Beach Service Apartment which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This review is for the restaurant attached to the hotel because I could not find a separate entry for the restaurant itself. I went in the restaurant during lunch time and there were only 2 tables even though the restaurant has a really good location along the waterfront near the ferry jetty to Vypen. Usually that is not a good sign but I gave it a try anyway.

I ordered Malabar Prawns with plain rice. Although there is a warning on the menu that food may take up to 40 minutes to prepare, my dish didn't take that long to arrive. 20 minutes max. However, I was very disappointed at the quality. The shrimps are tiny--they're the size of my thumb, which is to say that they're miniscule. I've never seen shrimps so small being served at a restaurant. Not only they're small, they are not very fresh. There's no texture--I can feel the mushiness. They seem to be frozen shrimps that just got thawed minutes earlier. They don't have that briny flavor of fresh seafood. This is ironic because we're in Kerala--the land known for fish and seafood. The curry gravy is completely sub par. A little watery, bland, and lack of flavor. The rice is OK. Service is OK. For this extremely below average meal, the total costs 400 rupees. Way overpriced!

I realized that this may not reflect the total quality of the restaurant because after all I tried only 1 dish. But such is the nature of the restaurant business. Most customers will order one or two dishes and that's your chance to create a favorable impression. If the dishes are not good, there goes the reputation of the restaurant. Customers may not want to come back and give you a second chance.

There are plenty of choices further away from the water where the price is lower and the quality is higher.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsaisai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

“Ideal holiday destination for love, peace and tranquility”
We had a wonderful stay at The Killians Boutique Hotel, Fort Kochi, Kerala. It’s a perfect place for people looking for a peaceful environment surrounded by beautiful Backwaters and Chinese fishing nets.

Hotel is located at the boat jetty, nice scenes,makes you feel in different world altogether.

You just can sit and cherish beautiful view; it is an ideal place for couples & families.

Rooms are clean and tidy, whole management was very friendly.
swimming in most beautiful pool (as per my experience till now),

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NajeebArcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but had 2 meals at the restaurant. The clean, airy, uncluttered atmosphere make it a very pleasant place to dine in. The food is good and decently priced. We tried some sea-food and Malabar chicken with Kerala Porotta. The shrimps in the papaya-prawn salad seemed to come straight from the freezer. The Malabar chicken was very good and so were the parathas. There are beef items on the menu, but they don't serve them for some reason. This place is popular - you'll always find some people eating and drinking beer. One of the few restaurants in Fort Kochi that serves beer.

It's not air-conditioned, so lunch during summer can be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avonnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were on our holidays to India and first time in our life we landed in KERALA.
Our first place of visit was Fort Cochin, a historic place duly noted by UNESCO
as a Heritage centre. Fort Cochin is such an interesting place that we had the
feeling that we were in some old Dutch town. Fortunately we selected the hotel,
Hotel killians, situated in the midlle of the town, from where we could visit all the
places of interest by walking. The <chinese nets, Vasco Da Gama church, Jewish
Synagogue, Santaa Cruz Basalica etc. etc. - all historical places within walkable
distance. We had a nice tiem in the hotel as it is having an open seafood restaurant,
a swimming pool and the rooms quite large with all amenities and good services.
Our 2 days stay in the hotel with easy access to all the interesting places - we got
the best for the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel upon recommendation from some friends when I was visiting Kerala and really enjoyed myself. It was very relaxing and comfortable..staff and management were very welcoming...the hotel is located in beautiful fort kochi so there is plenty to see and do around you..the food at the hotel is pretty good as well...overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#70 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#103 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killians Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killians Boutique Hotel

Property: The Killians Boutique Hotel
Address: River Road | Post Box 22, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Killians Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killians Boutique Hotel can be termed as a perfect synonym for "LUXURY." It is a classified 4 Star Hotel. Every room and the available posh amenities are sure to impress your senses to the maximum. You can cozy up in the warmth of your room knowing that Kochi excitement is just a walk away from your door... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Killians Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Killians Boutique Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing