We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killians Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Killians Boutique Hotel
Ranked #68 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice, clean and modern hotel. I had a large room with a lovely bathroom. Excellent food and great location right on the harbour. Friendly service. - staff couldn't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    79
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
104
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here but we used the pool and the restaurant. From the outside the whole place looks spotlessly clean.
We chanced across it via a tuk tuk driver when we asked if there was a local pool. ( we were in a home stay so limited amenities). We we able to use the facility for a small fee. Be aware that if you are a sun worshiper the sun is only on the far side of the pool area between midday and 3:30 but it is a little sun trap, the pool is a little chilly at first but you won't mind this after a dusty mornings exploration.
The food is a little more pricey due to this being a hotel but it is excellent. Can't remember what they are called but you must try the potato cakes on the appetiser section of the menu, served with a spivey mint and yoghurt dip they are to die for.
The staff were very attentive even though we only paid for pool use, they provided us with towels and brought our drinks to the pool.
Next time if I don't fancy the home stays (which I do love) I might even stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJC1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We'd already booked at a nearby hotel. But it turned out the manager was bossy and the tiny box room and lobby charmless. After two weeks of cycling in Kerela, we'd hoped for better. We walked a few blocks to Killians which by luck had a vacancy even though it was Boxing Day. The large room was lovely with a four-poster bed, an attractive seating area and a fantastic shower room. The location right next to the Chinese Fishing Nets and boat jetty was ideal; my husband really enjoyed the pool. And all this for £9 more than the other place. We checked out at 6 am and the desk clerk presented me with two packed breakfasts, which sustained us on the long drive to the airport. Can't say enough good things!

Room Tip: Room 201 was large and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had stayed at Fort Beach Service Apartment during my stay at Fort Kochi which is right next to The Killians Boutique Hotel. I did come to The Killians with my friends for dinner . The owner of Fort Beach Service Apartment Mr. Sandeep Johnson was the one who introduced us to The Killians and the food served to us was simply delicious. The price was reasonable as well.

Good customer service too. Everyone working at The Killians was very polite even though we had come in during closing hours.

Keep up the good work The Killians !

Room Tip: Me and my friends did not stay at The Killians. We stayed at The Fort Beach Service Apartment which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This review is for the restaurant attached to the hotel because I could not find a separate entry for the restaurant itself. I went in the restaurant during lunch time and there were only 2 tables even though the restaurant has a really good location along the waterfront near the ferry jetty to Vypen. Usually that is not a good sign but I gave it a try anyway.

I ordered Malabar Prawns with plain rice. Although there is a warning on the menu that food may take up to 40 minutes to prepare, my dish didn't take that long to arrive. 20 minutes max. However, I was very disappointed at the quality. The shrimps are tiny--they're the size of my thumb, which is to say that they're miniscule. I've never seen shrimps so small being served at a restaurant. Not only they're small, they are not very fresh. There's no texture--I can feel the mushiness. They seem to be frozen shrimps that just got thawed minutes earlier. They don't have that briny flavor of fresh seafood. This is ironic because we're in Kerala--the land known for fish and seafood. The curry gravy is completely sub par. A little watery, bland, and lack of flavor. The rice is OK. Service is OK. For this extremely below average meal, the total costs 400 rupees. Way overpriced!

I realized that this may not reflect the total quality of the restaurant because after all I tried only 1 dish. But such is the nature of the restaurant business. Most customers will order one or two dishes and that's your chance to create a favorable impression. If the dishes are not good, there goes the reputation of the restaurant. Customers may not want to come back and give you a second chance.

There are plenty of choices further away from the water where the price is lower and the quality is higher.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonsaisai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

“Ideal holiday destination for love, peace and tranquility”
We had a wonderful stay at The Killians Boutique Hotel, Fort Kochi, Kerala. It’s a perfect place for people looking for a peaceful environment surrounded by beautiful Backwaters and Chinese fishing nets.

Hotel is located at the boat jetty, nice scenes,makes you feel in different world altogether.

You just can sit and cherish beautiful view; it is an ideal place for couples & families.

Rooms are clean and tidy, whole management was very friendly.
swimming in most beautiful pool (as per my experience till now),

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NajeebArcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but had 2 meals at the restaurant. The clean, airy, uncluttered atmosphere make it a very pleasant place to dine in. The food is good and decently priced. We tried some sea-food and Malabar chicken with Kerala Porotta. The shrimps in the papaya-prawn salad seemed to come straight from the freezer. The Malabar chicken was very good and so were the parathas. There are beef items on the menu, but they don't serve them for some reason. This place is popular - you'll always find some people eating and drinking beer. One of the few restaurants in Fort Kochi that serves beer.

It's not air-conditioned, so lunch during summer can be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avonnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Ayana Fort Kochi
Ayana Fort Kochi
#38 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#28 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#101 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#70 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#49 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killians Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killians Boutique Hotel

Property: The Killians Boutique Hotel
Address: River Road, Fort Kochi | Post Box 22, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Killians Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killians Boutique Hotel can be termed as a perfect synonym for "LUXURY." It is a classified 4 Star Hotel. Every room and the available posh amenities are sure to impress your senses to the maximum. You can cozy up in the warmth of your room knowing that Kochi excitement is just a walk away from your door... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Killians Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Killians Boutique Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing