We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #92 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

very good property........very clean
amazing hotel
nice swimming pool
we enjoyed our stay here
awesome is the only word that can be used
very close to the city and easily accessible
food is also good....staff is quiet helpful

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agarwalsheetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    86
    59
    19
    8
See reviews for
105
52
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

We went to Kerala for our honeymoon and Kochi was our first stop. We reached the resort at around 3:30pm after a long flight and were famished. Since we reached post lunch timings none of the restaurants were open, however the room service was very prompt and we had an amazing keralite food.
The rooms are large, and built in a princely way. The property is equipped with all the modern facilities and the stay was really comfortable.
We enjoyed the Kerala body message in the resort .
The location is also great. Overall its a great place to stay .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashmita_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Bolgatty Island is located in the waters not too far from Ernakulum and Kochi in the state of Kerala.The island itself is home to several KTDC government run hotels.We were originally booked in to stay at one of the Bolgatty Island Resort's,Lakefront cottages.We had conjured up an idea in our heads about some sweet little wooden cottage facing the seafront but the reality did not meet our expectations.The cottages were made of a very shabby looking concrete and there was a stray dog barking from the entrance steps.We had a peek inside and it was very well made up but the uninviting exterior was enough to ask for a room change.

The front desk staff were very accommodating and offered us a room in another hotel just a few steps away called Marina House.Even though the cost of this room was higher they honored the charge we had paid for the cottage.The Marina House had just recently been built and this was evident in it's modern features and smart looks.It still bore the whitewashed walls featured at the Bolgatty Island Resort but it had also had decorative metal framed balconies overlooking the marina on the Ernakulum side.Inside was a very sleek elevator leading up to our room which featured smooth granite interiors and all the modern amenities.The only issue I had with the room was that it was not as roomy as it could have been.

There's no dining room at The Marina House so we had our meals at the Bolgatty Island Resort.The dining room was very spacious and had a pleasant outlook over the pool and the indoor atrium.Breakfast and dinner were both buffet style but there was decent variety.

We used the island as a launching pad for harbor tours,visits to Kochi and also trips to the larger city of Ernakulum.You can get off the island very easily via two ways-either by taking the ferry service run by the hotel or by taking an auto rickshaw or taxi by the connecting road.The island is very peaceful but you don't feel isolated.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Bolgatty Island Resort is a heritage hotel with a lot of history – dating back to Portuguese Governor’s residence since 1744. The hotel is spread over a vast property on an island - the location is excellent – overlooking the backwater and the port and very close to the city center. Rooms are large and tastefully furnished, with clean bathrooms and good air conditioning. The staff is courteous and service good. It has small, clean and safe swimming pools for kids and adults – the water warm and inviting in the afternoons. There are separate restaurant and bar. There is a modern wing too – called Marina, which also houses common facilities such as gym and recreation. Golf lovers will find a passable green. There are private boats available for short and long cruises. The hotel arranges cultural programs in the evening and we had the opportunity to watch a Kathakali performance.

The restaurant serves buffet style meals and it turned out to be mediocre. The rooms do not have any tea/coffee makers and no refrigerator either. In terms of improvements, the vast property could do with better maintenance.

On the whole an excellent hotel at a great price.

Booking direct with the hotel is highly recommended – we had a terrible experience with our online booking through Travelguru. The booking was confirmed and fully paid. We had conformed the booking with the hotel desk a week before and did not expect any surprises. On arriving at the hotel, they accommodated us very courteously – however later the Travelguru desk called us to say that there is no booking for us at the hotel and that we must go to an alternate hotel. We did not move as the hotel was fine with our stay there. We found it very unprofessional on the part of Travelguru to act the way they did. It seems Travelguru had sent an email three days before the check in date (which we could not access, being on the road for many days) that the hotel had not confirmed the booking and offered alternate accommodation, which we found unacceptable. Their call center failed to appreciate the fact that we were already checked in and it was ridiculous to suggest that we checkout and go elsewhere and they kept repeating like a parrot that the booking was not confirmed. So, beware of online reservations – their confirmation seems to carry no guarantee of availability.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshokBhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

A great hotel. Even though run by the government, it is as efficient as a privately operated luxury chain. Stayed in for 3 days. The room was good (deluxe double), the lake front rooms were not that great and so requested to put us up at the deluxe double. The view was good, the rooms were well stocked with bathroom amenities and complimentary bottles of packaged drinking water. The rooms also have a balcony with relaxing chairs to ensure comfort.
We had used the spa services and it was decent. There were two spa rooms with attached bath. A full body treatment (abahayangam) 60 minutes cost Rs. 900 + taxes and was worth each penny.
A little away from the hustle and bustle of the city though you can get to the main city centre which is 12 kms away.
Great hotel to stay and also economical. The buffet breakfast and dinner were not that great. The breakfast had dishes like idly, dosa, poorie subzi, egg station (live) and on one of the days during our stay, we found chicken sausages and bacon. The most disturbing fact is that dishes like dosa and poorie are also placed inside chaffing dishes which made them not that appealing to the eyes. Suggest, they can cook them live like the eggs on site.
If you are a hard core south indian foodie, you will love this buffet, but not otherwise. The restaurant also had a very dull ambience. But, am sure with a proper focus on this aspect by the management would do good for covering up well on this front.
Overall it was a decent stay and I recommend it...!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed here for one day. Location is good. Room was good and clean. But, there was no tea maker in the room. Swimming pool was not so clean. We went for buffet dinner. Staffs are not so efficient (except reception). In breakfast they served egg fried in Coconut oil. that was really pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani_chak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

When you book yourself into the Bolgatty Island resort, make sure you specify that they do not put you up in the Marina that has recently been opened on the same premises. The Marina is a new, characterless block of rooms built to accommodate more people and the management tries to fob you off into this thing if the main resort is overbooked. They tried to do this to us and I had to spend over an hour arguing with all levels of management before I got my due and some-they had to upgrade me to the Palace Suite because they had overbooked the main resort.

The resort is a well designed structure on the Bolgatty island, easy access to the main city. The palace suite that we got-Rembrandt- was huge with a large living room, ante chamber, massive bathroom and cosy bedroom. The place was filled with Rembrandt prints. The restaurant serves so-so food with limited options and if most people are on pre-paid meals, they may not offer a-la-carte for that meal.

The resort seems to have massive potential that is under-utilized.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajeev-on-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
7.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#62 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing