We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live with Style in a Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #93 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Bolgatty Palace by names heard to be a palace, but it is a Hotel managed by KTDC. It is over an island popularly known as Bolghatty Island in Kochi. The entrance of it is not that good if you are coming over your own vehicle, but the resort built up in Dutch Style is too good. The food they serve, the garden they maintain is like amazing. Swimming pool is bit small, it could have been much more.

Bit expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Go to other side of Island but taking there boat from Boat Jetty.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceobharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in room 305 one of the two honeymoon cottages overlooking the lake.
A circular building raised on supports with an exterior staircase. We had our own balcony and a rain tree beside us. The room was clean and had everything we needed.
There is a separate bar -- no one seems to use and a restaurant with buffet.
The things that need to be improved are cleanliness of the restaurant interior. Clean table clothes and chairs should be a priority as well as brightening the place up. Also the rubbish thrown around the gardens is only cleared in a limited way and sometimes thrown into the lake . Such a shame in such a lovely spot.

Room Tip: We loved room 305 on the lake but have stayed in other rooms here and all have been good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Planned a holiday for my daughter to Kochi this January of 2014. Went around searching hotels on the net which would have nice views & a decent stay.

Found out 3 places & finalised on Bolgatty Palace & Island Resorts, only because of the view from the Rooms.

First wanted to take a deluxe room in the Island portion of the Resort, but then was advised on Trip Advisor to take the Marina portion of the Resort, which was a vise decision on my part.

Dates were fixed booked Marina Suite so as I could accommodate 4 people. Resort permitted the same by charging Extra person charges.

My Check in was late, but was well received by the hotel reception staff, room was fixed which had a splendid view of the Marina Jetty plus the Backwaters.

Resort arranged me a exclusive Sunset Cruise for a payment of Rs.1125.00 only for 5 persons(any number of people go on the cruise). had a great time on the cruise.

Back to resort took a lot of photographs from the resort, in turn while taking the photographs I dropped the Car key on the lawn facing the Palace, I did know about the same.

When I went to the car found out the Key was missing, informed the resort personal & they HELPED me out in searching the key all over the places I went. It was around 7.30 pm. One attendant was all the way with me with a Torch light & we finally got the key which was lying on the grass. I would like to THANK the resort personal for helping me out of the way, which was a fantastic gesture.

Now about the Review

Property: It is a fantastic & beautiful one but not maintained well. Informed the hotel personal about the same, but what could they do it is owned by the Kerala Government.

Rooms: The Marina Rooms are very good, opt for the same as they are built in 2010.

Service: Very good service, in spite the staff being Government Employees.

Food: Had only Breakfast, very average. On the 2 days I stayed the 1st day there was a buffet & on the 2nd day we had to order what ever we wanted.

The Dinner I was informed as Buffet & costing Rs.500 + tax. Did not take the risk of having the same. When compared to the Hotels on MG Road wherein they charge Rs.300 - 400, the Dinner is expensive.

Can stay in the Resort only on the Marina portion. The property required sprucing up.

Room Tip: Stay in Marina Rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1TRAVEL123297675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Bolgatty on Dec 22 2014 in their cottage overlooking the waters. Spectacular view but utterly ill-kept room, gave a very unwelcoming look.The electric switches were very confusing and room service pathetic and the problem magnified by language problem the kind i faced nowhere else. I was just provided bath towels and when I asked the assistant manager Manoj why no hand towels he curtly said, " were we supposed to :, ( sic ! )
The buffet breakfast and dinner were lousy....no variety or flavor and pathetic service. They took 30 mins to prepare an on the spot omelet which was below the mark.
Sadly a complete waste of a fabulous heritage property and utterly untrained and unhelpful reception staff.
The only good memory i'v brought back is the joyride they gave me in their boat around sunset with a wonderful and very well informed driver.....
This property desperately needs sprucing up immediately !!!!!!!

Room Tip: i just have idea of the cottage i stayed in n have given my review above.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitaDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed there on 15th dec night enroute to munnar. Stayed at their lake view rooms. Rooms very well placed but inside is a little rusty. The lake view rooms are at a distance from the hotel main and that may make you feel a little uneasy in the night. Food was good and check in was also smooth. Overall a nice experience with a lot of space to move around.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Koushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We arrived here a month ago on a sailboat, and are staying in the attached marina. The staff have been awesome and as helpful as they could possibly be.

The gardens are beautiful, I love walking my dogs there, and the dogs love it too! Chilling by the pool is always a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon, and the massage is not to be missed.

We adore the food here. The buffet is reasonably priced, and my husband and I have always had second helpings of every course, the food is so tasty. And the fresh juices are not to be missed.
Bolgatty Island is a great location.... beautiful and quiet and calm, away from the bustle; and yet so close to the heart of Cochin. The 5 minute ride across to town on the ferry (6Rp) is very convenient, and takes you right into the market, where fresh fruit and veg (and every thing else) abound plentiful.

And let me mention the staff once again. The staff are awesome. All of them. This is the friendliest place on Earth, I believe!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaucySailoress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is in very good location with decent facilities. Rooms are very clean, spacious and good. They have good swimming pool and the views of the harbour. There are no activities for children other than the swimming pool.
Not all on the restaurant menu is available, somehow, again prefers to serve predominantly north Indian cuisine. If you are looking for local dishes, only thing on offer is aviyal but not available most of the time. Same with Nan and other tandoori items. There seems some communication problem even with English (possibly, non-malayali accent is not understood).
This place is in great locale but it falls short in service at many fronts. Room is very clean and spacious, however, the flooring is a bit uneven though carpeted. AC does not work in the High mode. We could not move the switch to High mode. Medium mode was not sufficient enough even in mid-November. Hot water from the shower is luke warm. Toileteries are not replinished though we stayed more than one night. Only an extra soap was put but not the bubble soap (foam bath) or the dental or shaving kits. I do not see what is the point in charging a premium and then treating the guests with such "penny saving" schemes.
For kids the only entertainment is swimming pool which is an open pool but has strict timings of 8am to 6pm. Though there was day light, one of them came and offered a towel at 6pm sharp.
This place seriously needs good make over in the area of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
7.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
843 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#3 of 7 in Cherai Beach
470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £35 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing