We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food and best People ...its our Karma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Karma inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Karma inn
Ranked #4 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food and best People ...its our Karma”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had few days at goodkarma ..they are really nice and friendly People .we had lovely Time at goodkarma due to our Karma to Feel in our life.Food is lovely ..dont Miss Sea Food platen. Cook ekru make Daily Special for us... Best Food we had all over india due to we Love Indian Food..
Rooms Are Basic but we Are happy for what we pay !!!clean bathroom and Air con work poperly.we Really enjoy the Time we spend with them...Really sad to go back home..
Anu give u all Details of Town to go Eat and Shopping Local area...that nice.

Room Tip: Rooms are bette upstairs....but we had good hot water shower at downstair
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
To Petra M
Thank you for your review.
we are happy you enjoyedyour stay with us.
Anu/owner
Good Karma Hotel
Kochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    102
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
42
186
112
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was very good. We got picked up at the airport and shown to our rooms directly. After a short rest we went down stairs to check in. Got a lot of useful information, a map over the city and got to know about tours available and what you "should" see/do while you are here. Very friendly staff! You can order your dinner in the morning and it's cooked fresh for you in the evening. We really liked the food. They have wifi that works, not always a strong connection but you just have to find the right spot :) The room we had was spacious and very clean with our own balcony. I would recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monki87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
monki87

Thank you for your review of Good Karma.
Its always gratifying to hear our guests have enjoyed staying with us and the services we offer.
also happy to hear your airport pickup went smoothly.
and that you found our guesthouse clean.
regards,
Anu/owner
Good Karma Hotel
Kochi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Good Karma Inn
2 stars
The people are lovely but there are nicer places to stay in Fort Kochi for a similar price.

We stayed for two nights and the toilets did not work and the internet was always unavailable. Breakfast was a simple affair - toast, eggs and some pineapple.

Pros
-Cheap
-Location

Cons
-Toilets didn't flush
-No usable internet

There are a number of very nice places to stay in Fort Kochi and sadly, despite the cheap price, Good Karma Inn is not a place that we would recommend. We should say, however, that the staff were incredibly nice and changed our room when we discovered that the toilets weren't working. They also allowed us to use a friend's internet connection so that we could book accommodation at our next stop (given that the internet was not usable at Good Karma Inn). This notwithstanding, you can do better than Good Karma Inn for a similar price elsewhere in Fort Kochi.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GobiasInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Goblasinc
thank you for providing feedback after your stay with us.
we are sorry the toilets were not working , as indians you would understand that at times (rarely) this is beyond our control.
Ditto for the internet which is mostly no problem. unfortunate that you had problems with wifi also.
regards,
Anu/owner
Good Karma Hotel
Kochi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If the name of this hotel, Good Karma, makes you wince then this is probably not the place for you. If, however, the idea of karma makes you smile, then this hotel might be a great match. The rooms are modest and qualify as clean (not spotless) but what makes this place stand out is its owner and staff. They are a funny bunch and you do need to get on their wavelength for your stay to go well. They will help & guide you but the pace is slow and meandering - kind of like Port Cochin (Kochi) itself.

The food is outstanding - especially the dinners which are a delicious bargain (Cheers, Eclu!). We easily paid 3x as much at other restaurants for meals that were maybe marginally better. As for the children issue, our 4-year-old boy was with us and was very well received by the owner, staff, and guests. I will say, however, that we were out of the hotel for most of the day times. As for price, I imagine it is highly negotiable as is everything in India. We tended to spend a bit more on things so we didn't have to expend the energy haggling.

So in closing, I would say enter Good Karma with an open mind, go with the flow, and have a nice time!

Room Tip: From peeping into some of the other rooms, I think we had one of the LESS interesting ones: 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megumi-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
to Megumi-jason.
Thank you for reviewing us.
it was interesting to read your comments re the slow and meandering pace here in Cochin.
A change from the hectic lifestyle is just what many guests are looking for.
we apologize if things didnt move along quickly enough for you.
Though we are happy you loved our food upstairs we are concerned at your comment that our rooms were clean not spotless.
this will be attended to immediatly as our reputation is for a spotless hotel.
best regards,
Anu/owner
Good Karma Hotel
Cochin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Started off badly when they lost our booking, we turned up at 2am (I had emailed 3 times to confirm arrival time) to find we had no booking despite our Agoda confirmation, but to Anu's credit he gave up his bed so we could get some sleep and put us in a room the next day.
The room was tidy but damp, no sign of the TV or Satellite TV promised on Agoda, not that its a big deal we were on holiday. The water ran out half way through a shower more than once, not just the hot but all the water.
The coffee was fantastic and the roof top was a great place, breakfast was limited but nice, dinner was OK and reasonably priced.
I got the feeling the staff were not that interested, expressed their dislike with some guests, they can organize tours and auto rickshaw but cheaper to walk out on the street and haggle with a driver. Down to 40 rupee an hour.
Location is great walking distance to beach, basilica, churches etc.

Room Tip: I saw 2 rooms not attached to house that seemed really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saykiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
to saykiaora

We appreciate you sending feedback to us after your stay.
Once again we apologize for the agoda missed booking. you will appreciate that we put you up in the staff room and therefore not quite the standard of our rooms.
we aim to do our very best for our guests and are sad about the mix up.
its great to hear you enjoyed your visit.
regards,
Anu/owner
Good Karma Inn
Cochin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nice guesthouse in fort kochi with a cool roof-top terrace and good ambiance. Perfect if you want to meet some other travellers. The rooms are rather small, but very clean and comfortable. Good value for money. Nice owner and very good cook.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shineda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor shineda,we were happy to f
Read that you enjoyed your stay and was able to meet and talk with other travel
LEDs on our rooftop. Best regards,
Anu/ owner
Good karma
Cochin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Made to feel very welcome. Clean room and nice rooftop terrace where breakfast was served. Also optional evening meal, had the seafood platter that was very good. Arranged car to take us to airport. Could not fault.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
To hilaryc
It was kind of you to send us feedback after your stay with us.
We are happy you r
Enjoyed the service and transport arrangements etc.
Happy travelling,
Anu/owner
Good karma inn
Cochin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.9 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#36 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Karma inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma inn

Property: Good Karma inn
Address: 1154 Rids Dale Branch Road | Njali Parambu Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Good Karma inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bright and spotlessly clean guest house stands in a quite street away from the traffic. We offer 6 double bedrooms upstairs and ground level with en suite bathrooms, air con, fans, mosquito screens and security bars. Be genuinely welcomed and looked after by your two hosts brothers Anu and Shyam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Karma inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Karma Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing