We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Ranked #183 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Terrific location right by the sea, close to Fort Cochin sites, with a pleasant sea breeze in the afternoon, great to relax after the melee that is Cochin. Rooms are very comfortable and a very nice bathroom. The staff are extremely helpful and quick to respond. Arranged trips and suggested places to visit. Restaurant is good with lots of Kerela recipes. Lack an alcohol licence, but that is in the works.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    149
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
121
194
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A great location for exploring Fort Cochin. Relaxing with pleasent views and cooling breeze off sea. Our poolside appartment was comfortable. The staff smiied a lot but appeared to lack training. They failed to make up our room and replace toilet rolls and coffee cups until reminded. The one snack that we ordered was minimal and luke warm , breakfast was average and completely disorganised on one occasion. On departure we were asked to fill in an appraisal form - but they couldn't find one! Until they get their act together see this as good location to sleep and eat out--see lonely planet for advice but Dal Roti and Kashi were great value and Malabar Junction a real evening treat by any standards.

Room Tip: Poolside appartment nearest sea probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A. Record everything in writing,
B. Ensure all parties involved, sign their name, company position and the
time/date on your copy
C. Video while carrying out the transaction
D. Failing the above, request an affidavit

We unfortunately didn’t comply with the above and live to regret it! My friend and I gave £221.45 of our pensions to the Old Lighthouse Hotel, compliments of Expedia. Our only crime was to trust the word of the hotel management and to believe that Expedia would act in our interest.

While staying at the hotel we cancelled the last two nights accommodation, verbally with the hotel receptionist and by sending a email on the hotels computer to Expedia, within the time limit required by them. The receptionist and my friend had also tried several times to phone Expedia, however, could not get through.

According to Expedia our crime was “ not obtaining written proof of the cancellation” and the hotel reported us “as a no show”. With hindsight, we should have requested a copy, however, we naively believed by cancelling our booking, using their computer, in their office, supervised by their employee ,within the time limit, was justified proof. Surprisingly, the hotel receptionist has since left the company, the two male office staff cannot be identified, unless we can supply a name and the hotel does not appear to have a staff rota for that day.

Our Indian holiday had taken a year to plan and save for. It was our retirement holiday of a life time and, as pensioners, it will probably be our last. Not only have we been branded deceitful and dishonest, we have also had to pay for the privilege as Expedia has refused to refund based on untrue version of events.

We are very sad that our memories of the holiday have resulted in such an unhappy ending

Beware all travellers and especially trusting pensioners.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed just one night here and overall were pleased with our room - although we did have to ask for the pillows to be changed so not exactly a ringing endorsement! However the room was nicely appointed with a modern bathroom, hot running water and nice shower!! The room rate wasn't that cheap though... we had dinner at the restaurant, which was okay but nothing special.... service was painfully slow too, but the staff were nice and tried their very best to please. Breakfast in the morning was included in our room rate and was very good and included a mix of hot food, toast, coffee etc and was nice. Next to the hotel is a small beach, which was very dirty and I don't think the hotel offered beautiful views as other commentators suggest but I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Overlooking the sea on Fort Cochin with lovely sea breezes to keep you cool while you read comfortably in the garden or by the pool or admire the sunset.Rooms well furnished and reasonably clean. Restaurant well overpriced and breakfast very poor for the price paid.No alcohol here but available 10 minutes walk away.No outside telephone line !No travel desk or entertainment as advertised.Only one part functional restaurant. two problems that were quite serious. One the staff let a Tuk Tuk driver in to stand over us haranque us while we ate our evening meal and secondly our taxi was not ordered to take us to the airport. This was potentially a drastic mistake as it's a one and a half hour drive.The Hotel should have been better it was overpriced,under occupied and over staffed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I stay in the United Arab Emirates and have hectic work schedule. We planned to visit Munnar,Kerela but on one of my husbands frind recommdaation stayed for 2 nights at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, Fort Cochin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our rooms were clean, the dosa's and sambar great, the sea view fantastic and most importatnt the staff were very nice and friendly. We have stayed in numerous hotels, some good and many bad experiences, but our stay here was definately one of the good ones and I would love to go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and i stayed in 2 different hotels in Fort Cochin last week. The Old Lighthouse Bristow was ranked fairly high on TripAdvisor. However, we got stained towels and the floor in our room was not swept. The location is convenient to all the tourist attractions but i expected more for the money we paid. The Western breakfast menu was boring but Indian guests can ask for special items from the chef. Compared to Brunton Boatyard (we had a meal there) and Malabar House (we spent 2 nites there), we will give the Old Lighthouse a miss the next time around unless the management takes pride in the property with higher standards of upkeep. Roy (Singapore)

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, General Manager at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Mr. Roy,

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our hotel. We do understand that you were not satisfied with the service provided by us and we have taken the matter very seriously. In our operations of 2 years this is the first time we encountered such an issue and we as management have addressed the issue by removing staff and replacing them with more efficient staff immediately.
We believe that customer care is of utmost importance and will ensure that we provide the best services to our guests, first time, every time.
We hope and wish that you visit us again and give us the opportunity to prove that you are important to us and making you comfortable means a lot to us.
We thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards
Suraj Rajkumar
Vice President
Oldlighthouse Bristow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Property: Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Address: Beach Road, | next to INS Dronacharya, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#53 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic luxury heritage boutique hotel in Fort Kochi. This is the latest treasure that has been created with great outdoor dining by the sea, one of the only spas that offers both western and traditional treatments in the area, and an infinity pool with great views of the sea and the English style garden. The indoor lounge is fantastic for a relaxing evening. The lighthouse bears witness to many a ship passing by and the ships that sail by seem to walk into the property. The hotel was the residence of the founder of Cochin port Sir Robert Bristow and has been receiving great reviews from all its guests. The hotel is a true sanctuary to relax and rediscover yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing