We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Ranked #181 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bangalore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel is an hidden gem. We were more than pleased with our stay. The hotel staff went out of their way to render our stay as pleasant as possible.The interiors are beautiful and the view outstanding. We had two excellent meals and could not be more pleased.
Rooms were clean and well maintained. Food was also okay. I wish there were some more stuff.
Could not expect more than what we were offered. The complete experience was superb. Loved this hotel. I will surely go for this hotel if i revisit this place.
Best Experience: It was a family trip so the whole experience was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    140
    44
    24
    16
See reviews for
112
189
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last month, it is a lovely quiet hotel with huge rooms and bathroom. the food is good as is the service, and it faces the ocean so a nice spot to sit and relax. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ron0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in that hotel and had a very comfortable and spacious room. The house is nice and has a modern look, although it is styled in a colonial way. Right in front of it, you can sit and have some drinks or coffee in a great atmosphere.

It is perfectly situated on the wonderfully looking beach front - and in walking distance to the most important sights in Fort Kochin.

The restaurant serves delicious south-indian food (it also has a wide variety of international food, but we did not try it).

The most striking experience in this hotel was the friendliness of the staff, though. It is hard to pin down "friendliness" on some facts, but everybody seemed to be truly caring. After only 2 nights, it felt a bit like leaving some friends.

There were two minor issues as well - some travellers not used to indian standards might find that the bathrooms are not as perfectly clean like a typical western counterpart. (Writing this, I stay at the Vivanta Taj, the most expansive hotel in Kochin and the room here is as clean as at the Old Lighthouse). And number 2 might be that the price on food is relatively high - but not as high as some typically western places/ cafes in Kochin.

All in all, this was so far the most pleasing hotel I encountered in India. Should we ever make it back to Kochin, we will happily stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Markoff_Chainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel in fort kochi is a beautiful property to visit with family and friends.. ambiance is excellent. food is amazing ..rooms are awesome. the restaurant facing the beach is great. overall my trip was unforgettable at the hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomglow321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

It took about 1 hour from the airport to the hotel by taxi. When we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed by a wonderful view of the Arabian sea behind the entrance. We took a breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The sea breeze was so comfortable that we spent a lot of time just looking at the sea and waves. The hotel is best rated by its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kenichi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

the bristow finds its mention in almost all historic references in kochi , and we almost did not stay here as we good a little worried about the property as we read the reviews on trip advisor , well when we reached there we were pleasantly surprised and for the first time what the hotel web site says is correct, the location is excellent , the rooms are good and well appointed , the service in the restaurant is a bit slow, however all those who come here are on a vacation so we think the time doesn't matter as much and the view from the restaurant is spectacular , you dont actually miss much . the rooms have some mosquitoes but manageable, the large suites are excellent , the pool villas are not so great and plus the hotel keeps having parties which is a problem , the staff is good and helpful, in all a good experience , if you are staying in fort kochi - THIS IS THE PLACE.

Room Tip: avoid the pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshududwadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is situated by the banks of the sea and our room was facing it. We had an amazing couple of days here. The food spead is very limited but the staff are really friendly and always willing to help. You might want to avoid the rainy season as you might not be able to spend enough time enjoying the outdoors of the hotel

Room Tip: We took the Deluxe Room, 1 Double Bed, Sea View. I would strongly recommend this as the balcony face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richietanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#67 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#34 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Property: Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Address: Beach Road, | next to INS Dronacharya, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#47 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic luxury heritage boutique hotel in Fort Kochi. This is the latest treasure that has been created with great outdoor dining by the sea, one of the only spas that offers both western and traditional treatments in the area, and an infinity pool with great views of the sea and the English style garden. The indoor lounge is fantastic for a relaxing evening. The lighthouse bears witness to many a ship passing by and the ships that sail by seem to walk into the property. The hotel was the residence of the founder of Cochin port Sir Robert Bristow and has been receiving great reviews from all its guests. The hotel is a true sanctuary to relax and rediscover yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing