We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home away from home”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent home away from home”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Excellent and warm hospitality, well furnished, clean and neat rooms and toilets, delicious food, friendly and willing to help staff. Free internet Wi-Fi access and roof top swimming pool facility. Close to most touristic locations in fort Cochin.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshrafElsharif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    148
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
164
340
62
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Just returned from a holiday in Kerala and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. We were greeted warmly by the staff, the rooms are spotless and the ambience great. Location is ideal for going out and discovering the town. Food was good, although I think the menu could be expanded a little. Free internet access in the lobby which is a welcome perk, compared with 5* hotels who charge for absolutely everything! Altogether a delightful experience and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

There are many hotel and guest houses in India. Most of them are friendly, but amateurs. That’s the different ting with Tissa’s Inn.

We got a warm welcoming by the staff with cold lemonade drinks. The room was clean and the bathroom was big and you feel like you are in a 4 star hotel. The free Wi-Fi in the lobby saves some time and money for all must doing things at home.

The best thing with Tissa’s is the staff. They are warm, friendly, flexible and professional. The manager Francis and the staff will help you with everything from day activitys to choosing the best shopping area and restaurant.

We planned to stay two nights, but we extended for one more night and we planned our whole journey so we could come back to Tissa's before we left Kerala.

Tissa's Inn made our visit to one of the best memories during our Kerala trip.

Hanif & Zandra

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanif_Azizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is the place to stay in Fort Kochi, hands down. I lived in India for over 5 months and without a doubt it's the best accommodation I had - maybe in life. It's clean and beautiful. The staff are friendly & accommodating. You can stop your search here, you found your haven in Kerala. Lovely, lovely place. I will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Almost a year since our trip to Cochin, it's a reflection on the specialness Tissa's Inn that staying there remains the highlight of our memories of our month in India. It may not be the only hotel with tasteful rooms and tranquil atmosphere, but the graciousness and unobtrusive helpfulness of the staff makes it outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

From the first moment I sent an email enquiry to the moment we checked out, it was nothing short of warmth & professionalism from the family (I would not call them staff!) at Tissa's Inn. Mr Francis is like a father to us -- genuine, warm, caring and wanting just the best experience for us. He shared his friends with us, including some Kathakali and Kalaripatlyattu experts he knew cos we were personally interested, and also shared his Ayurvedic doctor so that we could go there for a soothing fill body massage and shirodhara treatment. Christine at reception is also wonderful efficient & with such a pretty smile! Our stay at Tissa's Inn was perfect and made Kerala special for us. We stayed there from 1-6 Nov and will now be our home in Kerala whenever we ate back... and we will be back! Its location at Fort Cochin is perfect, so near too to Idiom Bookstore. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haaltert
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had a very nice stay a this hotel. Very nice people. The accommodation was fantastic!
Francis and his staff are super!!!! Thanks for everything. We're never forget this!

A lots of Greets,

Ines en Sven from Belgium

Room Tip: Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing