We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great introduction to India”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great introduction to India”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Tissa's Inn was a tranquil introduction to a loud and proud India. This was our first time to India and after a very oganised collection by taxi from the airport we arrived at Tissa's in the morning to a clean room and comfortable bed that was made available to us immediately. The staff are lovely and it's a great location for the Chinese fishing nets and just to get used to being in India.
Would highly recommend. Thank you to everyone.
Liz and Lester

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    148
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
164
340
62
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were 2 families and stayed at Tissa's for 2 days in early Apr'13. We had chosen Tissa's after looking at reviews in Tripadvisor (which I usually do) and were little apprehensive as most of the reviews were from foreigners and not from seasoned reviewers. However, we were delighted with the property and had a wonderful stay. Putting down the key positives and not-so-goods below.

Positives:
- Clean and hygienic
- Spacious rooms
- Very helpful staff and manager. They helped us in organizing all the sightseeing and houseboat stay.
- Restaurant in hotel
- Basic shops in the vicinity
- Small pool at rooftop (good enough for nice soaking time)
- Wifi in common area

Can Improve
- Bathroom should have shower glass separators. Overall Bathroom layout is very ordinary and doesn't match with the room
- Non-slippery tiles/ mats to be put in the area outside pool and in the bathrooms
- Some items in the restaurant menu are exorbitant and not at all worth the money. Should be re-looked.

Would surely recommend.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JainSumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I expected a bit more of this place, but it was not that great.
First we had a room on the ground floor. There was only 1 small window, so the room was a bit dark. We had a lot of ants, so we requested for another room on the first floor. The new room was much better. Much bigger and higher.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noledam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights at this small & cute property with family. We were unsure of where this place is. If one is willing to walk 500 meters it is a great property to stay in Fort Kochi. Almost all places are walkable. The service in this property was excellent from the manager, to the front office, house keeping, etc. People are pleasant and knowledgable. The cute pool on the roof was such a pleasant surprise for the afternoon Sun.
The restaurant could be more lively but it is no price to pay for access and service. if one prefers several eating choices exist within walking distance.
If we go back to Fort Kochi - we will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarahblahsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

at Tissa's Inn! A year after my first stay there, I found my return to Tissa's Inn as warm and welcoming as before. Mr. Francis and his staff saw to all our needs, even presenting me with flowers when they found out it was my birthday. They went extra miles to cater an intimate dinner in the cozy dining room at short notice. Well-traveled relatives who happen to live in the vicinity of Cochin were in attendance and were as impressed as I, a "foreigner", by the food and service. They also approved of the comfortable rooms and pleasant atmosphere. Thank you again for everything, Mr. Francis and staff; I hope it won't be too long before I can visit again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kressbronn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for four days in that great location. We staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean. We really loved the roof terrasse with swimming pool. Overall we had a perfect stay in Tissa's Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having cut short our stay in Alleppey due to poor accommodation, we were assured by the staff at Tissa's Inn that we would not be disappointed, and they were absolutely right.

Welcomed by Francis and his extremely friendly staff, we found the small but well run Tissa's Inn an absolute delight. Our room was spacious, and had been cleaned to an extremely high standard. A delicious Indian breakfast of fruit followed by a different local dish everyday, was served up by yet more friendly staff. A small pool was situated on the rooftop, and was great for a refreshing dip in the morning or at the end of a hot day.

Staff arranged a backwater excursion as well as a pick up from Alleppey and a ride to the Kochi airport. As we had an early flight to Mumbia, and would miss breakfast, staff happily arrange a takeaway breakfast for us.

The hotel was one of the slightly more expensive of our trip, however Tissa's Inn represented the best value for money of our entire holiday! A wonderful hotel, a blueprint for how all small hotels should be run!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing