We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend highly enough - wonderful experience”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Can't recommend highly enough - wonderful experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had a fantastic time here with my girlfriend, and would recommend it to anyone.

The room was beautifully designed and furnished; the rooftop pool and terrace was fantastic; the service was first-class; the food was excellent; and the value was probably the best of any hotel I've been to.

We took one of the smaller rooms, which was nonetheless plenty big enough for two, and with a spacious bathroom. All the extras were there, from bathrobes to a welcome drink - and these were welcome after a few weeks backpacking! The bed was large and comfy, the room pristine and the shower powerful and hot.

We made use of the pool, which was a refreshingly peaceful oasis from the chaos of Indian towns and had a great breakfast the next morning. But best of all were the staff, who allowed us to leave a couple of bags there while we went on a motorbike trip - and even invited us in to get cleaned up when we came back a few days later, soaking wet and filthy from the road!

This was definitely the most enjoyable stay of our 7 weeks in India - thanks, everyone at Tissa's :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrowlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    148
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
166
340
63
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Staying at Tissas turned out to be a very wonderful experience, one of the best deals during our 4 weeks Indian journey. The place is just like heaven. Located centrally but not too noisy, the hotel interior is decorated with many antique statues. Rooms are very tidy, service staff is very speedy, always smiling and very helpful. The food we tasted at the restautant was very yummy (great chicken - tomatoes sandwiches). The roof top pool is small but great for kids.
The only thing I wish to improve at Tissas is the WiFI speed. It is very slow and only works in the lobby. I advice to make faster Internet available inside the rooms.
When we come back to Cochin we will stay at Tissas Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creil, France
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

i stayed six nigths in tissa inn from the 15september untill the 21 september 2013 ,for the onam festival,it was a very nice place all was clean: the room ,the bed ,the swimming pool,the staff was great because i arrived earlier in the mornig around 5 am,the reception gave me soap ,towel for taking a bath before having the room,they make me a breakfast,it was very good,they send me a driver at the aiport of kochi for pick up,every day,the breakfast was included in the room price,,the staff is very smart and the mananger of the hotel too,i am sure i will come back to this hotel because it is a very quite place,you can find all what you need around the hotel,thank you very much .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gharibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived here a little jet lagged after a long flight at the start of our holiday and found this the perfect place to relax and introduce to the wonders of India. The staff are very attentive but not over bearing and gave us a free room upgrade on arrival. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished and the rooftop pool, although small is a great little bonus. The restaurant is very good with a decent but not overwhelming selection of Indian fare in an understated environment. My only negative (and it is such a minuscule one) would be that the fort kochi map they handed out at reception was completely useless - roads where there shouldn't have been roads and others missing where they should be - and resulted in us getting a little lost on our first day. In short, keep up the good work Tissa's!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Had a lovely stay overall at Tissa's Inn. The staff were friendly and a nice touch was that several different staff members would stop in and see how i was was each day, and added personal touches and comments. My room was very nice on first impression. On closer inspection there were a couple of dodgy areas (e.g. patches of damp, back of bathroom door was pretty dirty). Mosquito-free though, which was great. Good location near to Basilica and Fishing Nets and Kathakali performance. Food was good, though a bit too Western for my liking. Was slightly annoyed when at front desk i heard them quote someone a cheaper rate for a room that i had paid...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased from our stay at the Tissa s Inn. It s a very nice hotel, peaceful, in a perfect location, the room is a good size, and is well decorated. But most of all the staff was very nice and friendly, they were always available and made us feel confortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Tissa Inn lived upto the reviews and it is indeed a wonderful place. Fort Cochin is a quiet locality and this property is as mentioned earlier really relaxing.
Landmark places like Dutch Palace, Jew Town, Jewish Synagogue, St Francis Church and Chinese nets are nearby. This location is well connected to other parts of the Cochin and Hotel management can arrange the visits as per the interest. They were very helpful to us in suggesting and guiding to the places to visit.
One thing very much appealed to me in this property is that they don't supply cigarettes and serve alcohol.
If you are visiting Kerala particularly Cochin, you must go for boat ride.
Smiling receptionists, helpful staff, good and spacious rooms made my stay in Cochin memorable. I thank Sanitha, Melvin and Christina for their hospitality and special thanks to Francis who is behind all of these.
Breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreenivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.3 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing