We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a well hidden gem in Cochin and ideally located for shopping.
A sophisticated and elegant hotel and yet not overstated. The rooms were very clean, the service was friendly and very personable in the restaurant.
The staff had the most amazing friendly bright smiles I had ever come across on my trip to India. A faultless and honest team who went out of their way to help and make our stay comfortable.
I cannot recommend the Tissa's Inn enough.
I would definitely return..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at Tissa's Inn in November with a large group of family members.
Staff are very nice. The rooms are clean and lovely. The decor is also very pleasant.
Breakfast was fine, as usual with India, service can be spotty, it may take awhile to get your coffee or tea etc but we live here so we are used to it.
I highly recommend Tissa's Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The rooms are clean, well appointed and air-conditioned, the staff are friendly and helpful, and there's WiFi to boot. It was so nice that we stayed there twice.

If you need a car, they will set that up but be aware that the price is much higher than if you venture into town and set it up yourself.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great small hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The room and bathroom were a little dark - they looked onto the building next door - but clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good also. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Tissa's Inn before moving on to other parts of Kerala. It was so nice and so comfortable I came back for a 5th night before I flew out of India. It is a small hotel, (about 10 rooms) but spotlessly clean and the rooms and bed are very comfortable. There are some lovely antiques and artifacts around the place. The Wifi was as good as one can expect in India. There were 2 periods that it was down but that was due to external influences and not the fault of the hotel.

The staff are what make the hotel. They could not have been more friendly and accommodating. It is an extremely well run hotel. There are not a lot of staff but they are all very good at their jobs and seem to run their areas effortlessly. My thanks to Christine, Sanathi and Arun on the front desk, Raju the night manager (who hunted down every last mosquito in my room with great care) and Vishnu in the dining room. They are all delightful people and behaved as though it was a great pleasure to help.

My only criticism is that the dining room has strict serving hours. Dinner is not available until after 7-30pm. That is too late for me so I ate out every night. Also there were not many local Kerala dishes to choose from. I had a wonderful masala dosa one morning for breakfast but I would have loved to have had the choice of other local dishes.

But all in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DewiLakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall Tissa's Inn filled all of our expectations as a comfortable and well run hotel. The staff is friendly and professional, the rooms are stylish, well tended to and comfortable. The only slight flaw is that the hotel claims to provide free wifi service, but this is not the case. There is an attempt to provide a wireless network, but it is far too weak to be really usable, and goes on and off constantly. There is a PC in the lobby with an internet connection though, which is free.
The location is quite good, in a relatively quiet part of the fort area, yet close to the main sights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StijnDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in Cochin.
The rooms are very nice and well decorated.
There is a swimming pool on the roof which is nice and clean.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was standard but good.
There is no wifi in the rooms but free wifi in the lobby.
I recommend !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
335 reviews
0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam , Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing