We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and value”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This homely boutique hotel has all the right qualities for a comfortable stay in Kochi. Friendly and gracious staff complement a feeling of home from home. Rooms are comfortable and spotless but upstairs is better for a quieter sleep. Very nice breakfast, refreshing pool and outdoor relaxing area on the roof. Hotel manager, reception staff, waiter, cleaning staff and driver offer professional service with genuine warmth and kindness. Well located and easy walking distance of fishing nets and nearby amenities and a short tuk tuk ride from interesting Jew town. Recommended for quality and value.

Room Tip: Upstairs is much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely little hotel, with large air conditioned rooms fitted with lovingly preserved old furniture. I cannot fault anything in the rooms, they were excellent.

There is a small pool on the roof, which we didn't try and a small area for sunbathing in the same area.

My only gripe about this hotel was the lack of a licence. At this price point I think a hotel should be able to provide a beer, or be clear in its advertising that it does not. Many hotels in India do not have licences, but find ways to provide customer's with the occasional cold beer at the end of a hot day.The no alcohol stance by the hotel seems to be a matter of policy (possibly even religious in origin): there are cards in the rooms saying that guests should not consume alcohol in their rooms.

As a result of the above policy we did not try the restaurant. The manager directed us to a restaurant which he said did serve beer. It did, but the food was aweful! Our own research discovered the very good Malabar House for the second night.

Breakfast is basic, omelette and toast or India dishes.

Wifi did not work in our room so we had to sit in one of the nice communal seating areas to use it.

In summary, if you not bothered about a beer, this is a very nice place to stay. If you do like a cold beer at the end of a day baking in 30 degree plus humid heat, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good location. Easy walk to attractions in all directions. WIFI did not work in room; OK in hallways and at computer desk.

Staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. Breakfasts were tasty and varied, service slows down when room fills.

Rooms are super clean and reasonably quiet. Hot water lacking in the mornings. Because the hotel was full we were given Room 2 on the ground floor opposite the restaurant - not very private. Moved to Room 5 promptly the next morning. Much better.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very pleasant staff, always a smile and a chat. Clean, modern, comfortable air conditioned room. The free wifi was a bit weak so had to go to the lobby to use it.
I would avoid the restaurant - although the food was OK the service was INCREDIBLY slow. Always with a smile tho...;-)
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very helpful staff and comfortable rooms. We didn't try out the pool but the restaurant served tasty food although it was very quiet when we were there. Just a few minutes walk from the Main Street in Fort Kochi. They also arranged our airport pick up and onward transport along with a day trip to the back waters - great service even before we arrived!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a well hidden gem in Cochin and ideally located for shopping.
A sophisticated and elegant hotel and yet not overstated. The rooms were very clean, the service was friendly and very personable in the restaurant.
The staff had the most amazing friendly bright smiles I had ever come across on my trip to India. A faultless and honest team who went out of their way to help and make our stay comfortable.
I cannot recommend the Tissa's Inn enough.
I would definitely return..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at Tissa's Inn in November with a large group of family members.
Staff are very nice. The rooms are clean and lovely. The decor is also very pleasant.
Breakfast was fine, as usual with India, service can be spotty, it may take awhile to get your coffee or tea etc but we live here so we are used to it.
I highly recommend Tissa's Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
925 reviews
0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam , Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing