We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay at in Fort Kochi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at in Fort Kochi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Tissa’s Inn is a beautiful little property at Fort Kochi. The only drawback to this place is that it is two hours from the international airport. The location is great – walking distance from most restaurants, and tourist attractions. The interiors of the property are beautiful and seem to be done up with a lot of love and attention to detail. Every floor (every corner, really) of the property has been decorated aesthetically. Make sure to walk up to the roof – and check out all the floors while you do – and soak up some sun and maybe take a dip in the rooftop pool.

Our room too was very well done. And thank God there was air conditioning; Kochi is a hot place even in the winter months. Most importantly – the bathrooms were clean and also nicely done up which was a very pleasant surprise.

The staff is eager to help and cordial. The manager of the hotel is very helpful too and may be able to suggest good places to visit around. The restaurant is known for its seafood dishes, but we didn’t get the chance to try these. Breakfast, though, was really nice.

Tissa’s Inn is a great option for a couple days’ stay in Kochi – its walking distance from the bustling beach too.

Room Tip: General tip for the whole of Kochi - ensure you carry a lot of mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karishmalulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    143
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
164
334
61
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

As a travel writer for World-Adventurer, I have visited many different hotels around the world.

My friend and I chose Tissa's Inn based on its reviews and ranking on this site and we were not disappointed.

There are a few points that stand out:

1. Service: The front desk staff go out of their way to help you in anyway they can. We arrived early and they helped us get situated so we could enjoy the pool and tour the town while the room was getting prepared. They also booked a last minute tour for us which was great.

2. Location: If you are looking to stay in Fort Kochi, this hotel is right in the center of town. It's easy to get to any of the sites, but if you are going to Jew Town, I suggest hopping into an auto rickshaw.

3. Decoration: The owner's of the hotel also own the famous "Crafter's" antique store. That means the beautiful antiques decorating the hotel are all real and handpicked from a huge selection. The antique store is worth a visit alone (better than a museum!)

We had a great comfortable stay in Kochi.

For pictures and the full review, please check my website.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel, simply and tastefully decorated with Indian art/antiques. In fact owner also owns an antique store in town. Not much we can add to the other positive reviews here. Reception was always gracious. They arranged a backwaters trip for us with Dax, who has his own travel agency. We would highly recommend him to those particularly interested in backwaters culture, local life. Very fluent in English, easygoing, and knowledgeable. Also recommend rickshaw driver Achu who often waits outside Tissa's. Limited English, but a super good guy and driver. He adopted us early on in our stay and found us several interesting sites and a festival we might not known of earlier.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We spent one night at the Tissa's inn and we appreciated many things in our stay. In particular, the welcome of the staff needs to be mentioned. We were offered a glass of fruit juice when we arrived, and we appreciated. The hotel is well decorated and the hall gives a sensation of peace and freshness.
However, the room we were attributed was quite small and dark, even if we have nothing to complain about the cleanliness, which was perfect, and the furniture.
The breakfast was a little bit too light and mainly the price was very high in comparison with the level of the hotel.

Room Tip: our room was at the ground floor. It may be better to have a room at a higher level;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amassiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was fantastic. The staff were wonderful and would do anything for us. So thank you Christina, Sanitha and Arun. Spotless hotel, beautiful room (number 7 was ace). Lovely rooftop pool. Great service and can highly recommend. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a nice view of trees and is very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCLeeds2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is where you come for a spoil in your travels, what a wonderful surprise. I melted into my clean luxurious room and the stay was heaven in every way. The staff bend over backwards for you especially when I had to send things home and dealing with the postal system. It was a joy to be there. Wi Fi is in a corner of the foyer and that could do with a fan or stronger air conditioner..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had stayed at this hotel for only one night. Had expected indifferent service as my stay was so short. But was pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the staff who went out of the way to help. Keep up the good work! The decor of the hotel was nice. The rooms were comfortable. Since I had gone off season, room tariffs were reasonable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun_Krish85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing