We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #7 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well run hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February. The staff were friendly and all facilities were very clean. Breakfasts were good but limited. Refreshments were available at other times, but no alcohol is available. It is situated on a busy road with no space around it, but is within walking distance of local attractions and restaurants. There is a small swimming pool on the roof, with reclining chairs in a covered area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    148
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
170
344
63
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We did not stay at Tissa's Inn but had an excellent meal in the restaurant there. Good food cooked fresh and with varied tastes. Not expensive, especially given the quality of the restaurant. The service was excellent without being excessive.

Room Tip: A good, quiet place for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I thought this hotel was overpriced for the standard of service, Food and general ambience.
The locations not great squeezed in between other buildings no outside space, pool on roof top ok but small. Room ok, clean, the breakfast was dreadful the cheapest food, no choice, no menu, no staff. Stayed 2 nights complained after first night, told things would be better next day, but there was no change!
The hotel is just about OK, considering the choice in Fort Cochin why stay here, very overpriced for what's on offer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwestUKRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family in early February. The rooms are large and well decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful. The roof top pool is on the small side but it was always empty when we used it and was kept really clean. Location is prefect for exploring Fort Cochin, everything is in walking distance, and the hotel are happy to arrange taxis at a low price when we were venturing further afield. The Indian breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our stay in Kerala. We found the hotel staff to be very kind and accommodating during our stay. It was refreshing that they don't encourage individual tipping but have a staff box at reception (which I had to ask for at the end of our stay) and this was evident with nobody hanging around for their tip. Our room (8) was towards the back of the hotel and was lovely with modern decor but also a traditional feel with the furnishings and a nice bathroom. We didn't have dinner in the hotel so unable to comment on that but we were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast cooked for you rather than yet another buffet. We found plenty to choose from with fresh fruit, cereal or porridge, eggs cooked as you liked and toast etc. There is a small pool on the roof top but they could do with a few more sun beds as it can get busy later in the afternoon. All in all a lovely stay and compared to some of the other more expensive hotels we stayed in I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravel-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the 4 nights we spent at Tissa's Inn at the start of our visit to Kerala. All of the staff were friendly and helpful; and the managers, Christina and Sanita, helped us, with a lovely mixture of grace and wit, to plan and book our trips around Kochin and on up to the Malabar Coast and the Western Ghats. The hotel is well placed in the centre of the town, in easy walking distance of everywhere. It's a stylish, thoughtful conversion of a substantial former mansion. The rooms are extremely comfortable (with great bed linen) and the whole place is immaculately clean. There is both air conditioning - with effective thermostats - and excellent fans which you can mix and match flexibly. We loved the antiques that have been skilfully installed through out the public spaces and the bedrooms. We spent an entertaining couple of hours on one afternoon exploring Crafters - the vast, antiques warehouse in Jew Town that belongs to the same company (there's a huge amount of stock - and it was fun to recognise examples of the pieces their interior designer had used in the refurbishment of Tissa's Inn). We especially liked the huge roof-terrace, which is surrounded by a canopy of trees from neighbouring gardens, and spent several happy late afternoons up there, drinking tea (all of the rooms have an electric kettle and a selection of tea/coffee), watching the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights and loved the place. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Good breakfast (which was complimentary). Very close to most tourist attractions. Wifi was restricted to lobby in the hotel. Connection in the room was not good. Will definitely go back again when we visit fort cochin next!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonBourne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,004 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#17 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing