We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our holida”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #12 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

An excellent hotel with friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms and centrally situated for exploring Kochi. Breakfast was comprehensive but lacked the quail we experienced at other places in Kerala. Incredibly clean throughout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Tissa's Inn is a gem. Spotless rooms, excellent food in the restaurant, helpful and friendly staff, and a rooftop pool for a before breakfast swim. Great location for exploring Fort Cochin, too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February. The staff were friendly and all facilities were very clean. Breakfasts were good but limited. Refreshments were available at other times, but no alcohol is available. It is situated on a busy road with no space around it, but is within walking distance of local attractions and restaurants. There is a small swimming pool on the roof, with reclining chairs in a covered area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We did not stay at Tissa's Inn but had an excellent meal in the restaurant there. Good food cooked fresh and with varied tastes. Not expensive, especially given the quality of the restaurant. The service was excellent without being excessive.

Room Tip: A good, quiet place for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mathai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I thought this hotel was overpriced for the standard of service, Food and general ambience.
The locations not great squeezed in between other buildings no outside space, pool on roof top ok but small. Room ok, clean, the breakfast was dreadful the cheapest food, no choice, no menu, no staff. Stayed 2 nights complained after first night, told things would be better next day, but there was no change!
The hotel is just about OK, considering the choice in Fort Cochin why stay here, very overpriced for what's on offer

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwestUKRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family in early February. The rooms are large and well decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful. The roof top pool is on the small side but it was always empty when we used it and was kept really clean. Location is prefect for exploring Fort Cochin, everything is in walking distance, and the hotel are happy to arrange taxis at a low price when we were venturing further afield. The Indian breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our stay in Kerala. We found the hotel staff to be very kind and accommodating during our stay. It was refreshing that they don't encourage individual tipping but have a staff box at reception (which I had to ask for at the end of our stay) and this was evident with nobody hanging around for their tip. Our room (8) was towards the back of the hotel and was lovely with modern decor but also a traditional feel with the furnishings and a nice bathroom. We didn't have dinner in the hotel so unable to comment on that but we were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast cooked for you rather than yet another buffet. We found plenty to choose from with fresh fruit, cereal or porridge, eggs cooked as you liked and toast etc. There is a small pool on the roof top but they could do with a few more sun beds as it can get busy later in the afternoon. All in all a lovely stay and compared to some of the other more expensive hotels we stayed in I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SussexTravel-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam , Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £78 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing