We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Favourite hotel in India so far, we had a lovely relaxing stay, the staff are really attentive and genuinely friendly. Everyone we met seemed to be really enjoying it too.

Gorgeous property with fantastic attention to detail.

One tip: There will be drivers outside wanting to take you on a cheap tour of Kochin, they will bring you to interesting places, but these drivers also get commission to take you to shops.

We went to maybe 4 places of interest, and it was lovely, and the driver Shibu, had great english and told us lots of stuff. However he also took us to 4 shops, and we would have nearly preferred to pay him what we earned them in commission, to NOT be dragged into shops.

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs beside reception, a bit too close for my liking, but it did not affect the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverstork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    148
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
166
340
63
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Very good place on the center. Good service and all what you need for a very good room in cochi. Quite and big room number 7. Nothing bad to say only good words. New place and everything nice. Few minutes to go to all sites in fort cochi

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzahilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Six adults stayed here for three nights at the end of our two week Kerala Holiday Feb 2014. From the moment we arrived until they waved us goodbye, the service was exceptional! They knew it was my husband and my wedding anniversary and upon entering our room I got emotional when I saw how lovingly they decorated our bed with rose petals and fresh jasmine in the shape of a heart.

The service continued to impress us from the high quality of attention at every turn. At one point, Arun, noticed I was having a hard time using Skype and he found me a set of headphones to use and brought it to me at the computer - I have no idea he had noticed my struggle! The hotel is only four years old and is in excellent condition, very, very clean and modern with beautiful Indian art placed throughout. The food was good, and the staff were outstanding! Helping us plan our day, guiding us on where to shop (and where not to) restaurant suggestions and booking all our transport. Sarita even walked us to the Kathakali theatre on her way home (which despite what she said, was out of her way) to ensure we did not get lost.

The hotel is located right in the centre of Fort Cochin and walking distance to many sites and places to eat. Ricshaw's are easily available and the staff will help you in anyway that you need.

My parents loved it so much they spent an extra few days at the hotel and I am grateful to Christina, Raju and Vishnu and the rest of the team for taking such good care of us. I have travelled around the world and enjoy staying in five-star hotels. If I could, I wish I could stay at Tissa's Inn everytime I went on holiday and that I could have the same staff as we were treated with the utmost respect, thoughtfulness and warmth. Thank you! I hope I will be able to come back.

Room Tip: The room at the front can be noisy. Second floor rooms are best. Room 9 is perfect as most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

It's great when first impressions are maintained. Service here was good from beginning to end and every thing we asked was completed in a friendly and timely manner. After baking in the car on our drive over from the station we were glad to arrive. We were warmly welcomed and all the details of our stay were confirmed. Our room was lovely and cool on arrival and we were offered welcome drinks in our room shortly after settling in. The room was in great condition and the free Wifi was very handy too. The breakfast each morning was a tasty selection of made to order Indian and Western dishes, though on the first day it was not obvious on how the ordering system worked. In short we would definitely recommend Tissa's Inn to anyone staying in the area.

The hotel is well located for Fort Cochin and Mattencherry areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is very well located to explore Fort Cochin. The staff were very helpful and confirmed flights home for us and ensured that our check our at 1.30am went smoothly. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the roof top pool refreshing after a day's sight seeing. Only had breakfast which was fine but not a highlight. We had evening meals at restaurants near the hotel which had been recommended by our guide and which were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a couple of nights at Tissa's Inn at the beginning of a 2 week Kerala visit. Great food, friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Good decor. Convenient for local sights. Would definitely recommend it for a short city break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Wanderers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a small pretty hotel located in a very nice area of Fort Kochi. The jetty is only 5 mins walk away.
We were extremely tired after a long drive from Bangalore (about 10 hours), and just wanted to relax. The check in process was very smooth, and we were in our cosy room within minutes of arriving. They served welcome drinks soon upon our arrival. We fell in love with the room interiors which was full of wooden furniture and good lighting. The bed was very comfortable.
The room was very clean, and so was the toilet. The shower had to be left ON for a while before we got some real hot water, but that was not an issue for us as luke warm water was fine with us. We never asked the staff about the same, and hence cannot complain.

We tried the small restaurant they have on the ground floor, and the food was good. There was not much of a choice offered at breakfast buffet, but whatever was served satisfied our hungry souls.There was this one waiter, who was extremely polite and well behaved.
The staff is very courteous, always wearing a smile. They even offered us umbrella's when we had to go out in the rains.

The pool is located on the terrace, and given that the hotel has only a few rooms, you do not find many people using it at any given time. It almost works like a private pool.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, and I think it was better than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.3 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing