We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location just outside 'Backpakistan'”
Review of Vintage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vintage Inn
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location just outside 'Backpakistan'”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Fort Cochin is definitely worth a visit and this hotel is situated in the perfect area just outside the backpacker district which centers around Princess street. The 5 min walk allows you a bit more bang for your buck as well as a safer and quieter nights sleep. I would recommend always traveling with a torch at night as there were lots of power cuts in the area during our stay!

The service at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable.

The wifi connection was the best we had in India! We had a perfect connection in our room and really made use of this, catching up on correspondence as well as downloading series!

I would definitely recommend the Vintage Inn and I'm sure we will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojofair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    41
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
47
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We arrived in Fort Cochin with the name of a popular homestay scribbled on a scrap of paper. Sorry, full up. For the next hour, we walked around the vicinity politely fending off eager-to-assist rickshaw drivers with "cheap accommodation prices" whilst we looked for somewhere suitable.
Vintage Inn is one of those places you let your friends know about, with the proviso that they don't tell too many other people in case the charm wears off. It is located close enough - but not in the heart of Princess St, where all the action is centered around - and I'd suggest this is an advantage if you're looking for a quieter environment after busy sightseeing activity. Family-run and friendly management who are very helpful in connecting you with a dependable driver for the day, airport transfers, etc.
Rooms were enormous, as were the bath/ wetrooms. Wi-Fi connection fine. And the overhead fan helped a lot. There is a nice breakfast veranda where you can start the day, connecting with other travellers and the menu is inexpensive. And, there certainly enough to keep you occupied nearby - artsy cafes with great food and good shopping opportunities. Fort Cochin was particularly charming and I'd certainly hope to stay at Vintage Inn again on a return trip.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor room are quieter, and also pricier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomad_class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights when we first arrived in India, and will be going back before we fly home. Perfect location - quiet, but within easy walking distance of attractions. Large, clean rooms and friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1066cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Vintage Inn is the most charming and friendly guest house I've stayed in during my trip to India. The management are really friendly and they take really good care of the house. The rooms are a decent size and they are spotless. They do a really reasonably priced breakfast between 7:00 -11:00, the menu is simple but the food is good. We even used the hotels laundry service and was pleasantly surprised to get back really clean and nice smelling clothes that didn't cost the earth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Vintage Inn - one on arrival and two at the end of our 3 week trip. Anthony was very helpful when booking and arranged airport transfers for us. He was always very prompt in replying to emails too!

Our rooms were very spacious and had great wet rooms with hot water...not that you needed hot water when it was hitting 100 degrees! If you want breakfast in the morning you do need to let them know the night before and you can have this on the small shaded outside rooftop terrace or in your room. The home stay was spotless, had clean bed linen, towels and soap and toilet roll in the bathroom.

If you are looking for a good place to stay in Fort Kochi go to the Vintage Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croston
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We extended our stay here to eight days as it offered everything we needed. Mosquito free rooms, hot water, excellent wifi and very fast computer in the lounge for uploading photos etc. Easy walking distance to the centre of town but in a quiet neighbourhood except when there is a temple festival with elephants parading down the street. Great excitement, we loved it!
We had breakfast brought to our terrace every morning, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby, though avoid the one called Bamboo Grove??? as it's right by a drain and full of mosquitos, and unlike Vintage Inn no back up generator for the scheduled power cuts each night.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hilaryholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We spent two nights here and were very happy. Treated ourselves to an A/C room, which was bliss. Room was huge, hot shower in big bathroom. Big windows letting in light. Immaculate room and common areas. English speaking staff, which is helpful at times. Everyone we met was friendly. Great location. Lots of places to eat near by. Beds are a little hard - you know, the ones you find all over India in budget places - so can't really expect different here. Very happy over all and can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#19 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#88 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#14 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ballard Bungalow
The Ballard Bungalow
#105 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Inn

Property: Vintage Inn
Address: Rids Dale Branch Road,, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#29 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Inn is located near Santa Cruz Basilica - Fort Cochin, the historic church which was built by the Portuguese and elevated to a cathedral by Pope Paul IV in 1558. The church was later proclaimed a Basilica in 1984 by Pope John Paul II. Vintage Inn is a family run guesthouse offering bright, airy, spacious and impeccably clean rooms. Most rooms have private balconies and terrace. Watch the palm trees blowing in the wind and listen to the birds. The terrace at tree top level is a delight both for breakfast and evening gatherings. A quite and peaceful location for comfortable homely stay and above all short distances to all famous places in Fort Cochin and Mattanchery. The Inn is surrounded by coconut trees with lovely lawn and garden for the cool evenings.Well-furnished and comfortable lobby Spacious A/c and non A/c rooms with modern amenities and bath attached Terrace (Most Rooms) Breakfast and light refreshments. Laundry Service, 24 hrs hot showers (Solar Water heater) and cold showers Mosquito proof screened windows During power failure - Stand by Generator. International and short distance telephone facility . Internet access , Free WIFI, Village back waters on country boats / house boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Vintage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing