We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient”
Review of Hotel Victory Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victory Dawn
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed for one night and found this hotel to be quite relaxing after a long flight.
The rooms are big and ours was very quiet. We were within walking distance of the attractions that the guide books reccommend seeing. The breakfast was plentiful and the service was good. Just a pleasant stress free stop over.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The hotel looks nice from the outside and SHOULD be a lovely hotel. However, it fails in so many aspects that it is just a disappointment all round.

Positives: The building itself is gorgeous and the location is good. Just a lovely 5 minute walk down to the water through the lovely colonial streets of Fort Cochin. Rooms are very big too with (overly) large bathrooms. Sadly, these are vastly outweighed by the many negatives which are so many I will have to number!

Negatives:

1. We arrived late at night and had trouble accessing the hotel. The reason for this soon became apparent when the quite visibly drunk security man came to the door! We had obviously woken him from his alcohol-fuelled slumber. Getting any sense out of him was nearly impossible and he couldn't quite grasp that we had two rooms booked, despite providing the information on sheets for him to look at. Sadly, the level of service improved little. When we enquired about late check out on our last day we were told this was not possible as the hotel was full. I went online and could immediately book a room. I explained we simply needed a room for 15 mins for a shower before boarding the plane but the staff were not willing to help. The guy said they had a staff room and I explained we were willing to pay to use that but, again, we were given no assistance at all. In the end we checked out on our last day and had a much more pleasant experience at a local homestay, for less than a fifth of the cost of a night here!

2. The building is wasted with old, out of date furniture and looks a bit sad all round. It should be lovely but is not and is an opportunity missed. Same goes for the rooms which all look a bit tired. There are much better value hotels and homestays in the vicinity. Our room on the overnight houseboat was probably nicer overall!

3. There is no safe in the room or, indeed, in the hotel. When we asked about leaving luggage on our last day we were told it would be left in the public room with basically no security at all. No thanks!

4. Breakfast was average at best. There is no selection and the scrambled eggs looked and tasted like they came out a packet. Where is the option of a Kerala breakfast? Having said that, if it was of similar standard to what is currently on offer it would be better avoided.

5. The air con in our room made horrendous noises during our second night before a large block of ice fell from it and smashed in the tanle below. The units looked like they needed replacing but, then again, so did everything else in the room. The double bed was two singles pushed together. Again, given the price of rooms, this is all very poor.

Overall, the experience was underhelming and generally disappointing. I have no doubt there will be other things I have missed which will come back to me later. There are so many nice homestays and hotels about which would be much better in terms of both service and value for money. None of this detracted from a great trip. Cochin itself is well worth a visit. Go...but just stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We only stayed here for one night but found the hotel quite charming and well located. St. Francis Church is just a 2 minute walk away and everything else in Fort Kochi can easily be reached on foot. Rooms are spacious and quite comfortable, nothing fancy though. The bathroom was huge and had a fantastic shower. There are no toiletries though, so bring your own. Try to stay on the first floor. This is also where the breakfast room and terrace are located. It's all wooden floors, so if you stay on the ground floor you'll might hear some squeaking sounds from above.

Breakfast is basic by any means. That certainly could be improved. One can also have breakfast on the terrace, which is preferable on a sunny day.

The receptionist booked us a car to go the Alleppey the following day, which was by a mile the best car we had in 18 days India and at a very reasonable rate. The only downside was that their credit card machine didn't work, so we had to pay cash. But that was just a minor issue.

All in all, we found it a pleasant 3-star hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel doesn't offer much else but it's large rooms. We had a ground floor room, and heard loud noise whenever anyone walked in the room upstairs. The location, though, was nice, within walking distance to most worth-visiting places in Cochi, and the staff was helpfull. When I didn't feel well, they arranged a kettle for us, to have tea in our room.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor whould have been less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Quite a basic hotel, but large rooms and friendly staff. No facilities beyond the rooms. Very central. Looks like it needs a good modernise, and as part of Koder House Group will probably get it in due course. Our travel company described it as ‘boutique’ and ‘refurbished carefully’ - this is really not true

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at Victory Dawn for New Years. My partner received a call from home that evening to say his mother was in intensive care and we had to get back as soon as possible. As we were in the main lounge using wifi to book flights back, we were constantly harassed and insulted by a member of staff, despite explaining numerous times that my partners mother was dying. After I booked flights, I asked the man to help us book a taxi to go straight to the airport. He just laughed at us, insulted as again and refused to help by even just giving us some numbers to call. To top it all off, as we went to leave he blocked the door and refused to let us leave. I had to physically push him aside. We ended up having to just walk through cochin in monsoonal rain begging rickshaw drivers to drive us to ernakulam. Luckily we stumbled into a hotel where the manager booked us a taxi that arrived within 10 minutes, gave us free hot drinks, arranged fast checkin for us, and refused to accept a tip for all his efforts. I wish I had taken a card off him to recommend his hotel. I have since sent an email to Victory Dawn to complain about this man and they have not even bothered to reply. It's a nice building, but if you want staff who will help you at all, particularly in a crisis then stay away!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here twice - on arrival in Fort Cochin and again prior to our flight. The hotel which is a converted colonial bungalow is well located, a short walk to all the main restaurants, cafes and shops yet it is very quiet. You only have to walk a few paces up the street to find a Tuk Tuk to take you to the main sights or to the ferry to Ernakulum (much better option than by road and only 4 rupee fare!). Upstairs features indoor and outdoor dining options for breakfast. We always chose outdoors, it was lovely to watch the children heading to school in the mornings from there over a pot of coffee. The bathrooms are modern, nicely tiled with good quality fittings. The water was hot most days, but we did find it depended on what time you took your shower. As with any problems like this, it's just a matter of asking the desk manager and it gets sorted out. Wifi is only available in the public areas and a couple of the downstairs rooms. The staff are very willing and welcoming. We were very happy with this hotel - it was the best option for our budget.

Room Tip: We liked downstairs room facing end of corridor. It had the best bathroom. We did not hear any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#121 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#84 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Heritage
Fort Heritage
#169 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#58 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#88 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victory Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victory Dawn

Property: Hotel Victory Dawn
Address: Ridsdale Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victory Dawn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is my pleasure to introduce to you my latest hospitality venture, Victory Dawn in Fort Cochin. Following on the heels of the highly acclaimed boutique hotel Koder House, Victory Dawn is an attempt to bring yet another exclusive experience to discerning travelers. A former Tata tea company bungalow, Victory Dawn is set close to the beach and the Parade Ground in Fort Cochin - an area where English, Portuguese and Dutch influences abound. Tea cultivation and production played a very important role in the commercial history of Kerala and in its heyday, this tea bungalow hosted many influential officials. Like Koder House, Victory Dawn pays tribute to an era and preserves this atmosphere in an authentic manner. The bungalow offers six large rooms refurbished to retain all its age-old charm as well as modern facilities like internet data port and TV in each room, business centre, foreign exchange, electronic safe, doctor-on-call and laundry etc. We hope your patronage and support will continue to be with us as we embark on this new venture. Help us to make it a success as we attempt to give our distinguished guests yet another exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victory Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victory Dawn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing