We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Princess Inn

Princess Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princess Inn
Ranked #229 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Princess inn is very good located. The manager and staff are friendly and helpfull but not pushy. For me it was a good place to stay because i had a spacious room, wich was clean, and i realy liked the location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    32
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
19
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tomintoul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed there in March 2014 with our familyand were delighted. We had a huge family room - hard to come by in India. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi. Excellent price for the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goidellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A great budget option for those staying in Kochi. It's right in the middle of town, with great street food options just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable and a large common area was a great place to meet and drink with fellow travelers. We also loved the service from the staff, particularly Freddy, who was great to us while we were there and went above-and-beyond expectations by mailing a left behind item back to us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for a night and I could not get past the musty smell, its very prominent. The bed feels a bit itchy to sleep on and it's not really very clean. The owners are really nice but it was just too smelly. I'm fine with staying in budget places but there are better ones nearby. To be fair the location is pretty good. We moved to a guesthouse on the street behind Princess Inn called Adams Old Inn which was a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Trivandrum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

As an experienced traveler who likes a bargain, I've stayed in some pretty 'rustic' places but Princess Inn was the worst. And even the great price (Rs 500 in July) didn't make up for the cramped room, foul smells, unprofessional staff and broken plumbing. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely man who took our info and passports than disappeared, never to return. He was replaced by a boy who do not speak English and who could not help us. We were not given towels, a bed sheet or any other assistance. I tried to take a bucket bath (cold water only) and the water faucet broke, water would NOT turn off, and when I went to get help, NO ONE was at the front desk for TWO HOURS. Later, I was told the night boy (it wasn't even 9pm yet) needed to leave the desk to get dinner. The water kept running, I packed my bags and left after a brief, uncomfortable call with the manager, who didn't even apologize for the staff not being present. Instead, he simply offered me another room. I said it wasn't worth Rs. 500 for that kind of service, mildew odor and broken plumbing, or the stress of no staff at the front desk all evening... so he kindly let me go on my way. I was delighted to find a gorgeous hotel for just a few hundred rupees more just down the street. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND PRINCESS TO ANYONE -- not even the most seasoned budget traveler. They really need to hire new staff and make some effort fixing the place up. Not surprised to see several bad reviews here and no truly positive views for many months here on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Don't take the room in the back on the first floor (second floor to Americans)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitshanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I visited the princess inn in march 2012 and I really liked it. We had the big room facing the street and although the weather was very hot (and no aircon!) we liked it. The staff is very friendly and not as strict as they pretend to be. They told us to be home at 11 pm otherwise the door would be locked but one night we were about half an hour late and the nightwatch was still awake, waiting for us.

I can recommend this place to stay in beautiful Fort Cochin although only the big front room (try to get it!), the other rooms I saw were rather small and some had only windows facing the hallway... BUT: everything was very clean, we got an extra-fan (it was 42°C!) and the shower was warm - although we really didn't need that!

down the street are many nice places to have breakfast and dinner and a cold coke, many shops with nice owners who will give you fairly good prices if you drink some tea with them and have a chat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_liebefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

For fort Cochin this place is very reasonably priced in a great location near all the main restaurants and shops. The rooms are basic but clean and very spacious. There is a nice communal seating area outside the back rooms which is good for the evenings ( although you might get scoffed by mozzies). The owners were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

Room Tip: Choose the front room,it's larger and has a big window looking out over the street for the same...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBA18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#18 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reds Residency Homestay
Reds Residency Homestay
#37 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Gama HomeStay
Costa Gama HomeStay
#52 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#45 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Inn

Property: Princess Inn
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin), India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Princess Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing