We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Fort Kochi with Delicious Homely Food..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasmin Villa Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmin Villa Homestay
Ranked #44 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
“In the heart of Fort Kochi with Delicious Homely Food..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have extensively searched for a good hotel/resort in Kochi/Munnar/Allepey all over net including tripadvisor and accidentally came across Wilson Tours. The fact that they give car, accommodation and sight seeing in a single package led me to choose wilson tours...

I have taken 3N/4D package from Wilson Tours with Car and Accommodation:
- 1 Night at Jasmine Villa in Fort Kochi
- 1 Night at Misty Green View in Munnar
- 1 Night at Backwater Farm House near Thuravoor

I had a very memorable and fantastic experience in Kerala and am very happy and extremely satisfied by choosing their package...

I have seen the architectures and historical places of Kochi city, lived in the famous back waters of kerala and enjoyed the beauty of the hill stations in munnar.... all in a single package.

Summary:
1. Good Car with an extremely friendly, humble, knowledgeable and caring Driver, JUSTINE..
2. Sight seeing across all possible places (Fort Kochi Beach/Chinese Fishing Nets/Shopping)..
3. Small and Beautiful Home Stay Accommodation (Jasmine Villa) in the heart of Fort Kochi and near to all the tourist places...
4. Fresh, Homely and Delicious Food...
5. The whole package with genuinely friendly staff at very affordable price..

This place is not a big commercial kind of hotel or resort....

It is a small, simple and very well maintained home stay place with good food and caring people...Mr. Wilson and Jasmine.

My impression of Mr. Wilson .... Though he is running business he is not at all commercial. He is highly service motivated and wants to give the best of Kerala to the Tourists. He is highly accommodative and ultimately wants his Tourists to be completely satisfied.

The only thing I missed in Kerala was a calm and serene Beach ......which I believe Mr. Wilson is going to add soon to his famous tours package..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar79Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Very glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you back here again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
60
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Jasmin Wilson, and her husband Stanley, run a lovely homestay in a quiet street not far from the centre of Fort Kochi. They have 3 double rooms, all with en suite bathroom/toilets, in the upstairs area of their house. The emphasis is on cleanliness and great hospitality as Stanley has been in the tourist industry for many years and knows exactly what people want.
The biggest bonus, apart from the genuine warmth of your welcome, is Jasmin’s wonderful Keralan cooking. She also delights in passing on her cooking secrets if you are interested. And if shopping is on your menu, she will guide you to the best places to buy the local specialties, which include silk and jewellery, at the best price.
We couldn’t recommend the Wilsons any higher!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichos48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
It was an enormous treat to have you here .... thank you so much for the lovely review, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat,Alberta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

After a long day of travel, we were delighted to be welcomed into the warm and welcoming atmosphere of Jasmin Villa by Stanley and Jasmin. They are wonderful hosts and had an excellent traditional Kerala meal waiting for us. We spent two nights here and the two AC rooms upstairs were spacious, clean and comfortable with attached bathrooms. We were greeted in the mornings and evening with tasty balanced meals that included tea, coffee, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed fruit juice and traditional meals made to our liking. We had free use of Wifi and computer as needed. Stanley arranged our day canoe/houseboat trip which was a pleasant experience and gave valuable advice on spending our limited time effectively. When it came time to leave, it was like leaving family behind and we know that we will always have a home away from home whenever we visit this part of the world again. We highly recommend Stanley Wilson Tours and Jasmin Villa for providing exceptional service with a high level of warmth and integrity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babimouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
What a lovely review !!!. Thank you so much for that, and look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

After one year in India, my parents came to visit me. I wanted to show them traditional aspects of Indian life.
That was a really good meeting and very nice experience to stay 4 days in this lovely home.
I confirm the others review already posted and will add several things.

Welcoming, reliable and helpful people
Authentic Kerala foods (spicy or not as you wish)
If you want to find out something about Kerala wonders, they can arrange everything for you with honest prices (just ask them, don't be shy), sometimes far from tourist spot (that was my surprise for the backwater trip) and with paying attention to the traditional aspects like the traditional backwater trip without motor.
Munnar trip was good for two things the site beauty and the night in Misty Green home-stay who also belongs to the family. Breakfast behind the tea plantation was really enjoyable moment. Unfortunately Munnar is really popular and unavoidable tourist spots are there...

In short, you want something AUTHENTIC, RELIABLE & PEACEFUL, just GO AHEAD !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex73100FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi What a lovely, kind review !!!!!. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and hope the rest of your holiday was equally memorable. Yes, we would love to have back ! Keep well and hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed one night at Jasmin Villa as we had booked the backwater trip with her husband and also the trip to Munnar.
It was a good decision, but we should have booked the AC with our room as there were moskitoes despite the nets in front of the windows! The fan is not enough to keep them away! So we did not sleep all that well - and it would only have been 500 rupies more, I think. So, if you decide to stay there, spend that money!
The food we had was absolutely great - we had stayed at an NGO for 6 weeks before our journey and we thought the food could not be better anywhere else - it was just as great!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
It was a pleasure to have you here, and do hope to see you back here again before too long!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

An amazing place in kochi...
We stayed 2 weeks in kochi to spend good time, and take time to live and meet INDIAN people...
We found Jasmin Villa Homestay's address from internet
JASMIN and STANLEY her husband is a wonderful couple..
JASMIN is an amazing cook. i was looking for a place to learn Ayurvedic massage and STANLEY made arrangement for it.They are open minded and like to meet foreigners to share their house and their culture.BE CONFIDENT YOU MUST GO THERE.We also went to experience Biennale kochi.It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGALI64600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for the charming review!!! so glad you enjoyed your stay..... Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

On the outskirts of the Cochin but quiet. We had a cooking lesson with Jasmin and then really enjoyed eating what we had cooked. Jasmin certainly knows how to look after her guests re food. Slightly disappointed to have to pay around £5 each night extra for Air Con.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna24610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanleyWilson15, Owner at Jasmin Villa Homestay, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Hi Madam, It was so nice to see your mail and happy to know that you had a good time staying in our home stay and i am so sorry to let you know that as there is not sufficient water for running electricity we are paying three times more than the normal charge for electricity. Our state is mainly depending on hydro electric project. This year we didn't get much rain so we are in very difficulty for solving the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#37 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#30 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reds Residency Homestay
Reds Residency Homestay
#38 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Mia Homestay
Casa Mia Homestay
#20 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#23 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Villa Homestay

Property: Jasmin Villa Homestay
Address: 11/1305 Odatha | Veli, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmin Villa - The homestay run by Jasmin Stanley which is one and half kilometers away from the city center of Cochin. At Jasmin Villa, you will find the warmth and charm of homely atmosphere. It has three well furnished and spacious bath-attached rooms (AC/Non AC) with hotwater facility. Like some of the most distinctive homestays in the world, the Jasmin Villa offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a homestay – all included in the nightly rate. Complimentary breakfast and dinner (Best and delicious Kerala delicacies) is served daily, Free Internet, Wi-fi and complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day. Above all,Mrs. Jasmin is an excellent cook and she used to conduct cooking classes in traditional Kerala cuisines for interested tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jasmin Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmin Villa Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing