We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Homestay--highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmin Villa Homestay
Ranked #33 of 488 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

VERY MUCH RECOMMENDED!! My husband and I just spent 3 days over Christmas with Jasmin and Stanley in Ft. Cochin and it was truly wonderful. Their home is spotless and comfortable, Jasmin is an amazing cook and both she and Stanley are welcoming and very helpful to their visitors. They invited us to join them and their visiting relatives to Christmas dinner (Chicken Briani which was incredible!) and helped us navigate all the cool stuff there is to do in Ft. Cochin. They have wifi at the house which we could use at no extra charge which was awesome to be able to skype our families on Christmas right from our little balcony adjoining our room. We're currently in Munnar on one of Stanley's tours to the tea plantations (Stanley Wilson Tours) and it is a highlight of our Kerala travels-- unbelievably beautiful. Our driver Justin is wonderful, and Jasmin's brother Robin is the chef at our small 5-room accommodation and he's just as good a cook as his sister and a joy to be around. The other guests we've met here also went on Stanley's Allepy houseboat tour and reported it was top-notch and they loved the no-motor set up he advocates for a more eco-friendly (and quiet) tour. All the guests here are pleased with the accommodations and Stanley's professionalism. VERY MUCH RECOMMENDED. Marg&Matt

Room Tip: As for the room with the balcony-- it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamasteAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Jasmin and Stanley are wonderful, friendly hosts who give over their home for the comfort of their guests. Recommended if you want to experience living in an Indian household and eating absolutely amazing home cooked food by Jasmin. Stanley was also very helpful in arranging onward transport. Other tourists we met also recommended his houseboat/farmhouse trip and we had a lovely time in Misty Green View in Munnar. The Wilsons have an excellent set of experiences available for tourists who want a personal and homely approach to their travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahill2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and i stayed with Jasmin and Stanley in December and they did not disappoint. They are both a wonderfully warm and wecoming couple who make you feel very much at home. Our room was bright and airy and we really appreciated the air conditioning.

Jasmin is a wonderful cook, our only regret is that we didn't have time for a lesson, which i'd recommend to anyone. The breakfast and dinners she serves can attest. Stanley is very knowledgeable and can advise on any travel needs/requirements.

Thank you Stanley and Jasmin for making us feel so comfortable in your home, you'll be the first person we will call should we have the good fortune of visiting Kerala in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatsRus_1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jasmin and Stanley made us feel very welcome in their friendly home for 2 nights. Accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Room is spacious and private. The real draw card though, is the excellent food cooked by Jasmin, who is more than happy to show you how to prepare a huge variety of wonderful keralan dishes. She even shared her recipes! If you don't mind a short 5 minute ride to Fort Cochin and would rather be in a quiet and friendly residential area, then this is the perfect place to stay. Jasmin and Stanley couldn't be more helpful or welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at Jasmin Villa and have no complaints. The room was big and with breakfast and dinner included it's a fair price. Jasmin is a great cook,and the 2km walk to the centre was a good exercise after all the meals. I could also use the computer to work,and Stanley gave some useful tips for sightseeing. They were very worried that I wouldn't write a review,because not all travellers do,and it's their only way to have recommendations. So,I kept my promise,and wish them all the best in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eveke2ndsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had utilized services of Mr Stanley Wilson and his tour company Wilson tours & travels for our 10 day Kerala Trip. My. Stanley was extremely helpful right from the time of planning, arranging car and suggesting places to visit. We stayed the initial 2 days in Kochi at his home ‘ Jasmine Villa’. His wife Jasmine and Stanley were extremely hospitable to our family while included my parents and my 2 small kids below 4 years. The rooms on the 1st floor of the house were big and comfortable with clean restrooms /running water.

Pros of the Stay
1. Homely atmosphere in a quiet neighborhood
2. Jasmine’s cooking of a variety of Kerala cuisines

Limitations
1. Main Fort Kochi area is a car/bus ride away
2. Quite residential neighborhood with limited convenience stores for a quick Buy.


The one suggestions that I would make would be to invest in a few cycles for the guests to cycle and explore the area. All in all, this was a extremely nice place, wonderful family to stay with and would recommend it for any families or couples wanted to experience home stay and ethnic Kerala cooking.

Room Tip: All the 3 rooms are fairly big and spacious with clean restrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prabhu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stanley and Jasmin are very hospitable! The rooms are nice and have warm water (which is sometimes hard to find in India). Price is very good for what you get.

Jasmin makes amazing food for you for breakfast and dinner and she uses bottled water to clean the veggies and in the recipes if they call for water, so you will not get sick!

Jasmin also offers a cooking course which we did and thought was great! We really really recommend it! Just book at least a day or two ahead so she can prepare.

The only thing we would have wanted was to eat dinner with Stanley and Jasmin even though they eat really late. It felt a bit too hospitable with them making food for us and eating before them. But that is just a cultural difference that was hard for my husband and I to get used to. Just expect this and you will love staying at Jasmin Villa!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
180 reviews
1 mi away
Gloria Homestay
Gloria Homestay
#30 of 488 in Kochi (Cochin)
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#12 of 488 in Kochi (Cochin)
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#1 of 488 in Kochi (Cochin)
485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,179 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 36 in Ernakulam
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Villa Homestay

Address: 11/1305 Odatha | Veli, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmin Villa - The homestay run by Jasmin Stanley which is one and half kilometers away from the city center of Cochin. At Jasmin Villa, you will find the warmth and charm of homely atmosphere. It has three well furnished and spacious bath-attached rooms (AC/Non AC) with hotwater facility. Like some of the most distinctive homestays in the world, the Jasmin Villa offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a homestay – all included in the nightly rate. Complimentary breakfast and dinner (Best and delicious Kerala delicacies) is served daily, Free Internet, Wi-fi and complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day. Above all,Mrs. Jasmin is an excellent cook and she used to conduct cooking classes in traditional Kerala cuisines for interested tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jasmin Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmin Villa Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing